We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer service is key at Keystone Lodge and Spa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Keystone Lodge & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Keystone Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Keystone Lodge & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22101 US Highway 6, PO Box 38, Keystone, CO 80435   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence
Wyckoff, New Jersey
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Customer service is key at Keystone Lodge and Spa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Just returned from our second yearly trip to Keystone. We had another great stay at this resort. We had a room on the first floor that was well-appointed. The bathroom was new and large. The best thing about this hotel are the people who work there. They are friendly, cheery and helpful. This includes the front staff, the valet, the shuttle drivers, and Edgewater Cafe staff. My boys and I especially love the shuttle service to River Run,the storage of skiis at the bottom of the gondola, and the fast pass on the gondola til 11:00. We ate breakfast at the Edgewater Cafe every morning. We love the buffet, but it is usually only on the weekends. A great variety of good food. Ordering off the menu is a bit pricey but food was good and we wanted a good meal before hitting the slopes. After a full day of skiing, it was nice to come back and go in the steam room and hot tub. The valet parked our car and had it waiting, warming up and free of snow when we needed it. All employees we came in contact with were friendly, helpful and service oriented. This is the reason we came back again to this resort again this year.
We had fun ice skating on the lake. We rented skates which are good for all day. You can skate and then grab lunch and then go back again. Unfortunately, we ran out of time and were unable to visit the Nordic Center.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    121
    44
    29
    10
See reviews for
100
90
7
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed there a couple with two teenage daugthers. The room was a Loft number 605, close to the lobby. Be sure to get used to the altitude before purchasing a ski pass. Took us two days for us. Drink a lot of water and avoid alcahol and heavy meals.
The first two days we took the bus, as we did not realise that there is a private shuttle that takes you straight to the River Run gondola and back, so convenient. A fast pass is complimentary and allows you to skip the line at River Run gondola before 11 o'clock. The Spa is wonderful after a great day of skiing.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
194 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The Keystone Lodge provided excellent service from start to finish. I made my reservations over the phone and the process went smoothly. Transfers from Denver International were arranged as well using Colorado Mountain Express. The front desk staffers always had a smile and an offer to help out. When I checked in I was handed a small paper bag with 2 cookies; I got another bag later in my stay for an an on-slope snack. She also handed me a "fast pass" card that I was to present with my Lodge keycard at the gondola; this would entitle to go to the front of the line. I have a hydration bladder in my pack that I usually fill with water or an electrolyte/energy drink. There were vending machines offering both but I had no dollar bills to buy the drinks with. The staffer at reception willingly changed my money; however, when she found out why I needed the change, she offered to fill my hydration bladder with freshly-filtered at no cost. I appreciated the offer and took her up on it.

Talking about skiing, this was one of the reasons for visiting Keystone, of course. I was also there to attend a meeting at the nearby conference center. When staying at a ski resort I would normally choose to stay at a ski-in/ski-out hotel, or at least at a place within walking distance to a lift. I chose the Lodge primarily because of the convenience for the meeting but had surprisingly easy access to the River Run lift base (the gondola) through their shuttle service which is included in the price of your stay. They offer a ski locker right at the main entrance for storage of your gear. The valet has your skis ready for you pretty quickly after you arrive up front and calls for the shuttle to take you to the lifts. I found to wait to be no more than 10 minutes and usually much less than that. A couple of time the shuttle happened to be waiting when I got to the front. Be sure to bring your "fast pass" card. I did not need it during the week and used it only once on the weekend when the gondola lift line was long even at 8AM on a Saturday morning with everyone looking to make the most of a foot of fresh powder.

The hotel included wifi in the price of lodging. The room was large and in good condition. Housekeeping kept the room clean. The bathroom included a bathtub, not just a shower, that proved convenient for taking a hot soak in. The queen bed was very comfortable. There was a coffee-maker that I made use of on a couple of morning. More important to me were the 2 glass bottles of freshly-filtered water that housekeeping refilled everyday. There was only one bottle on my first night and I finished it. The next day I noticed that they had left 2 bottles waiting for me. I made a point to finish both to avoid dehydration to minimize symptoms of altitude sickness.

A word for those visiting Summit County for the first time: remember that you will be staying at a significant altitude. The valley is over 9000 feet above sea level with the tops of the lifts rising to almost 12,000 feet. For reference, the cabin of your flight to Denver is pressurized not to sea level but to between 7,000 and 8,000 feet. Due to decreased density of the atmosphere the amount of oxygen available at Keystone is about 25% less than at sea level. Furthermore you are more prone to dehydration at this altitude which can aggravate the symptoms of altitude sickness (headache, insomnia, pin-and-needles sensation, shortness of breath, dizziness). I have been to Breckenridge twice, as well as to Copper and Winter Park and am no stranger to the symptoms, but I am always surprised on my first day at how short of breath I get carrying my skis compared to back in Illinois. This passes by the second day but it is generally a good idea to take it easy on the first day at this kind of altitude and let your body acclimatize.

Unfortunately I did not have a chance to use the spa, hot tub or heated outdoor pool. These might have helped ease symptoms of altitude, and definitely sooth muscle aches after skiing.

I dined at both Bighorn Steakhouse and Tenderfoot Lounge in Keystone Lodge. More on those at another time.

Overall I very much enjoyed my stay at the Lodge and would recommend it to anyone looking to visit Keystone.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I spent five days at Keystone Lodge while attending a scientific meeting. The best part of the hotel is the very young, friendly staff. They seemed to bubble with enthusiasm. The room was rustic, but not in an elegant sense at all. Rather, it was furniture with "Furniture-in-the-Raw" type pine furniture scattered around. I was in a room with a sitting area on the bottom, and a loft above. Be aware that there is but one singe bathroom, located on the bottom floor, so you must descend the circular staircase at night to use the toilet. View of other buildings was uninspiring. However, the space was clean and adequately heating. In short, this is NOT a luxury resort but ample and comfortable. It is priced reasonably. Keep in mind that you are over 9000 feet in elevation, and many visitors have significant distress. All feel short of breath. About a 100 minute drive from the Denver Airport.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Great property as far as keystone goes, there isn't any better there. Service by staff was fantastic and the private shuttle to the lifts a great service, and Amy the driver AWESOME. Food at the restaurants was fantastic, and overall valet service great.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

At lodge for business meeting and skiing. Super facility. Staff very attentive room was clean and quite large. Shuttle available to take to ski resort 1/2 mile away. Dining area bar area all in excellent condition and for being the signature lodge for Keystone price of food very reasonable. Huge skating rink in back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I've wrote to corporate Vail Resorts on two separate occasions, politely expressing the deficiencies of our stay and have heard nothing back. So to all of you fellow skiers and boarders, if you're looking to drop $300 for a special occasion. Do not do it here.

I feel that our stay at Keystone Lodge and Spa was fully inadequate. When we arrived, we received a friendly welcome and were given a ton of beneficial information; however, when we got to our room, there had already been someone else (We literally walked in on them using the bathroom). We shrugged it off and were relocated to a different room. Then, close to midnight on new years eve, our keys stopped working. Frustrated, we ran all the way to the front desk to get different keys. Luckily we made it in time for the ball drop.
Before this, we dined in the restaurant which was extremely over priced for the quality of food we received. I hate to complain about this because over-priced food seems to be the norm among the resorts, but for a $130 meal, all I received was a chicken breast. This is aside of the reason which brought me to write you.
The largest problem of all we encountered is that I warned our Valet driver multiple times that our driver door's hinge was fragile and the door couldn't be opened all the way. When we were leaving the resort, the driver radioed to another employee that he could not get our door closed... now, we had to take it in to the auto repair shop; leaving us with a $800 estimate to fix.
Generally I do not ever feel the need to write to customer service and present negative aspects of our stay, but with one thing after the other, I feel as though corporate should be aware of these deficiencies we experienced at Keystone Lodge and Spa for the amount of money we paid for just one night.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Keystone Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keystone Lodge & Spa

Address: 22101 US Highway 6, PO Box 38, Keystone, CO 80435
Location: United States > Colorado > Keystone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Keystone Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Keystone Lodge & Spa is surrounded by the majestic Rocky Mountains and thousands of acres of national forest close to Denver, making it the ideal choice for winter sports enthusiasts. Keystone Lodge is on the shuttle route, so guests can zip over to the ski lifts at a moment's notice. The Lodge also boasts easy access to a host of winter and summer activities, including skiing, ice skating, cross country, mountain biking, golf, tennis, rock climbing, whitewater rafting and more. Feel free to take a break from your adventures and luxuriate in our state-of-the-art spa with a full range of relaxing and rejuvenating spa treatments. The Lodge also includes a steam room, indoor and outdoor hot tubs, an outdoor heated swimming pool, and even an equestrian center. Treat yourself to an exceptional dining experience at the Bighorn Bistro while taking in the splendid views of the Continental Divide and Keystone Lake. Or grab a quick bite at the convenient Lakeside Deli before heading off on your day's activities. The Lodge offers 152 guest rooms, including 14 loft suites. Each room affords a spectacular view of Keystone Mountain and the Snake River. The hotel room with one king bed is a traditional hotel room with a king-size bed and a private bathroom. The hotel room with two queen beds is a traditional hotel room with two queen-size beds and a private bathroom. The hotel suite with one king bed and living room is a two-level hotel suite with one king bedroom upstairs in the loft with television. All suites also include a downstairs sitting area with television and sofa pull-out couch and one private bathroom downstairs. All rooms include complimentary in-room wireless internet, complimentary fitness center access, plush robes, a i-home alarm clock and many other extras. Other amenities include a business center, exercise facilities, massage therapy services, yoga studio, ski storage and golf course. Extend Your Stay - 7pm Check Out Instead of sitting on I-70, head back to your hotel for a soak in the hot-tub, a shower or to catch the rest of the game while the traffic clears. *Extended check out until 7pm for just $35. *Based on availability. Ask for extended check-out at the Front Desk. Getting to the mountain is easy with the Lodge's Gondola Express shuttle service. Our private van will whisk you from the front of the Lodge to the base of the gondola. Plus, as a Lodge guest you receive free ski check at the base of the gondola and a complimentary Fast Pass which allows you to use the ski school line prior to 10am. How convenient is that? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Keystone Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keystone Hotel Keystone
Keystone Lodge And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keystone Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.