We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for an enjoyable stay; we'll be back.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Veta Inn

Save Saved
You added La Veta Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Veta Inn
103 West Ryus Avenue, La Veta, CO 81055   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 La Veta B&B and Inns
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
“Thanks for an enjoyable stay; we'll be back.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thanks to the Inn's wonderful staff for their geniune hospitality! Jenelle and Dave made us feel so at home. Our room # 5 was comfortable and spacious enough for our needs, and we actually enjoyed not having a TV! Don't be surprised if a fuse blows and the lights go out in the room, though. (This happened to us twice when all the lights and the heater were turned on. No biggie, though. It happens in old buildings, we get that.) Food wise, I enjoyed the Chicken Mole and the apple fig tartlette for dessert. Yum. My husband looooooved the carrot cake and ordered it two nights in a row.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    54
    15
    12
    9
See reviews for
22
93
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at the La Veta Inn a week ago and enjoyed our stay. We stayed in the "haunted" room at the end of the hall. There was some strange "knocking" during the night during which, my husband tells me, I sat up an looked at the wall, but I have no memory of this.

The rooms were decorated nicely but the bathroom needed some touch-up in spots. Everything functioned well, so no complaints. I was wondering as a hotelier what would prevent me from touching up paint and patching holes in the bathroom, I am at a loss. It would present much better with 1 hour of effort. It was snowy and very cold when we visited but the fireplace was not blazing as in the photos. I guess we should have asked for it to be lit, however, it didn't occur to me that we should have to do that.

The bed was very comfortable and did feel like sleeping on a pillow. Very cozy. At first the room was cold but the electric heater did the trick in warming it up.

We did complain upon check-out about the loud fan noise that started about 6:45am. Apparently, it is the kitchen vent fan on the back wall of the building. The front desk clerk asked the chef to not turn it on so early when guest are in that room, however, it was too late by then. The Inn was nearly empty so we could have been placed in another room and the fan wouldn't have been a problem.

Overall, a good experience. We had dinner there and I will write a review of that separately. Also ate at the Main Street Diner. I will review that also. Very good and unique.

Lovely little town to walk around even when not much is going on. The bakery raved about by others is only open Tues, Thurs and Saturday, if I remember correctly. Unfortunately, we were there Thurs night and Friday morning, so no bakery.

Room Tip: Avoid the room at the end of the hall (#5) due to fan noise from the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I bought a groupon for La Veta Inn although we had never heard of La Veta. We came down for two nights over Christmas and had a great time. The town is tiny and quiet, but everyone in La Veta is friendly. The Inn seemed to be the center of all activity over Christmas and we were able to meet people who came for dinner and drinks at the restaurant and bar. The food is spectacular and the service is top notch. Janelle and Wes made it a point to get us everything we needed, including drinks, food, snacks, movies, and even entertainment for our dogs. Chef Scott is very friendly and brought us complementary drinks and snacks while we relaxed in the cozy lobby by the fire. Dave's southern hospitality is much appreciated and we enjoyed the caramel popcorn his wife made and brought over to the hotel for guests!

The rooms are authentic and artistically designed. We did notice some dust and the tile floors in the room made it easy for us to bring dirt in from outside and collect on the floors. These were such insignificant details to us during our stay and never overshadowed the fact that the hotel was clean, beautiful, and filled with staff who would do anything to accommodate us.

We can't wait to come back to La Veta, especially in the summertime, when we hear the town gets busier. When we do, we will surely be returning to La Veta Inn.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We arrived late in the evening and the hotel was desolate, our keys hanging on the front door for anyone to steal. Such a quaint and quiet little town, no reason to worry. We entered our room and everything was antique and clean. The bed was big, beautiful and like sleeping on air, absolutely perfect! We woke up and headed downstairs for breakfast. We were greated by a large fireplace, a big Christmas tree and a smiling face asking us if we'd like to "join us for breakfast". The lobby attendant/waiter was nice, quiet and efficient. The food was excellent and resonably priced, everything was homemade! My other half and I enjoyed playing chess and shuffle board in the lobby area, and walking through the small town of La Veta. - On a side note, go to the Bakery that's just down the street, AMAZING! We are definitely going back asap, and well worth the 8 hour round trip!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt R, Owner at La Veta Inn, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Your comments were wonderful to read. We live here because we love the La Veta atmosphere and its obvious that you feel the same. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Arthur, LA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We rented the pet friendly king suite and were taken aback by the uniqueness of the room. The front desk was very helpful and the restaurant/bar on site made it very nice to not have to go out in the cold to find food or refreshment. We were able to park in the alleyway right next to our room which made it very nice to not have to traipse through the snow to unload our luggage. The bedding was so very plush and comfortable and the kitchenette was perfect for our needs. The room price was what one would expect it to be. La Veta is such a quaint little town and this is the perfect place to stay should you want to experience what the town has to offer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt R, Owner at La Veta Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Hi Monica, thanks for writing a review about your stay with us. I hope you get a chance to come back this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain, Colorado, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The La Veta Inn was a touch of Luxury and Old South. The room was very plush and comfortable while still retaining the !00 year history. The atmosphere when you walk in to register is rustic but comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast outside on the patio in the morning with all the fountains made it hard for me to leave. This is going to be one of my favorite places to stay in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt R, Owner at La Veta Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Hi Helene, It was a pleasure having you as our guest and I'm very glad to be on your list of favorite places. Please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usedom Island, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This Inn is worth taking the 15 minutes off the interstate; privacy, high quality amenities, excellent chef (Fernando--Thanks!) at the restaurant and the bed made me feel like the princess and the pea. All around lovely place for rest and respite in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt R, Owner at La Veta Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your warm review. Please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Veta Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Veta Inn

Address: 103 West Ryus Avenue, La Veta, CO 81055
Location: United States > Colorado > La Veta
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in La Veta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Patio restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your La Veta Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Veta Hotel La Veta
La Veta Inn Colorado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Veta Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.