We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but surprise fees included!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Der Fondue Chessel

Der Fondue Chessel
Gondola Lane, Keystone, CO
(800)354-4FUN
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Der Fondue Chessel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 31 restaurants in Keystone
Price range: $40 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Highway 6
Fenton, Michigan
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great but surprise fees included!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We had a great time eating fondue type food at the top of the mountain! It was fun (there was a German band) and the food was good ! We expected to pay a lot due to the fact it was on top of the mountain but I was definitely disappointed when there was a $28.00 Keystone fee added on. I thought that fact should have been disclosed when I made reservations.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    22
    25
    14
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Christmas Eve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

A must see! A great experience and service and food was excellent. Our family enjoyed the gondola ride.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Trip Up Not Worth the Price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

The trip up the gondola and the view is outstanding. The service quality of the food and value are not.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“I can't believe this!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

OK, so we like having a fondue when we go skiing. In Keystone there is a restaurant which has fondue, great! It seemed a bit pricy but we thought we were on vacation and deserved a treat. The ride to the restaurant is fun, you take 2 gondolas to get to the top of the outpost. It feels strange to be riding a gondola in the dark, but that was fun. Got to the restaurant to find out that it was a set menu (our bad, we should have checked). And to our despise, the menu has a fondue then a raclette with grilled meat and then a chocolate fondue - this is way too much food and you can only add t it not remove stuff! The food itself was good but once we finished the fondue it took more than 45 minutes until we got the raclette (and they forgot to bring the cheese part of it, duh!!!). The kids were almost asleep by then and we almost skipped the chocolate fondue. Luckily we were in a condo so we took a to-go box but this is not worth the money you pay. We were very disappointed and will never go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Don't waste your money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This is no fondue. We ate on what my wife called and looked like a George Foreman Grill. The food was very average and the service was not good at all. When spending 59.99 per person you expect great food and great service. Not only that you share a table with other families and the bathrooms were very dirty. If I spent 60.00 a person here in Georgia you get a whole lot of quality that we did not get. I'm just trying to save another family from wasting a lot of money.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Der Fondue Chessel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Der Fondue Chessel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.