We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Position and Comfort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Palms Motel

Save Saved
You added Golden Palms Motel to your Saves list
Golden Palms Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Golden Palms Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   234 Torquay Rd, Grovedale, Geelong, Victoria 3216, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Grovedale
Batehaven, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Position and Comfort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This motel was a wonderful find! Close to everywhere I needed to be, very clean, comfortable and quiet with very helpful, accommodating managers and staff
I will certainly return to and can happily recommend the Golden Palms Motel for short or long stay

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mackay, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Motel was easy to find. This was a basic style motel, but quite comfortable and all that you need for a nights stay was provided and all was very clean. Owner was very friendly and welcoming. In Geelong, but in its most southern suburb, so close to Torquay and the start of the Great Ocean Road. 24 hour Kmart is not far away either and Coles open to midnight.

Room Tip: As we were travelling with our adult son, we opted for a 2 bedroom unit, which was quite sizeable an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Travelled with my family to Aus 2wks ago. The motel was easy to find, great location. Drive straight down and you are on the Great Ocean Drive. We arrived real late that night, I was so glad that I emailed Lynne the day b4 to let her know that I will check in l8. Called her when we arrived and she said she left the door opened and I can just check out tmr which was great cuz after a 7hr plane ride and 1hr plus of driving all we want is to rest. The room was cosy for 3 adults, very clean. The toilet looks a bit old and it was freezing. But i loved the water pressure from the shower, it was the best. The heating in the room and the electric blanket worked fine. The room was nice and warm really quickly. Would definitely recommend the motel for a night stay on your way to the Great Ocean Rd.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Very well presented with large rooms and large bathroom. Stayed as a family of 5 here and enjoyed the experience. All amenities provided, very clean and crisp linen and full size TV as well. Management was very helpful on arrival. Excellent hotel next door with fine class meals. Would definately recommend ths motel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Grovedale was our first point of call in lovely Victoria. After flying in to Avalon airport, we decided it was a good starting point to explore the Great Ocean Road.
We were pleasantly surprised with the location and proximity to Torquay, and received a warm welcome on arrival. You can really tell this place is a family run motel, which puts out a good feeling when we ourselves are also a family. The free parking was a bonus for us, and the hotel next door was everything we needed at dinner time - however the in-room kitchenette was more than sufficient. Comfy beds, good water pressure, peaceful night's sleep....room was all that we expected.
As a family of four, our only complaint would be that perhaps the cooked breakfast was a bit pricey... we have had cheaper/bigger elsewhere, but this is an optional extra so next time would consider cooking for ourselves.
Overall, a big thanks. Have recommended to our fellow Brisbane folks!

Cheers, Josh

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenPalmsMotel, Owner at Golden Palms Motel, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you for staying with us.
It was lovely to hear that you had a pleasant.stay.
Kind regards
John & Lynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Clean, friendly, Helpfull, just the shot!! Thanks to Lynne for making the room available early.

Room Tip: Husband and I, Son & Daughter in Law with 18 month old and older Daughter stayed in a family roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queanbeyan, Australia
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

During our travel through Great Ocean Drive to Queenscliff - Sorrento, we stayed one night over here. We stayed in 2 bedroom family room for $215. This motel is old one but not bad to stay for one night. Maintenance of the room is ok but management should consider some maintenance e.g bathroom handle screws are not fit properly etc... But i don't have time to complaint. I may consider to stay next time for a night.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golden Palms Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Palms Motel

Address: 234 Torquay Rd, Grovedale, Geelong, Victoria 3216, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Geelong > Grovedale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Grovedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Palms Motel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Golden Palms Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Palms Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.