We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Veta Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added La Veta Inn to your Saves list
La Veta Inn
103 West Ryus Avenue, La Veta, CO 81055   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 La Veta B&B and Inns
Denver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Wonderful inn with cute and incredibly clean rooms. Restaurant is fantastic, even the kids meals were made from scratch and delicious.The game room is perfect for families and the owners could not have been nicer! The location is perfect for traveling through southern Colorado. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt R, Owner at La Veta Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hello Christine, Thank you for your review of the La Veta Inn. I am glad you and your family had such a good time. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    58
    17
    13
    13
See reviews for
25
97
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Dave, the manager, helped us find a room because I reserved the wrong arrival day. This was not easy to do, as La Veta was celebrating the 4th of July. This is a very small friendly town. The Inn is very western informal; no rush, great friendly staff. The room was large and the decor was Southwestern. We were comfortable in this clean quiet room.

The restaurant (there are only 4-one by reservation only and with only 2 seatings) was excellent. We had great steaks, chicken Alfredo fettuchini for 1 dinner and salmon (very moist and tasty) and an absolutely great hamburger for the second. The service was prompt, the waitress informed and friendly, and competent.

Room Tip: Ask for the King Sized bed room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt R, Owner at La Veta Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hello Thomas, I'm glad we could accommodate you during the July 4th weekend. Thank you for writing such a nice review about your stay with us. Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Arrived during the Arts in the Park weekend, price was very high, but I accepted. Room was not nice, very worn. The bath was perhaps the worse that I had seen in 40 years. The plumbing was in terrible shape, faucets in lab were reversed and had to be run for at least 7 or 8 minutes to get any hot water. The shower did not work, only a trickle of water came out of the faucet and shower head and some slightly hot water, therefore my shower was skipped the following morning. The Tub had been painted and was peeling off. For dinner that evening we ate on the patio, which I remember when it was nice and clean and well cared for, but not this time. The area was not well kept, dirty and a lot of Junk stored in the open in this area. We have stayed here in the past, but never again. This is perhaps Motel 6 quality or maybe worse.

Room Tip: AVIOD THIS HOTEL IF POSSIBLE. This could be a very charming place to stay, but not now until a lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

A lovely little hotel in a nice little town. We had a room overlooking the street at the front of the hotel and it was the highest bed I have ever slept in, but there was a step to help you up onto it! It was the comfiest bed ever! The bathroom wasn't great, a bit small and we couldn't get hot water, but a minor issue.
There is a good bar area, with a pool table (no charge) and a chess table and I think backgammon. The locals use it, so there was always friendly banter in the bar. There is a courtyard area out back, but unfortunately it rained the day we were there so we did,;t get a chance to use it.
The food in the restaurant was very nice too, for dinner and breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed in one of the historic rooms. The room was clean, bed comfortable. Because it is an old hotel, the room was small and the fixtures in the bathroom were old, but they worked. It did take a very long time to get hot water for the shower in the morning, so be patient! The staff were friendly, showed me around the building when I arrived. I ate dinner and breakfast in the restaurant. Good food. The waitress at dinner was particularly attentive. If someone wants a modern hotel, this might not be the place for them. I enjoyed it and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Arrived without bookings.
Took two of the themed rooms. Both rooms need some maintenance.
Fittings may have been nice once, but rundown now.
Bath towels terrible - one actually tore in half when been used.
Internet worked okay.
Bathroom and shower had dispensers for soap etc, but they were empty in both rooms.
Initially saw good deal on Travelzoo for two night stays - rang about the deal but they wouldn't do any deal for one night only. Ended up being more expensive for the one night than the available internet deal for two nights with breakfast and drinks - cant hold that against them though - just a warning for other potential guests.
On check-in we asked if breakfast was included in the rate, and were told a definite no. After a late night and with few choices open in town we decided to have breakfast at the inn anyway. On checking out we were told it was included in our rate. Not sure which was correct.
Had dinner in the restaurant and it was good. Limited but interesting menu. Great service on the night, and for breakfast as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUENA VISTA
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had a Travelzoo voucher which covered our room for 2 nights, breakfasts for 2 mornings and appetizers and margaritas for 2 nights. It was a very generous voucher. The staff was most attentive and friendly. They serve the best popcorn in the bar. No TV's in the rooms but several in the bar for news and sports programs. LaVeta is a town of less than 800 - and guests are treated as family. We like the proximity to the Highway of Legends, San Luis Stations of the Cross and Trinidad. The mountains are beautiful.

Room Tip: We had Room 9 which was quiet the first night. The second night there was music in the courtyard an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Veta Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Veta Inn

Address: 103 West Ryus Avenue, La Veta, CO 81055
Location: United States > Colorado > La Veta
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in La Veta
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Patio restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Expedia so you can book your La Veta Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Veta Hotel La Veta
La Veta Inn Colorado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Veta Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.