We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So FUN!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Der Fondue Chessel

Der Fondue Chessel
Gondola Lane, Keystone, CO
(800)354-4FUN
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Der Fondue Chessel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 31 Restaurants in Keystone
Price range: $40 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Highway 6
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“So FUN!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful time at Der Fondue Chessel. The food was all good and we left STUFFED! The staff was great and the atmosphere was fun and relaxing. It is pricey! We knew this going in, so no surprises for us. The gondola ride to the top was so relaxing and beautiful!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    23
    25
    14
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Way too expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Food was good, but $350 for a family meal was not worth it. Beautiful night time gondola ride up was a nice experience, but the kids were sleepy after skiing all day and falling asleep at the table. Festive atmosphere but very over-priced.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Super Expensive Dining Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This was a good meal in a beautiful setting, but you paid big bucks for it. The people are friendly, but they try to get you coming and going-from the coat check, to drinks, to upgrading cheeses, meats, and chocolate! Crazy-you would think $60 per person would include iced tea or coffee, but nope! We all had water, to curb the spending. The band was fun, but didn't play for long. We were also frustrated that we had to remind the servers several times that it was my mom's birthday. We had already called to tell them, but they forgot. You would think when spending $500 there, they could remember. The food was tasty, but the main course is NOT fondue. Just the cheese and chocolate. We also left smelling like cooked meat and grease. The smell was soaked into our clothes as a reminder of the evening. It was a fun, one time event for our family.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic family experience but $$$$”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Our family enjoyed ending our vacation to Keystone at the Der Fondue Chessel. We knew going in that it would be an expensive dining experience but one that could not be duplicated elsewhere. If you are a fondue fan you will enjoy this restaurant. The entree portion (while not fondue but raclette) was extremely filling and the bison was excellent. Plan to leave about 40 minutes from the gondola base to make your reservation time. To enjoy the views an earlier seating before sunset would be my recommendation. We left feeling stuffed and enjoyed the experience and the band (which played the Chicken Dance among other favorites). Highly recommended for familes or a large group...not sure if I would consider this romantic for couples however.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great experience, average food, high price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I have been here twice. I love the atmosphere and love the fondue experience. If you have read other reviews I am just repeating what others have said. The price is high, and the food is average, but the experience is what you are going for and it is fun.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Der Fondue Chessel also viewed

 

Been to Der Fondue Chessel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Der Fondue Chessel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;