We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Major Let Down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Keystone Lodge & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Keystone Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Keystone Lodge & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22101 US Highway 6, PO Box 38, Keystone, CO 80435   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Keystone
San Antonio Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“What a Major Let Down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My family of five just returned from Keystone for Spring Break and I felt that I had to share my disappointing experience to save another family from experiencing a similar let down. Let me start by saying I am in NO WAY hard to please or an advent complainer but the only positive things I can say about our recent stay were the friendly staff saved this place from receiving a two star rating from us and Der Fondue Chessel restaurant was AMAZING!! Aside from that everything else was down hill.
I'll start with activities or rather lack there of. We went exploring on day one only to learn that the Ice Skating was closed for the season despite the fact that it was snowing outside, the arcade looked like something straight out of a Pizzahut from the 80's with only about 4 machines total. They was not a playground or indoor pool for the kids at all. So we thought we'd go explore the variety of shops only to discover that the one store closed up before 6pm. And they advertise free skiing for kids but its really just a free lift ticket you still have to purchase the ski rentals so it is a tad misleading unless you own your own equipment.
Onto the hotel; it was very dated, musky, and dirty with a lingering bad smell throughout the halls and the beds were nearly impossible to sleep on. Also something in the room gave all of us pink eye but it would clear up when we left and return when we got back to the room. Our bathroom sink's drain did not drain at all forcing us to brush our teeth in the shower. We have a two year old who liked to play on the floor and he found and brought me someone else's pop tart from under our bed!! It was disgusting to think how long that might have been under there, thankfully he didn't eat it. The café on the main level served lattes and Starbucks coffee but honestly both tasted like dish soap we were again disappointed. The views from even the top floor were nothing to write home about and in no way do they resemble the photos on Expedia or Travelocity.
We still had a fabulous vacation because we left Keystone everyday and went to Frisco or Breckenridge were we found things to be much more to our taste / liking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerstin_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Keystone Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay at Keystone Lodge and Spa and Keystone Resort. At the Lodge and Spa we are continually making upgrades to improve the hotel and spa. A couple years ago the Spa received a 2 million dollar up grade. Two years ago we replaced every window in every guest room along with new wallpaper, new lamps and soft goods. This fall we installed new carpet in every guest room and renovated the hotel front desk and lobby throughout the past year. The six acre Keystone Lake is the highest Zamboni maintained ice rink in North America. I am sorry the ice skating was closed when you were here, it is subject to the warmer weather and longer Spring days of March and closed this season on Thursday March 14. In the Keystone Village Cures n Curiosities, Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory, Pizza on the Plaza, the Tenderfoot lounge and the Bighorn restaurant are all open until 9 p.m. or later. In addition there is a direct shuttle from Keystone Lodge to the River Run Village which has a number of shops and restaurants which are also open until at least 9 p.m. As for activities for kids, there are a wide range of activities. From skiing and snowboarding on the mountain to tubing, sleigh rides, snow biking, a large kids snowfort at the top of the mountain and daily Kidtopia programming. For the evening, the Keystone Lodge has a pool that can be entered indoors and after swimming under a partition opens to a large outdoor pool with an adjacent outdoor hot tub which is open until 10 p.m.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    87
    38
    26
    8
See reviews for
77
76
7
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We had to wait 6 hours after normal check in time to access our condo. The cleaning team was delayed. The resort is huge. You have to take a shuttle from your rooms to the lifts. Get to know the shuttle schedule so you aren't wasting time. We went to snow ski and enjoyed our skiing experience thoroughly. Book a package and save. The resort also offers a shuttle to and from the airport. This service is cheaper than renting a car. I visited during the busiest week of the year, I'm sure the delays I experienced may have been due to the volume of patrons.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Free valet service and shuttle around town - be sure to tip them! Room was very nice - definitely worthy of the 4 star rating. Everything felt new and updated. A+ all around!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just spent a terriffic 6 nights at Keystone in River run Arapahoe lodging and cant say enough good things. The 1 bedroom condo was overlooking the common square. We had a fireplace and great kitchen with coffee maker, dishwasher, stove/microwave and refridgerator. The living room and bedroom had 2 large flat screen tv's with a DVD player. Nice bathroom with deep tub/shower. Perfect ski passes for 4 days of sking over 5 days unlimited, plus on checkin we got a free night ski. We are already looking to book again for next year. Perfect Resort!!!

Room Tip: Book your ski pass with your room, it save lots of money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidWest
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

After the hustle and bustle of Christmas my spouse and I landed at the Keystone Lodge on 12/27/12 and what a treat it was. Our room was on the 5th floor and had a great view of the slopes. It was clean, well decorated and had nice amenities. Additionally, there was a complimentary shuttle that picked us up in front of the hotel and took us to the ski areas. There are tons of restaurants in the Summit County area, however, if you don't want to travel there are two restaurants attached to the hotel. They are the Edgewater Cafe (average) and the Bighorn Steakhouse (great). Right next to the Bighorn Steakhouse was the Tenderfoot Lounge. The cool thing about the Tenderfoot lounge was you could go in there and order anything off the Bighorn menu and not have to do the 'big fancy meal deal' (i.e. getting changed and dressed up after skiing). The biggest surprise for us was that even though the hotel was sold out we did not hear other guests when in our room. So we did a lot of skiing, eating and relaxing. A great way to finish off the holiday season.

Room Tip: Request a room on the 5th floor or above and as far away from the lobby as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyckoff, New Jersey
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Just returned from Keystone Lodge and Spa. Spent 6 days with my two boys. Upon arrival, valet immediately came out and was friendly and courteous. Room was fine..newly updated with granite counters, flat screen tv, coffee machine and Keystone bottled water. Other reviews spoke about need for updating. The halls were plain but the carpet was definintely newer. Saw no problem with anything. Room was cleaned thoroughly each day.

The slopes are a 5 minute drive away. We never waited more than 5-10 minutes for the van to take us to and fro. Both drivers were friendly and helpful. Ralph recommended some good places for us to visit. The drop off is right by the gondola. Grab your skis at the valet, which is free for guests, and walk right on to the gondola. We brought our own boots and helmets and opted to rent skis. It was easier for traveling on the plane.

Everyone at Keystone was friendly, helpful and caring. We felt like they genuinely cared if we were having a good time. Conversation with all was genuine. Ski patrols were visible and were safety conscience. Other skiiers we came in contact with on lifts or gondola were equally friendly and nice.

We ate almost daily at the Lakeside Grille. There was a buffet that was $15.00 for adults and $7.00 for children. This included all drinks and a nice spread of food, from fruit to oatmeal to eggs, bacon, and breads.

One day we drove to Dillon and ate at the Arapahoe Cafe. It is a quaint little place with great selections. I ordered Eggs Benedict. Was delicious.

Front desk always greeted us when we came in or left. We used the skating coupon. Just had to rent skates; admission was free. Had a great time skating on the 5 acre lake. My son had trouble skating and they have a gadget that looks like a "walker" you can rent. It really helped him figure out his balancing and then he was off on his own.

Loved the valet parking. Guys were friendly and had the car cleaned and warmed up by the time we got down from our room.

Hotel provides free wifi as well as a little business center.

In conclusion, will return next year. Booked through keystone resorts.com and purchased lift tickets as well. Was unable to use the night skiing as we arrived at 10 pm but it is certainly a nice perk. My boys didn't want to try the cross country skiing but will force them next year. Had a wonderful time. Felt safe and secure. I would recommend this hotel. You can't go wrong.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony so you can put drinks, etc outside to keep cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just returned from a long weekend in Keystone. I can not say enough how wonderful the customer service was at the Keystone lodge and spa. Everyone from the valet, to the front desk, to the shuttle drivers were extremely friendly and helpful. Everything you need is right in the resort. You also receive vouchers for free night skiing your arrival day, and free ice skating and Nordic skiing. A private shuttle transports you right to the slopes which are only a little over a mile away. Really enjoyed the heated pool and outdoor hot tub. I don't see how any reviews of this place can be bad, at least as far as service goes. The hotel itself could use some updates but is fine. Only bad thing to say at all is there is a 20$ a night keystone service charge. Will definitely return if we stay in Keystone again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Keystone Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keystone Lodge & Spa

Address: 22101 US Highway 6, PO Box 38, Keystone, CO 80435
Location: United States > Colorado > Keystone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Keystone Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Award-winning Keystone Lodge & Spa is surrounded by the majestic Rocky Mountains and thousands of acres of national forest close to Denver, making it the ideal choice for winter sports enthusiasts. Keystone Lodge is on the shuttle route, so guests can zip over to the ski lifts at a moment’s notice. The Lodge also boasts easy access to a host of winter and summer activities, including mountain biking, championship golf, ice skating, rock climbing, whitewater rafting and more. Feel free to take a break from your adventures and luxuriate in our state-of-the-art spa with a full range of relaxing and rejuvenating spa treatments. The lodge also includes a steam room, indoor and outdoor hot tubs, an outdoor swimming pool, and even an equestrian center. Treat yourself to an exceptional dining experience at the Bighorn Steakhouse while taking in the splendid views of the Continental Divide and Keystone Lake. Or grab a quick bite at the convenient Lakeside Deli before heading off on your day’s activities. The lodge offers 152 guest rooms, including 14 loft suites. Each room affords a spectacular view of Keystone Mountain and the Snake River. The hotel room with one kingbed is a traditional hotel room with a king-size bed and a private bathroom. The hotel room with two queen beds is a traditional hotel room with two queen-size beds and a private bathroom. The hotel suite with one king bed and living room is a two-level hotel suite with one king bedroom upstairs in the loft with television. All suites also include a downstairs sitting area with television and sofa pull-out couch and one private bathroom downstairs. All rooms include complimentary in-room wireless Internet, complimentary fitness center access, plush robes, a CD alarm clock and many other extras. Other amenities include a business center, exercise facilities, massage therapy services, ski storage and golf course. Extend Your Stay - 7pm Check Out Instead of sitting on I-70, head back to your hotel for a soak in the hot-tub, a shower or to catch the rest of the game while the traffic clears. *Extended check out until 7pm for just $35. *Based on availability. Ask for extended check-out at the Front Desk. Getting to the mountain is easy with the Lodge's Gondola Express shuttle service. Our private van will whisk you from the front of the Lodge to the base of the gondola. Plus, as a Lodge guest you receive free ski check at the base of the gondola and a complimentary Fast Pass which allows you to use the ski school line prior to 10am. How convenient is that? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Keystone Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keystone Lodge And Spa
Keystone Hotel Keystone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keystone Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.