We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambience; fair food; great deal!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Keystone Ranch Restaurant

Keystone Ranch Restaurant
1239 Keystone Ranch Rd., PO Box 38, Keystone, CO 80435
+1 970-496-4161
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 37 Restaurants in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $45 - $75
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Penstemon Road
Description: Refined comfort food served in an idyllic setting, Keystone Ranch Restaurant is a AAA Four Diamond™ rated restaurant, a Wine Spectator DiRoNa winner, and ranked as a top restaurant in Colorado by the prestigious Zagat Survey.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great ambience; fair food; great deal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

First the good news: The service was excellent (contrary to some other reviews), the ambience is fabulous: log interiors, fine carpets, fine rustic furniture, artifacts, stuffed elk heads, roaring fire in the sitting room, where one moves for deseert, and great views. At certains times during the season (watch for the ads in the local paper) a two-for-one deal is offered - pay $75 for one 5-course meal, and get the second one free - terrific deal. Now the bad news: the food is good, but not spectacular. It is imaginatively presented and creatively selected, but on the evening that we went, I was glad I wasn't paying full price.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    7
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
USA
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“We had great food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We have been going to Keystone for about 6 years and have never made it to the Keystone Ranch. We finally got there on 3/18 and we will be back. A few reviewers were unhappy with the service, but our server was wonderful. We had an eighth grader with us (a boy) and he just could not find anything on the menu that he would eat. They let him order of the childs menu - our son is defintely in 8th grade - but he is 6 foot tall. The server was only condcerned that our entire family enjoyed dinner - and did not concern himself on how or how young our son was. Many fine dining establishments would not have been so easy to deal with on the teenager issue.

My husband had the Elk, I had Artic Char and our son had a great Hamburger. We all had a bowl of the Vension/Elk Stew and it was great. We had dessert in their room with the great fireplace and we could not have enjoyed ourselves any more. I think this is the best dining in Keystone at this point of time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Phenomenal!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Our first visit and definitely not our last! Tonight's meal was probably the best meal EVER and we live to dine out. The service was just as phenomenal. I am not one to order game but the Elk that I had tonight was something I wish was readily available in the east (farm raised and so fresh). We cannot say enough good things about this place! The atmosphere was so wonderful! A "must do when in keystone, co.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“used to love this place!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Food is still good, but the service has definitely slipped. Used to be an annual highlight for our ski trips to Colorado. Brought some friends this last time - excited to share this special spot. But we were all kind of disappointed as the service was well below what you would expect. Surly, unfriendly and unhelpful. We spent all night looking for someone to help us... ordered wine, had to ask for it multiple times - but first we needed to find the waiter... will not be coming back anytime soon. Too bad!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Tradition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Once again we dined at the Ranch. As always the service and food were wonderful. there are not many restaurants where you can enjoy first class food and service and wear blue jeans.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keystone Ranch Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Keystone Ranch Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keystone Ranch Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.