We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cosy stay~~~” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Palms Motel

Golden Palms Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Palms Motel to your Saves list
Golden Palms Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   234 Torquay Rd, Grovedale, Geelong, Victoria 3216, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grovedale
singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice cosy stay~~~”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Travelled with my family to Aus 2wks ago. The motel was easy to find, great location. Drive straight down and you are on the Great Ocean Drive. We arrived real late that night, I was so glad that I emailed Lynne the day b4 to let her know that I will check in l8. Called her when we arrived and she said she left the door opened and I can just check out tmr which was great cuz after a 7hr plane ride and 1hr plus of driving all we want is to rest. The room was cosy for 3 adults, very clean. The toilet looks a bit old and it was freezing. But i loved the water pressure from the shower, it was the best. The heating in the room and the electric blanket worked fine. The room was nice and warm really quickly. Would definitely recommend the motel for a night stay on your way to the Great Ocean Rd.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Very well presented with large rooms and large bathroom. Stayed as a family of 5 here and enjoyed the experience. All amenities provided, very clean and crisp linen and full size TV as well. Management was very helpful on arrival. Excellent hotel next door with fine class meals. Would definately recommend ths motel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Grovedale was our first point of call in lovely Victoria. After flying in to Avalon airport, we decided it was a good starting point to explore the Great Ocean Road.
We were pleasantly surprised with the location and proximity to Torquay, and received a warm welcome on arrival. You can really tell this place is a family run motel, which puts out a good feeling when we ourselves are also a family. The free parking was a bonus for us, and the hotel next door was everything we needed at dinner time - however the in-room kitchenette was more than sufficient. Comfy beds, good water pressure, peaceful night's sleep....room was all that we expected.
As a family of four, our only complaint would be that perhaps the cooked breakfast was a bit pricey... we have had cheaper/bigger elsewhere, but this is an optional extra so next time would consider cooking for ourselves.
Overall, a big thanks. Have recommended to our fellow Brisbane folks!

Cheers, Josh

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenPalmsMotel, Owner at Golden Palms Motel, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you for staying with us.
It was lovely to hear that you had a pleasant.stay.
Kind regards
John & Lynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Clean, friendly, Helpfull, just the shot!! Thanks to Lynne for making the room available early.

Room Tip: Husband and I, Son & Daughter in Law with 18 month old and older Daughter stayed in a family roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queanbeyan, Australia
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

During our travel through Great Ocean Drive to Queenscliff - Sorrento, we stayed one night over here. We stayed in 2 bedroom family room for $215. This motel is old one but not bad to stay for one night. Maintenance of the room is ok but management should consider some maintenance e.g bathroom handle screws are not fit properly etc... But i don't have time to complaint. I may consider to stay next time for a night.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

My family and I stayed here over the New Year and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the rooms were of a good size, very clean and the staff were very friendly. The location was ideal to be able to head in any direction to the beaches, Adventure park or the Queenscliffe ferry. The kids were also able to ride their scooters and they enjoyed the kids channel on the tv. Overall great place to stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

On a recent trip to Torquay to visit some long term friends we chose to stay at Golden Palms, Grovedale (Geelong) We chose this property for its central location for firstly visiting our friends and then for our drive around the coast to Quenscliffe the next day. We had stayed at this motel about three years ago and we were not disappointed with our return visit. We arrived early before mid day after arranging with the management to have the key to our unit available. The management informed us when we booked that they would not be there until after 2pm. It was much appreciated to gain access to the room as we were able to freshen up before moving on to Torquay etc. Motel right next door to the Grovedale Hotel where we had a couple of drinks on our return before walking back to out unit. Would definitely stay at this location again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Palms Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Palms Motel

Address: 234 Torquay Rd, Grovedale, Geelong, Victoria 3216, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Geelong > Grovedale
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grovedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Palms Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Golden Palms Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Palms Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.