We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro 503

Bistro 503
400 W South Boulder Rd #2400, Lafayette Plaza, Lafayette, CO 80026 (Formerly 503 International Cafe)
(720) 583-2596
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 78 Restaurants in Lafayette
Cuisines: Italian, Spanish, Salvadoran, Minority Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Bistro 503 provides personalize, creative food. The new location, within a mall, is a bit hard to find, but worth it. Open for lunch and dinner, this place deserves wider recognition. Excellent scallops (with polenta and pesto), interesting appetizers (try the grilled artichoke), and creative takes on steak, pork, etc. The menu isn't "trendy," but the food is all well prepared and thoughtful, with twists of unexpected seasoning that really works. Service is attentive, not fawning.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    22
    5
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boulder
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best kept secret in Lafayette Colorado”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Bistro 503 has finally found a space that equals their upscale food. I was very
impressed when I recently went for dinner with friends. The restaurant has a warm and inviting décor,and I can't stress enough how "fabulous" the food was! The brussel sprout appetizer with shaved apple was to die for as well as the mushroom crepe, All of the apps sounded wonderful. Their selection of entre items was most appealing...I honestly has a hard time deciding what to order. I finally chose the scallops which were the bet I have ever had. We conversed with "Ado" the owner
who is truly a "foodie",and it was obvious with what he nhas done with the menu.
Truly a exceptional dinner,and I will be frequenting Bistro 503 again very soon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best brunch in Lafayette”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This little known jewel of a restaurant has some of the best eggs Benedict I have ever enjoyed! Delicious hollandaise atop perfectly poached eggs on a creative "bed" of polenta, crab cakes, and other savory bases in lieu of the traditional English muffin. Very relaxed atmosphere, great prices, plenty of parking, and no wait -- well, until others learn of this restaurant!

After brunch, shop at the little home store next door, and you can have a very enjoyable morning!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love em!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Great revolving menu items. The chef/owner takes a lot pride in preparing every meal, even delivers it to your table with a smile and a thank you. We wish them best of luck to them and much success!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, CO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Bistro 503 is located at the back of a strip mall in south Lafayette. They've really spruced up the location from the previous tenants and made it into an attractive restaurant with a nice modern vibe. Unfortunately the food did not match the surroundings. I ordered a chicken dish that I had not seen anywhere else (sorry, don't remember what it was called), but it featured two breaded chicken cutlets that were about a quarter inch thick and mostly breading. I thought the menu was a bit limited and prices a bit high for what we were getting. Dessert was ordinary (cheesecake with a mango puree) but their house bread was delectable. A mixed bag to say the least, but possibly worth a second visit sometime.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro 503 also viewed

 
Lafayette, CO
 

Been to Bistro 503? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro 503, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.