We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Keystone Lodge & Spa

Save Saved
You added Keystone Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Keystone Lodge & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22101 US Highway 6, PO Box 38, Keystone, CO 80435   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Keystone
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I liked that there was a Starbucks in the hotel, they were great. The restaurant however, not so good. We had to send our food back because it was old and burnt, like they had re-fried yesterdays fries. Would eat out. The room itself was very nice. The pool was lovely, but they could do a better job cleaning it, always something floating in it, despite no wind. The jacuzzi was just ok, but there are no bubbles coming out of it, just a nice hot bath. The staff was friendly, the housekeeper had some lesions on her, that was scary, so we locked our room the whole stay because we were worried about contracting her rash. We said a prayer for her, very friendly woman, but some strange rash all over her. Would probably stay again because it was convenient to everything, and the outdoor lake and shops made up for the rest. The room itself was nice, they can bring you a fridge if you need one. The bathroom and shower worked well. Needs updating badly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    87
    38
    26
    7
See reviews for
77
76
7
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I recently stayed at the Keystone Lodge for a three-night business trip. And in all honesty, this was a very difficult hotel to rate.

The staff are unbelievably helpful and friendly. You are always greeted, asked how your day is going, etc. The staff is truly exceptional. It's a great location and has many fantastic amenities: spa, restaurants, activities, shuttles, you name it. The hotel and rooms are also very clean.

That said, the property is very dated: popcorn ceilings, dark rooms (even with all the lights on), and unadjustable temperature controls. Although the outside temperature was very pleasant and even chilly at night, the room had one temperature, hot. A call to the front desk to inquire how to adjust the temperature was met with a surprising response--"open the window". I think the hotel must receive frequent comments of this nature as there are portable fans in each room.

In sum, I would return to the Keystone Lodge for a business trip or a quick ski trip, but would explore other properties if it was for a romantic getaway or an extended stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

No air conditioning and it's 78 degrees in a stuffy room. Patio door is open, traffic sounds delightful, and I'm dreading tonight. It's about air circulating and there will be none tonight. Had no idea this place would be so dated. Unbelievable.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke S, General Manager at Keystone Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Keystone is located at an elevation of 9,300 ft above sea level. It is unusual to have a high above 78 degrees and it is in the 40's overnight. Similar to most accommodations in Summit County Keystone Lodge and Spa does not have air conditioning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The rooms are nice and large. The décor is mostly updated but the bathroom fixtures are not. There is lots of rotten, crumbling wood on decks and the paint is in similar condition in places. It is a very nice location with high elevation and cool summer temperatures.

Room Tip: We might have just hit an odd weekend, but we could not get away from the smell of pot. People were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We travel a lot, but condos were not what we were expecting. Built in the 1970s, there is no air conditioning and the rooms do NOT look anything like the pictures posted in their brochure. Many of the buildings do not have elevators at at 9,300 ft altitude, that's an issue unless you are 20-something, at the resort in the winter and only care about skiing/snowboarding. The two restaurants on location were average service and below average quality food.

We were there for 9 nights. The towels only replaced and the trash picked up twice - and only after we called. We never had new sheets or even light cleaning of the room. They made a monumental mess of my bill when I had to use two different credit cards - 1/2 the trip was personal and 1/2 was for business so billed accordingly. The staff is accommodating enough, but I think the issues are a management problem. I would not stay at this resort again.

Room Tip: If you are going to be here, be sure to ask for a building with an elevator. Buy your own food and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke S, General Manager at Keystone Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
The Keystone Lodge & Spa has two elevators. Guest rooms are serviced every day. In addition there is a 4 diamond spa as part of the hotel, a fitness studio, outdoor heated pool and indoor and outdoor hot tubs. There are three restaurants as part of the hotel, three fine dinning restauranats at the resort along with a fondue chessel at the top of the mountain gondola and a number of casual restaurnats in the Keystone area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia SC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

All in all, this was a very good experience. The food in the hotel restaurants (we visited two) was fresh and tasty and the staff filled all our requests. I loved the fact that wi-fi in the rooms was included and they didn't "nickel and dime" you for every little thing. The only real drawback was that the Conference Center where the meetings were held was across the highway - they do have a nice tunnel to it. The parking was over there as well. It wasn't very convenient but not a drawback if you are in pretty good shape. They do offer a shuttle to it, but it is something to consider. We also visited their ranch and the country club - outstanding!

Room Tip: We had a room with a little balcony overlooking the pool - very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Spent 4th of July holiday at the resort. It is very family oriented and had a variety of great activities for all interests. Loved the fireworks - close up. And the Enduro Bike Race taking place was exciting.

Room Tip: Liked Condo Unit Homestead/Lodgepole. Bigger units, lots of first floor, and a spectacular courtyar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Keystone Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keystone Lodge & Spa

Address: 22101 US Highway 6, PO Box 38, Keystone, CO 80435
Location: United States > Colorado > Keystone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Keystone Lodge & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Award-winning Keystone Lodge & Spa is surrounded by the majestic Rocky Mountains and thousands of acres of national forest close to Denver, making it the ideal choice for winter sports enthusiasts. Keystone Lodge is on the shuttle route, so guests can zip over to the ski lifts at a moment’s notice. The Lodge also boasts easy access to a host of winter and summer activities, including mountain biking, championship golf, ice skating, rock climbing, whitewater rafting and more. Feel free to take a break from your adventures and luxuriate in our state-of-the-art spa with a full range of relaxing and rejuvenating spa treatments. The lodge also includes a steam room, indoor and outdoor hot tubs, an outdoor swimming pool, and even an equestrian center. Treat yourself to an exceptional dining experience at the Bighorn Steakhouse while taking in the splendid views of the Continental Divide and Keystone Lake. Or grab a quick bite at the convenient Lakeside Deli before heading off on your day’s activities. The lodge offers 152 guest rooms, including 14 loft suites. Each room affords a spectacular view of Keystone Mountain and the Snake River. The hotel room with one kingbed is a traditional hotel room with a king-size bed and a private bathroom. The hotel room with two queen beds is a traditional hotel room with two queen-size beds and a private bathroom. The hotel suite with one king bed and living room is a two-level hotel suite with one king bedroom upstairs in the loft with television. All suites also include a downstairs sitting area with television and sofa pull-out couch and one private bathroom downstairs. All rooms include complimentary in-room wireless Internet, complimentary fitness center access, plush robes, a CD alarm clock and many other extras. Other amenities include a business center, exercise facilities, massage therapy services, ski storage and golf course. Extend Your Stay - 7pm Check Out Instead of sitting on I-70, head back to your hotel for a soak in the hot-tub, a shower or to catch the rest of the game while the traffic clears. *Extended check out until 7pm for just $35. *Based on availability. Ask for extended check-out at the Front Desk. Getting to the mountain is easy with the Lodge's Gondola Express shuttle service. Our private van will whisk you from the front of the Lodge to the base of the gondola. Plus, as a Lodge guest you receive free ski check at the base of the gondola and a complimentary Fast Pass which allows you to use the ski school line prior to 10am. How convenient is that? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Keystone Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keystone Lodge And Spa
Keystone Hotel Keystone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keystone Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.