We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Staying Here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Keystone Lodge & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Keystone Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Keystone Lodge & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22101 US Highway 6, PO Box 38, Keystone, CO 80435   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Loved Staying Here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

It is not shabby chic so if that is what you are searching for I would not recommend. This is more a Colorado lodge feel and while older is very comfortable. My husband and I stayed here for New Years and loved every minute of it. The location is perfect and the staff is fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    115
    43
    29
    10
See reviews for
99
88
7
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed overnight at the Keystone Lodge & Spa in connection with a speech I was presenting at the nearby Keystone Conference Center. The Lodge was the chosen hotel for the conference; thus I had no choice about where to stay. The Lodge was well run and comfortable, with a surprisingly good restaurant for breakfast.

This was my first visit to the Keystone resort, although I have been to nearby Breckenridge and Vail many times. Keystone is not nearly as developed as either Breckenridge or Vail. I'm not sure that Keystone was ever even a real town; it appears to have sprung up as a ski resort without much history about 40 years ago. It appears to be a lower-budget alternative to the better-known nearby resorts. In fairness to Keystone, we visited during the off season in early May, after the ski season was essentially over but before summer vacation had begun. It struck me as a good place to relax and unwind, provided that you didn't expect a lot of night life and shopping options. The nearby mountains were scenic but not spectacular.

In this context the Keystone Lodge fit right in. It is nicely designed and functional, not terribly ostentatious, but then you wouldn't go to Keystone in the first place if you wanted ostentation. Reception was handled efficiently and the staff was sincerely warm in their greeting. The parking is a bit funky; the lot is on the other side of U.S. Route 6, and connects with the resort through underground tunnels and a shuttle bus. They offer valet, but in the nice May weather we didn't find it necessary to use the valet, and were comfortable going back and forth through one of the tunnels.

Our room was a "loft" unit on the top floor. There was a living area and bathroom, and a separate sleeping area in a loft that was connected via a spiral staircase. Our room was relatively quiet and the bed was certainly comfortable. The internet connection was free, extremely quick to set up, and reliable. Because we were there for only one night we didn't really have a chance to try out the TVs in the room or the spa. The restaurant did serve a nice reasonably-priced breakfast.

If we stayed there again I would not ask for a loft room. Because the bathroom is down the spiral staircase from the loft, it could be tricky if you needed to get up in the middle of the night to use the bathroom, particularly if you had too much to drink before bed. We didn't need to make a nighttime trip down, so I'm just speculating as to whether it would really be a problem. If spiral staircases make you nervous the simple solution is to get a room on a lower floor.

If I were looking for a quiet weekend in a pleasant setting that's less than two hours from Denver I would certainly consider staying again. I would not, however, schedule a meeting at the nearby conference center. Their AV setup was awful. As a speaker I had an obstructed view of the screens and no monitor, and they could not get their remote to work. The food at dinner was mediocre at best. So may advice is, go for the lodge but not for the conference center.

One final point - although my room was comped because I was the keynote speaker, I found out the price that the conference host was charged. If I had paid full price it still would have been a very nice value.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were in Keystone to attend a conference. Our room was on level 3 of this dated sprawling property where room decor and furnishings are of the 1980's era. The air conditioning thermostat was faulty so our room was over-warm throughout our stay. Bed was comfortable with good choice of pillows. High quality LG large screen TV with a good choice of channels. Bathroom amenities were excellent. There was no refrigerator in the room, however there is an ice machine at the end of the hall. We dined in three locations within the complex and all failed to impress. Fish was overcooked, calamari over-fried, Caesar salads were amateurish and the pizzas were no better than a cheap supermarket product. Serving staff were very professional and friendly but the kitchen needs a visit from Gordon Ramsay.

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

I loved this place. I was here on business for a conference and we had a wonderful time. The resort is very clean and modern. It was the off season as they were preparing for the peak season so some stuff was closed but the staff was helpful and accommodating. We went on mountain hikes, brewery tours,etc. the air so so fresh and clean.. I loved it!! This is a place I would definitely come back to visit

Room Tip: All rooms were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

The king loft studio is seriously one of the nicest places we have ever stayed. From the service when we arrived (before our reservation) to the minute we checked out, could not have asked for anything better. We asked to stay an extra day and they honored our original rate.

Exceptionally clean. Free shuttle to several different places. Lots to do at the resort.

Beds AND pillows were fabulous. I have two neck injuries and neither acted up.

Our room had a balcony. It was too cold to sit outside, but loved being able to stand out being able to take pictures.

Every single employee seemed genuinely happy to see everyone. Will we go back??? Again and again.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Park, Colorado
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

The place is really spread out meaning I got quite a workout just going from my room to the car. I think that having to ask for a fridge was a bit disappointing, but the room overall was good enough with comfortable beds and was mostly a clean place. The staff were amazingly helpful.
The one thing that is clear is that there is a difference in how some are treated. When we checked in, even though our dog was elsewhere they told us that there was absolutely no dogs allowed in the hotel....... just as a great dane walked by. So, if you're wealthy I guess it's ok? Not sure. The pool was a big attraction for us, but it was heated to just below room temperature which meant you were f-ing cold getting out of it, and which also made it not worth using at night and I think that is a shame.
The valets were really great and worked their butts off helping 20 people at a time it seemed. Shuttle was helpful and again, just great people.
Oh, and the wifi was pretty awful. It crawled along at most times and would stop working a lot over the weekend we were there.

Room Tip: Proximity to lobby would be helpful. It seemed like a five minute walk from our room to the lobby wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

We stayed at the Keystone Lodge & Spa two times over the course of the last 4 months. First stay in a traditional hotel room, the second stay in one of the apartments. We enjoyed both of our visits and will be back for sure. Front desk staff is always very helpful, especially Ms. Natalie. Small Starbucks Coffee is free of charge for guest staying here in the little cafe downstairs. Greetings from South Carolina!

Room Tip: Opposite side of Hwy 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Keystone Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keystone Lodge & Spa

Address: 22101 US Highway 6, PO Box 38, Keystone, CO 80435
Location: United States > Colorado > Keystone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Keystone Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Keystone Lodge & Spa is surrounded by the majestic Rocky Mountains and thousands of acres of national forest close to Denver, making it the ideal choice for winter sports enthusiasts. Keystone Lodge is on the shuttle route, so guests can zip over to the ski lifts at a moment's notice. The Lodge also boasts easy access to a host of winter and summer activities, including skiing, ice skating, cross country, mountain biking, golf, tennis, rock climbing, whitewater rafting and more. Feel free to take a break from your adventures and luxuriate in our state-of-the-art spa with a full range of relaxing and rejuvenating spa treatments. The Lodge also includes a steam room, indoor and outdoor hot tubs, an outdoor heated swimming pool, and even an equestrian center. Treat yourself to an exceptional dining experience at the Bighorn Bistro while taking in the splendid views of the Continental Divide and Keystone Lake. Or grab a quick bite at the convenient Lakeside Deli before heading off on your day's activities. The Lodge offers 152 guest rooms, including 14 loft suites. Each room affords a spectacular view of Keystone Mountain and the Snake River. The hotel room with one king bed is a traditional hotel room with a king-size bed and a private bathroom. The hotel room with two queen beds is a traditional hotel room with two queen-size beds and a private bathroom. The hotel suite with one king bed and living room is a two-level hotel suite with one king bedroom upstairs in the loft with television. All suites also include a downstairs sitting area with television and sofa pull-out couch and one private bathroom downstairs. All rooms include complimentary in-room wireless internet, complimentary fitness center access, plush robes, a i-home alarm clock and many other extras. Other amenities include a business center, exercise facilities, massage therapy services, yoga studio, ski storage and golf course. Extend Your Stay - 7pm Check Out Instead of sitting on I-70, head back to your hotel for a soak in the hot-tub, a shower or to catch the rest of the game while the traffic clears. *Extended check out until 7pm for just $35. *Based on availability. Ask for extended check-out at the Front Desk. Getting to the mountain is easy with the Lodge's Gondola Express shuttle service. Our private van will whisk you from the front of the Lodge to the base of the gondola. Plus, as a Lodge guest you receive free ski check at the base of the gondola and a complimentary Fast Pass which allows you to use the ski school line prior to 10am. How convenient is that? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Keystone Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keystone Lodge And Spa
Keystone Hotel Keystone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keystone Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.