We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Keystone Lodge & Spa

Save Saved
You added Keystone Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Keystone Lodge & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22101 US Highway 6, PO Box 38, Keystone, CO 80435   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Keystone
Colorado
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Keystone over Labor Day is great. The facility is still fully staffed and there are plenty of summer activities. The lodge and spa staff are great with Chrissy making you feel at home for minute one. The massage at the spa may have been the best I have had. We will return there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    87
    38
    26
    8
See reviews for
77
76
7
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a five-day stay booked, one night in the lodge and four in a Lakeshore Condo. We also had golf packages for three days. The Lodge was quite nice and deserving of the Four Diamond rating. The Condo was large and well laid out, but was dated. It also had no A/C which can be a problem in late Summer, even in the mountains.

We had two days of golf at the River Course, and it was wonderful. It is a beautiful and challenging tract and it is very well run.

The big problem, however, occurred at the Ranch Golf Course, and it was so bad that we left two days early. When we went to the Ranch Course and were loaded, the staff on duty consisted solely of young men in their early 20s. No one was paying attention to time or sending people to the first tee. There was a mix-up on when we were to start, and three of these young "gentlemen" verbally abused us, almost to the point of a threat of physical violence. When we looked for someone senior to whom to report the incident, there was no one. Needless to say, we left the course without playing the round. We left the Resort the next morning, two days early. Keystone has promised a refunded on the unused portion, but I have yet to receive confirmation of the refund from Keystone.

Unless Keystone can cofirm that it is doing a better job supervising its younger workers, I would think twice before booking a golf trip there that included the Ranch Course.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed for a long weekend at the Keystone Lodge and enjoyed the lovely mountain setting, cool evening air, a nice room- not large but adequate and comfortable- no air conditioning so we were lucky with cool air.
Edgewater Café not very good- food or atmosphere- but convenient.
However, the shuttle will take you anywhere in the resort and River Run area had good variety of restaurants and activities!! Grandchildren of all ages loved the bungee trampoline activity! Little ones loved panning for gold!
Hiking, biking, gondola rides, paddle boats and many other ski towns near by- a great destination for families. (beware the extra resort charges on everything- they are steep!)

Room Tip: Some rooms are very very far away from the elevator- we changed for a room that was closer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I liked that there was a Starbucks in the hotel, they were great. The restaurant however, not so good. We had to send our food back because it was old and burnt, like they had re-fried yesterdays fries. Would eat out. The room itself was very nice. The pool was lovely, but they could do a better job cleaning it, always something floating in it, despite no wind. The jacuzzi was just ok, but there are no bubbles coming out of it, just a nice hot bath. The staff was friendly, the housekeeper had some lesions on her, that was scary, so we locked our room the whole stay because we were worried about contracting her rash. We said a prayer for her, very friendly woman, but some strange rash all over her. Would probably stay again because it was convenient to everything, and the outdoor lake and shops made up for the rest. The room itself was nice, they can bring you a fridge if you need one. The bathroom and shower worked well. Needs updating badly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I recently stayed at the Keystone Lodge for a three-night business trip. And in all honesty, this was a very difficult hotel to rate.

The staff are unbelievably helpful and friendly. You are always greeted, asked how your day is going, etc. The staff is truly exceptional. It's a great location and has many fantastic amenities: spa, restaurants, activities, shuttles, you name it. The hotel and rooms are also very clean.

That said, the property is very dated: popcorn ceilings, dark rooms (even with all the lights on), and unadjustable temperature controls. Although the outside temperature was very pleasant and even chilly at night, the room had one temperature, hot. A call to the front desk to inquire how to adjust the temperature was met with a surprising response--"open the window". I think the hotel must receive frequent comments of this nature as there are portable fans in each room.

In sum, I would return to the Keystone Lodge for a business trip or a quick ski trip, but would explore other properties if it was for a romantic getaway or an extended stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

No air conditioning and it's 78 degrees in a stuffy room. Patio door is open, traffic sounds delightful, and I'm dreading tonight. It's about air circulating and there will be none tonight. Had no idea this place would be so dated. Unbelievable.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke S, General Manager at Keystone Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Keystone is located at an elevation of 9,300 ft above sea level. It is unusual to have a high above 78 degrees and it is in the 40's overnight. Similar to most accommodations in Summit County Keystone Lodge and Spa does not have air conditioning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The rooms are nice and large. The décor is mostly updated but the bathroom fixtures are not. There is lots of rotten, crumbling wood on decks and the paint is in similar condition in places. It is a very nice location with high elevation and cool summer temperatures.

Room Tip: We might have just hit an odd weekend, but we could not get away from the smell of pot. People were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Keystone Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keystone Lodge & Spa

Address: 22101 US Highway 6, PO Box 38, Keystone, CO 80435
Location: United States > Colorado > Keystone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Keystone Lodge & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Award-winning Keystone Lodge & Spa is surrounded by the majestic Rocky Mountains and thousands of acres of national forest close to Denver, making it the ideal choice for winter sports enthusiasts. Keystone Lodge is on the shuttle route, so guests can zip over to the ski lifts at a moment’s notice. The Lodge also boasts easy access to a host of winter and summer activities, including mountain biking, championship golf, ice skating, rock climbing, whitewater rafting and more. Feel free to take a break from your adventures and luxuriate in our state-of-the-art spa with a full range of relaxing and rejuvenating spa treatments. The lodge also includes a steam room, indoor and outdoor hot tubs, an outdoor swimming pool, and even an equestrian center. Treat yourself to an exceptional dining experience at the Bighorn Steakhouse while taking in the splendid views of the Continental Divide and Keystone Lake. Or grab a quick bite at the convenient Lakeside Deli before heading off on your day’s activities. The lodge offers 152 guest rooms, including 14 loft suites. Each room affords a spectacular view of Keystone Mountain and the Snake River. The hotel room with one kingbed is a traditional hotel room with a king-size bed and a private bathroom. The hotel room with two queen beds is a traditional hotel room with two queen-size beds and a private bathroom. The hotel suite with one king bed and living room is a two-level hotel suite with one king bedroom upstairs in the loft with television. All suites also include a downstairs sitting area with television and sofa pull-out couch and one private bathroom downstairs. All rooms include complimentary in-room wireless Internet, complimentary fitness center access, plush robes, a CD alarm clock and many other extras. Other amenities include a business center, exercise facilities, massage therapy services, ski storage and golf course. Extend Your Stay - 7pm Check Out Instead of sitting on I-70, head back to your hotel for a soak in the hot-tub, a shower or to catch the rest of the game while the traffic clears. *Extended check out until 7pm for just $35. *Based on availability. Ask for extended check-out at the Front Desk. Getting to the mountain is easy with the Lodge's Gondola Express shuttle service. Our private van will whisk you from the front of the Lodge to the base of the gondola. Plus, as a Lodge guest you receive free ski check at the base of the gondola and a complimentary Fast Pass which allows you to use the ski school line prior to 10am. How convenient is that? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your Keystone Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keystone Lodge And Spa
Keystone Hotel Keystone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keystone Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;