We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trying Hard...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Slopes Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Alpine Slopes Lodge to your Saves list
Alpine Slopes Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hwy 6 & Rasor Dr, Keystone, CO 80435 (Formerly Arapahoe Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Trying Hard...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We where in a bind as we got stuck in town due to the weather and a condo reservation was up. Wanted to take advantage of the "pow day" and hit Keystone, but not drive down the mountain in the dark. Not many options, but got a good price on booking.com. It is what everyone say's hit us $10 per person as they said the internet rate was based on two people. You have to 'get permission' to use the pool and hot tub from the front desk. Nothing like a front desk 'checking you out' in a swim suit. They try... Rooms where clean and seemed relatively updated. Memory foam toppers (why not go with new mattress) and a fridge in a standard room. Sink is outside the bathroom. It is a old school 'standard' hotel with two 'hotel' queens.... "breakfast' was bagles and english muffins with a some fruit... Take it... Old hotel with new attitude in a great location... If you just want to sleep at a decent price, nothing wrong with this property. If you want amenities, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: I would go on top as a lot of 'late night' traffic comes in the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineSlopesLodge970, Owner at Alpine Slopes Lodge, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Alpine Slopes Lodge is a perfect option for guests who are looking to enjoy Keystone apres ski at several locations within walking distance to the hotel and avoid skier return traffic to Denver with our unbelievable weekday rate beginning Sunday. We have 3 room types: Single Queen room, Doubles room (that features 2 double beds), and our Family Suites which can accommodate up to 7 people. Our hot tub and sauna room is unlocked and open for hotel guests from 3p-10p daily. The hot tub room can be accessed through the lobby or via the stairwells at either end of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    27
    6
    3
    5
See reviews for
24
19
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The accomodations were nice and surprisingly close to the slopes of Keystone, we were able to walk. The breakfast was a little lacking, and they did not have everything they had promoted. However, we will never stay at this place again due to THE WORST customer service I have had in many, many years. The daytime front desk manager DOES NOT want to be bothered with anything unless it meets his schedule. Do not expect to be treated nicely by anyone there before their 4:00 check in time. We only wanted advice on getting to the lifts that day, shuttle options, and what to expect when finished skiing that way as relates to checking in. He was very rude, indicating were were infringing on his lunch; however, once we left the building and started to make our way to the resort, we noticed he was more interested in taking a smoke break outside the front entrance. Our whole experience their was ruined in one moment by this hotel's total lack of installing customer service with its staff, judging by previous reviews this person has worked here for a number of years. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone that requires even a mimimal amount of customer service from its staff.

Room Tip: Make sure to follow all of their rules related to when their service staff are available to help, or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineSlopesLodge970, Owner at Alpine Slopes Lodge, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Alpine Slopes Lodge is conveniently located just 400 yards away from Keystone’s Peru lift as well as on both the Keystone resort and Summit Stage complimentary transportation routes. Our continental breakfast includes: bakery fresh bagels, instant oatmeal, fresh fruit, 100% juices, and premium organic Columbian coffee. Our knowledgeable front desk staff is happy to answer any questions you may have ranging from transportation schedules, to where to get great deals on equipment rental, where to enjoy a delicious meal, or even activities to enjoy off of the mountain. We are happy to provide an on-site guest services attendant who is available 24/7 to address any of our guests concerns or needs. Many of our guests continue to return each season (or even multiple times each season) due to cozy and clean rooms as well as our courteous and kind service provided by our dedicated employees.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I read the reviews before I booked our spring break 2013 getaway. I saw a list of negative review on the place when it was under the previous management. The recent reviews were positive so I figured I would give it a shot. I wasn't disappointed at all. The rooms were clean and ample sized. The amenities were all present. The best were comfortable and clean. The TV as new. The spa and sauna were well maintained and even heated to the perfect temp. The staff met every request I made. This place was very close to the ski resort. There are some great places to eat nearby too (Haywood Cafe - My fave). I was there with my wife and daughter for a ski retreat. We had a great time and this place helped us do it. Its a definite recommend for me.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellaire, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is an average hotel, but with a fantastic location and good price. New ownership in November 2012 has brought improvements such as memory foam mattress toppers, flat screen TVs, free continental breakfast, clean rooms, and very friendly and helpful staff. I got a fantastic price at below $100/night thru Hotels.com during the fairly busy spring break week in mid-March. The continental breakfast includes a nice variety of fresh bagels, cinnamon raison bread, small toaster waffles, instant oatmeal and some fruit, plus apple juice, orange juice and coffee. The location is fantastic – on US highway 6 directly across from Keystone Resort’s “Mountain House” area and two of the Keystone ski lifts. The free Keystone shuttle picks up right in front if you want to head into the Keystone “River Run Village” area for shopping, dining or hanging out. You can rent ski gear at a variety of locations that are within walking distance (Mountain View Sports and Snowdance Sports are right across the street). The hotel has a big group-sized hot Jacuzzi and a sauna. I didn’t use either but they seemed popular with other guests. If you want the “resort experience” stay at one of the more expensive places in River Run Village, but if you are looking for a comfortable hotel with a great location but at an affordable price, be sure to check this place out.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room on the "mountain side" for a view of the Keystone Resort mount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We booked through Expedia and they couldn't fond our booking for 20 minutes. After they found it we had accidentally booked for only 2 people, we had 4 people staying in the room. They had us pay an extra $20 per person per night which effectively doubled the price of our room. They would not give us a refund or even try to aide us in any way. When we asked if we could at least have a cot they told us it would be an extra $20 per cot. Great location but absolutely horrid customer service.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineSlopesLodge970, Owner at Alpine Slopes Lodge, responded to this review, 1 week ago
The check in process at Alpine Slopes Lodge is easy, quick, and painless. Your check in package is always pre-made and ready upon your arrival. Last minute reservations booked through Expedia or other booking partners are often sent to us immediately. On rare occasions the information is not received as quickly. We apologize if this may have delayed your check in.
As a reminder, there is always a savings when booking directly with Alpine Slopes Lodge. When you make a reservation and input the number of guests the rate is automatically calculated. All of our rooms are sold single or double occupancy for our base rate. Our guest rooms can comfortably accommodate extra guests at an additional charge per person, per night: $20 for ages 13 and older, or $10 for ages 6-12. We are happy to provide rollaway beds at $20 per night. For future bookings with a large party, you might consider staying in one of our family suites which can accommodate up to 7 people with a rollaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Recently stayed here for a weekend ski trip in Keystone. Loved it! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful to two out-of-towners! They have coupons for equipment rental at the front desk, which was great. The price was by far much more reasonable than most places around. Conveniently located just a short walk from the lifts at Keystone!

The pillows were very full and fluffy, and I'm sure most people would like that! However, I prefer some thinner ones because I have mild neck pain. That was the only downside to our stay, but overall we were very pleased. We would stay here again when in town!

Room Tip: We had a second floor room with a view of the slopes. Just beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We have stayed at the Arapahoe Inn on many occasions when we ski (which is often). I do believe this place is under a new new name but we have always been happy with the rooms (which have been recently upgraded) and the service. They have a hot tub, restaurants within walking distance, bus to River Run just across the street. And the price is right!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
0.8 mi away
Keystone Lodge & Spa
Keystone Lodge & Spa
#1 of 6 in Keystone
4.0 of 5 stars 359 reviews
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ptarmigan Lodge
7.8 mi away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#1 of 23 in Frisco
4.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#3 of 21 in Breckenridge
4.5 of 5 stars 510 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Keystone
Inn at Keystone
#3 of 6 in Keystone
4.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
0.6 mi away
River Run Village
River Run Village
#1 of 35 in Keystone
4.0 of 5 stars 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Slopes Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Slopes Lodge

Address: Hwy 6 & Rasor Dr, Keystone, CO 80435 (Formerly Arapahoe Inn)
Location: United States > Colorado > Keystone
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alpine Slopes Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location! Comfortable and clean! Views of runs from rooms. Walk just 491 yards, from the hotel to the Peru Express Chair Lift, or take the free shuttle service. A-Basin is just 5 miles away.Lodge amenities:Hot tub and sauna w/views, comfortable lounge with fireplace, new workout room, new coin-operated guest laundry. Free continental breakfast, WiFi, local calls and parkingUpgraded guest roomsWe have new upgraded rooms with 40 inch flat-screen TVs, Tempur-pedic tops. Down-alternative comforters/duvets and 4 cozy pillows per bed. Microwaves/ refrigerators in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Alpine Slopes Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arapahoe Hotel Keystone
Arapahoe Motel Keystone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Slopes Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.