We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming family owned hotel with lots of history and character” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Eastin

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kremmling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Eastin
Save
You added Hotel Eastin to your Saves list
105 South Second St., Kremmling, CO 80459-0275   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kremmling
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming family owned hotel with lots of history and character”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Myself, my teenage daughter and her friend were on a cross country road trip from Texas to Montana and back. We traveled with another vehicle whom left us mid trip. I found myself in Colorado without a place to stay. Refusing to pay nearly $300 a night for a big name chain hotel in a tourist trap, I went out on a limb and called Hotel Eastin after it popped up on my GPS. The rates were very reasonable. The husband and wife owners were amazingly sweet and inviting.

We enjoyed our stay so much that we intended to just pass through Kremmling and ended up staying for 2 days. As a woman traveling with two 13 year old girls I was very skeptical and wasn't willing to just stay anywhere. I would definitely stay at the 106 year old, former saspirilla factory, now turned Hotel Eastin again.

If you're a hotel snob then you might not be impressed, but if you like a nice small town experience, a little off the beaten path, consider this a little slice of heaven.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    13
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
20
26
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
denver
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Driving north on Highway 9, you pass small communities and settlements that give you a glimpse of what the terrain and surroundings hills must have looked like a century ago. The town of Kremmling comes up quickly; this small burg boasts a convenience store, locally owned food market, two or three gas stations, several restaurants (the Rocky Mountain Grill has very good BBQ), and the ubiquitous antique store/gallery.
One of the gems in this Middle Park town (no Wal-Mart here) is the multi-story Hotel Eastin, a large corner dominating building on Second Street. A wood structure with the requisite wood floors, patio and western-themed rooms upstairs (Zane Grey drew his inspiration for one of his novels from the bluffs that face the town to the north), the lower floors include a florist and an antique store. Hosts Maryanne and Walt exude friendly quietude, with the assured advice of where to eat given with the mark of years of hotel experience. The beds are comfortable, fans are available if it gets too warm and the occasional wail of the Union Pacific railroad crossing might just lull you to sleep. Ask for one of the western rooms (the Mustang Room or the Cheyenne include tubs, flat screens and an American West atmosphere) or a north facing room; some have small fridges and microwaves. You can watch the setting sun paint the bluffs in colors we forgot nature made.
The room rate was very reasonable, under $60.
We enjoyed an evening of live music in the lobby, with two guitars and favorites ranging from blues to pop and folk tunes. Breakfast the next morning at The Moose down the street reminded us how good it can feel to put one foot in front of the other, instead of hopping back in the car again. Home-style cooking never goes out of style. Their breakfast ham is delicious.

Room Tip: Ask Maryanne for a Western room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fischer
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Maryann & Walt welcome you as a family members! The rooms are clean and you have different prices to choose from. It is a Blast from the past! I had a wonderful time there!! Try it, enjoy the adventure!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed in one of the "Western" rooms for three nights and did day rides on our road bikes. This hotel is as described by the other positive reviews and we really enjoyed listening to Walt and MaryAnn's stories about racoons and bears from their time as innkeepers elsewhere in Colorado. Enjoyed watching sheep return to their pens one evening on a walk to the local grocery store. If you like local color you'll love this place. We found some nice cycling with no traffic closeby (see photos). This lodging is on stage 3 of the "Great Divide" mtn bike route. If you think a hotel room should have 700 square feet this isn't the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

If you are looking for a place to stay with a lot of character and a warm welcome this is the place for you. You will be greeted by Maryann who will make you feel right at home she will offer you friendly advise of whats near by and things to do.The hotel was opened in 1906 so it is a older hotel , but it is clean and full of charm. In the front of the Hotel is a cute Flower shop and a Antique shop filled with things to surely bring back memories. Walt will probably be working on a piece or two as he also does Antique restoration. It's worth a stop if you are in the area.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a western flair ask about the western rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stopped in here during our TransAmerica trail cross-country bicycle trip. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms were clean and very nice for an incredible price. They offer lots of different types of accomodations: everything from hostel style rooms (that's an understatement, they are much more like hotel rooms with a shared bathroom) to very nice B&B style rooms. The place is very homey feeling which I like considerably more than that hospital room quality of many of the chain hotels. If you are looking from a nice place to stay with some nice folks in Kremmling, CO this is the place!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mead, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We were looking for several rooms for a weekend escape with our extended families at the last minute. The lady who answered was extremely helpful and polite. Our group booked a total of 4 rooms. When staying here keep in mind that this hotel originally opened in 1906. That being said everything was clean and in working order. The rooms varied a fair amount but each had a private bath and some had microwaves and fridges. Some rooms shared a bath. If you can request a western room, they are quite nice. We enjoyed visiting with the staff and guests in the lobby during our stay.

Room Tip: If you can request a western room, they are quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Eastin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eastin

Address: 105 South Second St., Kremmling, CO 80459-0275
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Kremmling
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kremmling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Rocky Mountain Historic Hotel.The Eastin began in 1906 as a boarding house & sarsaparilla factory. In 1933 Lum Eastin added additons to create a modern hotel. Today Maryann & Walt Van Lue, Welcomes you to an enchanting hotel. The rooms are simply decorated with hotel antiques. The Hotel offers modern western rooms and comfort rooms with cable TV and private baths and some with microwaves and fridges or European style rooms with TV's and shared hall bathrooms. This past year we finished our Zane Grey room, to honor the great western novelist who stayed in room 120 and wrote "The Mysterious Rider". We are now working on the Colorado Room. The Colorado Room was finished this spring. We will be working on John Denver, Betsy Ross and John Wayne this fall. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Eastin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.