We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but keep the noise down!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vogar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Vogar to your Saves list
Hotel Vogar
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   Stapavegur 7, Vogar 190, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vogar
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good value but keep the noise down!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed here in February 2013 as first night of a Discover the World holiday. Good value, practical, clean spacious room. Good breakfast Had added plus point that is not too far from Keflavik airport ... a blessing as we only landed a few minutes before midnight!
The room I had had three single beds in but only inches between them and no light switch near the bedhead so stubbed toes in the dark.
Also, be aware that the walls are paper thin between the rooms so even though I am sure next door's TV was on a low volume, it was still very audible and kept me awake longer!
No real interaction with the staff ... just handed the key on arrival and just waved to leave key on desk on departure

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    28
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
18
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Hotel Vogar is one of the best values in Iceland based on size of modernized, and clean room for the price. Very convenient to international airport. Bathroom was particularly updated and luxurious. Surprised how quiet the hotel it is inside the little coastal town of Vogar.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here June 2012 and LOVED it! Gummi was very helpful and generous and the room was so comfortable and clean. We aboslutely love Iceland and look forward to spending more time there. The motel is a great location, not too far from Reykjavik and close to the airport. We ate at the restaurant accross the street, it was very good, convenient and friendly. A very good value, we will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpen
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

very nice motel, not really cheap, but good value, very convenient when you come from the airport or leaving the country. approx. 15 minutes by car to keflavik.
very friendly atmossphere. new restaurant opposite the motelwith very good smoked trout!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We chose this motel as (relatively) close to the airport, but far enough away to still be quiet - and it was all I hoped for. There was no restaurant, but the motel works together with a pizza/restaurant accross the road. The food here was spot-on, for 2 teenage boys (pizza) and for me, the Arctic Trout was delicious. As we had to leave an hour before the official breakfast, the manager made the effort to have the full buffet available an hour early, just for us. All in all he could not have been more helpful. Rooms are clean and comfy - kids appreciated having UK telly! But no kettle. One to watch is that a taxi to the airport will cost about ISK5,000 - although I gather the motel manager has an arrangement with a local Vogar taxi driver (very reliable I was told) and he/she may be cheaper (we had already arranged a taxi and before we arrived)

Room Tip: All rooms seemed the same to me - maybe some have coffe/tea facilities, so perhaps worth asking
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NelBzh, UK
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I didn't want to stay in Reykjavik so i looked for an hotel not too far from the airport, not too close and found Hotel Vogar which is built on the american motel model. It is located an the left as you come into the first roundabout in Vogar.
The place is very quiet and I had one of my best night sleep as the room was pitch black ( for once they were able to keep the 24 hrs daylight away). I was welcomed by a very nice gentleman . Breakfast is also available for a little extra but is worth every Krona. You really have a good choice. if you fancy a little walk, you can go to the little fishing harbour and enjoy the midnight sun from the tops of the giant rocks by the pier. It's a shame that mosquitoes and flies are also enjoying the sunset at the same time. I will stay there again. It is also a good starting point to visit the far end of the Reykjanes peninsula especially if you have a few hours before your flight,

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed here for our first night after arriving on the airport of Keflavik. It's a quiet environment, though not really 'picturesque-like' or anything. Perfect to go to the Blue Lagoon or to have a nice dinner in Keflavik (Kaffi Duus). Comfortable beds, but pillows could be better. Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Vogar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vogar

Address: Stapavegur 7, Vogar 190, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Southern Peninsula > Vogar
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vogar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Vogar 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Vogar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vogar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.