We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Springs - Best Complex in River Run” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keystone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Springs
Check in at 23024 US HIghway 6, Suite 202, Keystone, CO 80435 (Formerly ResortQuest The Springs)   |  
Hotel amenities
Colorado
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“The Springs - Best Complex in River Run”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Springs at River Run, is the premier property in Keystone. It's steps away from the gondola and all of the activities in River Run. Outside facing the slopes, there's a pool with slide, two hot tubs, fire pit and BBQ grill. Inside there a pool table, media room, kids room, workout equipment, steam room, sauna and showers. For your car, there are two levels of heated parking and a ski locker with outdoor access. The property itself can't be beat.

All of the rentals are done through Vail Resorts, local management companies or personal owners. I've had the best luck through VRBO. The prices are a little cheaper and I think it's more personable. Sometimes the keys are mailed to you in advanced so you don't have to bother with a "check in".

It's great for kids as there is a ton to do. Outside of skiing in the Winter, in the Summer months there is a bike path just outside of the parking garage and you can tour around the town. Horseback riding is available through Keystone Stables. Basically any outdoor activity is there. Great place.

Room Tip: - I like the North side away from the pool. You don't have a view of the slopes, but it is peac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    8
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
22
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olathe, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I was a bit leery booking The Springs after what I had read in other reviews. It turned out to be one of our best ski lodging finds we have ever had over the years! The best thing about it is location! They didn't even call it ski in/ski out, but it was seriously a couple hundred feet to the gondola from the elevator located in the parking garage. They also had ski lockers, included with the rental. We would snag a wagon, provided by the resort, and load it up with the gear of five skiers, and pull it to the locker. VERY NICE PERK. The pool and hot tubs were major hits with my kids. They were all outside, but heated, and a very nice ending after a day on the slopes. The condo was in fairly decent repair. The living room and dining room furniture could stand to be updated, but honestly it's fairly standard with ski town rental properties. The kitchen was very well appointed, and had most all the pots and pans I could have ever asked for (potholders and a deep mixing bowl were the only things I needed that I didn't have). We weren't here during peak ski season, so there wasn't a great deal of noise as others have talked about. Our unit was on the 3rd floor, and faced the outer road (maybe Montezuma?), so maybe we weren't close to the area that everybody complained about, but it truly wasn't an issue. All in all, this was a great, and even economical find! We will definitely look this place up in the future!

Room Tip: We asked for a room facing the mountain, but ended up with one facing the main, outer road, on the 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed for a week in mid-February, 2 adults, 2 kids, in a one-bedroom condo in The Springs.

Ours was the first room to the left on the first floor...so I completely understand the previous reviews about the NOISE!!! Lol. We could walk out of the patio door right into the pool area, so the kids were thrilled about that.

It was cold the week we stayed, some days not getting above 14F, but the hot tubs stayed hot. The pool was too cold for me, but not for the rest of my family; the kids begged to swim every day. I enjoyed sitting in the hot tub with a glass of wine. Or two.

The amenities were great. The theater room was a big hit, but unfortunately, many of the movies were missing due to dishonest guests. A shame. I wouldn't miss that noisy pool table; trying to enjoy a book next to the fireplace was nearly impossible with all of the kids whipping balls across the table.

Still, there was a fireplace in our room, and it was a pretty good room, if a little outdated. It was well-stocked and clean. The kitchen was a bonus; I did a lot of cooking since eating anywhere in the village cost an average of $80+/meal for the four of us. FORGET eating on the mountain...cafeteria food at it's worst for Michelin restaurant prices.
The kids slept on the sofa bed while we slept in the bedroom, and next time I would go for a two-bedroom, just for lack of space and privacy. It was unbelievably close to the gondola, the best attribute when you're trying to walk any distance in ski boots or you're whipped coming off the mountain. Perfect for two novice skiiers coming off of the long green runs, and just wanting to get back to the room and get a swimsuit on!

Here are the drawbacks:
This is a ski resort...there were FOUR WALL PEGS next to the door in the room, and that's it. HOOKS, people! It have been nice to hang all of our cold-gear when we came in. There was really no place to put it.
Also, the bedroom had a small closet and a few hangers, but no dresser. The nightstands had a few small drawers, but we pretty much had to live out of our suitcases for the week (taking up lots of space in the small room).
Towels...we had to take a lot of the yellow towels from the pool area. When the cleaning service came mid-week, they only left two new clean towels for a room with an obvious four people. Not the end of the world, as they did do a great job cleaning.

I'd stay again, and plan to. Can't wait. But I will bring 3M hooks and hangers!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The huge plus of The Springs is how close it is to the kids ski school and the river run gondola. Truly a huge plus, as you try to get your kids with their 4 layers and their gear to ski school (it was around 0-10 the week we were there, with wind chill making it feel lower). It also has a small pool with a small water slide (not warm enough for adults, only kids were enjoying it), two hot tubs, a fitness room, a pool table, and TV room. Only a short walk to the rest of River Run, where the restaurants are located.

Sounds great, right? Well, there is a downside - how poor the construction of this building is. There is no insulation - you can hear everything inside the condo. At first, we thought there was construction going on in a unit around us. Then, we realized the hammering noises late at night wasn't construction, but noise related to the pool table. Every time a kid scratched the cue ball (trust me, this happened every 5 minutes, we must have had a rash of eager, poor pool players), the ball would bounce off in the hard surface below and traveled through the poorly insulated walls, sounding like hammering. Every time someone trotted in ski boots in the hall - you can hear it. Every time kids were horsing around and having a good time - yes, you can hear it.

Having said that, I would return to the Springs due to its location and how much the kids enjoyed it. Hint: request a 'quiet' location - farthest from the lobby and gondola would be the quietest.

Room Tip: Request a quiet unit away from the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This was my third stay at The Springs. My reservations were all made with different owners. The pool area with a short slide is really nice and not nearly as crowded as the other main pool in River Run as this pool is just for guests of The Springs. Two hot tubs, one of which is labeled for adults only which is really nice. We stayed all three times in a 2 bedroom/2 bath unit and all of the units have been kept updated. Just a short walk to the gondola and into River Run Village. The lobby area was just redone in 2011 with beautiful raised artwork on the walls of mountains, waterfall, aspen trees. There is a pool table just off the lobby, a nice playroom for the little ones and a large screen tv media room which can be used by guests. The dvd player had been removed this time and hopefully will be replaced. Nice but small exercise room and sauna as well. Overall this is my favorite property in River Run. Don't forget to bring marshmallows and supplies to make s'mores as the hotel has a nice gas outdoor firepit that they light each evening and it's fun to roast marshmallows around it. We also took advantage of the large gas grill for steaks on this visit. This is located by the firepit at the edge of the pool area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed at the Springs on a saturday night during the Blues & Brews festival in early August. It was fantastic! It was just 2 of us, but we could have easily brought along 2 more couples - as there was a pull out couch and murphy bed, a second full bathroom off the kitchen, as well as an on-suite bathroom in the bedroom.

We stayed on first floor and had a nice little deck off the back. It was an extremely quick walk past the pool and over the bridge to be in the heart of the festival.

The property also has a small pool & slide, a few hot tubs, a fire pit and BBQ grill - all pretty compact & not private, but really nice & convenient.

Although it was completely full, we couldn't hear any noise from other guests and really had no complaints. I look forward to going back to the festival next year & staying at the Springs again!

Garage parking was also included.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Our group of 7 stayed in this condo in late June for 5 days. Overall, we liked the the location, amenities (media room, game area, pool area), and our specific condo #8912. This condo is on the 5th (top) floor with a wonderful view of the mountains, gondola, and pool area below.

The condo has nice furnishings, is well-maintained, and spacious for our group. There's no A/C so it got a little warm for us because we're from the South and are used to having air conditioning. There are several portable fans available in the condo, but they were not sufficient. One person in our group couldn't sleep because it was so warm, he tried to sleep on the balcony area.

The balcony was big, had two groupings of seatings, and a grill. We used the grill to cook a couple of our dinners.

One night, people stayed past the 10:00 PM pool closing time and made so much noise (children and their parents!) that we couldn't sleep. I would have called the management company to complain if the noise didn't die down by midnight or I fell asleep.

The teenagers in our group enjoyed using the media room with the theater seats and big screen tv. However, they had to leave the door open because the room was too hot...again no AC, no ventilation.

There's a fitness center - we didn't use, but there were plenty of machines.
The saunas were closed for repairs - off-season so that's when they do their maintenance?

The location of the Springs is next to River Run, which was great for us because we were close enough that a short walk into River Run allowed to get our daily Starbucks and to other activities, but far enough that we don't hear the noise from the restaurants, as we did when we stayed in Buffalo Lodge last summer, which is one of the condos in River Run.

I would stay in the Springs again, and would try to get unit #8912.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs

Address: Check in at 23024 US HIghway 6, Suite 202, Keystone, CO 80435 (Formerly ResortQuest The Springs)
Location: United States > Colorado > Keystone
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 35 Specialty lodging in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Springs Lodge Condominiums are located in the heart of River Run Village at Keystone with direct access to the gondola, shops and restaurants. The complex offers a beautiful outdoor heated pool complete with slide and kiddie pool as well as two outdoor hot tubs. The pool and hot tub facilities are open year round and are the nicest in the River Run area. The Springs Lodge also boasts a beautiful common area lobby with seating, waterfall and pool table. A movie theatre room and kids playroom are also located off of the lobby area. A fitness room, steam room and sauna are also available to guests. Walk to the slopes and entertainment from this facility and enjoy everything Keystone has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Resortquest The Springs Hotel Keystone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Springs to your Saves list