We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely situated hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Keystone Lodge & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Keystone Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Keystone Lodge & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22101 US Highway 6, PO Box 38, Keystone, CO 80435   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Elyria, Ohio
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nicely situated hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Hotel is in a beautiful spot. Room was well-appointed with comfortable beds. Nice touch is the filtered water they leave in your room. Loved having a balcony overlooking the mountains. Wish they had a small fridge, though. I had trouble with the room being too warm the first night even though I had the heat off. Opened the screens while I was there during the day seemed to help for the second night.

Lobby and bar area are also very nice. Everyone--desk clerks, bartender and room steward were friendly and helpful.

Really liked the Lakeside Deli with great breakfast sandwiches and complimentary coffee.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    113
    43
    29
    10
See reviews for
98
87
7
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The Keystone Lodge is a lovely hotel to stay at for a weekend getaway. The room that we stayed in was appointed very well and I loved the balcony area where we could sit and have drinks and relax outside. I also appreciate that it was quiet with no loud noise from fellow hotel guests when I tried to sleep. I would definitely stay here again. I also loved the hot tub, as it was a great way to unwind at the end of the day. My only disappointment was the extra tax the woman on reception tried to charge us upon checking out. Expedia hadn't informed us of this tax when we organised the accommodation and paid in full and so we refused to pay it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln,ne
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I was disappointed in this resort. Although I got a great deal from Groupon I still felt I paid too much..
We were checking in around 4pm on saturday and pulled up for valet. The valet waved us over to the side so we waited a minute for him to come over.he never did. I went inside to get the room key so we could unload our bags. Upon check in they only had my reservation for one night, then tried to quickly recover. I was glad we wouldnt have to search for another hotel but was kind of confused at the front desk service- where no one offered assistance with our bags or told me where anything was in the resort. When I went back outside my friend had been told to go over to the lot, without an offer of valet parking or help with our bags. We had to carry our bags down a flight of stairs, through a tunnel and back up the stairs on the other side. Just to be clear- this is a HUGE pain.
We got into our room and discovered a BIG red stain on the carpet by the bed (gross) and a dirty platic cup on the armoir. I was unimpressed to say the least. We called the spa to see if we could get manicures either sunday or monday but were told they didn't have a manicurist available on sun or monday. The woman was very polite and apologetic but still, a spa that doesn't have someone doing nails? Kind of weird, had no trouble finding someone at another spa in breckenridge. Upon venturing out for dinner we discovered pretty much EVERYTHING in keystone is closed in sept. We ended up dining in breckenridge and Vail for the rest of our trip. Upon returning to our room we found that the curtain rod had fallen down and the curtain was on the floor. Since it was so late I opted to put it back up rather than call the front desk. The next day we stayed away from the resort (since there wasn't much to do and we didnt feel like calling the 800 number to try to find something to do- why isnt the front desk staff more knowlegable?).When we checked out the following day I made my concerns about the stain, dirty cup and curtain rod known and the person at the desk, she said she would 'look into it' and thanked me but did not offer an apology for our experience. Although everyone was very polite there just wasn't a lot of actual 'service'. I think even at the groupon rate of $99/night (plus resort fee) this was over priced. It begs the question, what makes this a 'resort experience'? I certainly felt more like I was at a days inn than a resort.
I do intend to send an email to the resort manager to make sure the next person staying in that room doesn't have the same experience.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the renovated part of the resort. The room we stayed in had stained carpet and a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

First time here and will not return. Reserved King - No smoking room. Came back after being out of room for several hours and the cigar smoke smell in the room was intolerable. Management reacted by apologizing and placing a device in the room to clear out the smoke, which was coming from people downstairs smoking cigars in their room and on the balcony. Manager said she could not interfere with their right to enjoy themselves. Asked her if that right trumped our right to a healthy environment and she just apologized again. No response at all when I pointed out that all our luggage would smell as a result. Unacceptable at a high-end resort that prides itself on being "green."

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We returned to Keysone after a 25-year hiatus. We found the Lodge to be as nice as 25 years ago. Shay, Dusty, Matt and Thomas were excellent and was most of the staff we encountered. Our "kids" enjoyed it again and were full of pleasant memories. The grandkids had a ball and we started a new generation of Keystoners, er, maybe Keystoneans is a better word.

The loft rooms were clean and quites. The welcoming little goodies for the kids were a big hit. You cannot go wrong by staying here.

Room Tip: They front desk was very accommodating in upgrading my daughter and son-in-law's birthday room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, CO
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

A nice 3-day weekend in the mountains was just the perfect recipe for rest! Keystone lodge is a very quiet location with easy access to multiple restaurants, spa, lakeside activities, and hikes. My family with a teenager all enjoyed the hotel and the layout.

We had a King bedroom layout with a loft and enjoyed the extra space. All the amenities were top-notch. The only small complaint about the room was that the sofa-bed was lumpy. But the King bed was heavenly.

Check-in and out was easy and pleasant. We did learn later that they forgot to mention the free activities that came with our package. This was unfortunate as we would have liked to go on the horse-drawn carriage ride. But we did like the check-in cookies!

Room Tip: Loft rooms help divide space between parents and children. But the stairs are very steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We just had our son's rehearsal dinner at the Black Bear Grill and it was one of the most disappointing "meals" I've ever had. $3,000 to feed 45 people, works out to around $66/each. For that kind of money I would expect a sit down dinner with servers and a LOT of personal attention. NONE of that took place. The options given to us months ago were beyond convoluted and confusing, and I know my son did the best he could choosing what he thought would work well for all included. But "Martini mashed potatoes" as what seemed the main course, BBQ beef brisket (it was ok, but not very tender) and mixed vegetables served buffet style on cocktail plates was an embarassment to me as the hostess.
32 people ate their choice of served dinners and drinks at Kickapoo the night before, and it came in under $1,000!!! WTF!?!? I had no idea who was coordinating the catering, or we'd have had a serious conversation before I gave them a dime. In no way was it worth the money we were charged and I was VERY disappointed.
Tonight, after spending the past five hours on the road to pick up my husband, we got in at 1:20am and our room keys wouldn't work!!! And guess what?!?!? NO ONE on hand at the property to answer a phone to help us! Ended up banging on the door to wake up a very sound sleeper inside to let us in. Now I understand others have had the same problem, and were told not to put their room key in their wallet. I haven't put mine in my wallet once, and if those magnetic strips are so sensitive, how about putting them in a protective sleeve and warning visitors?! What would I have done if there was no one else staying in our suite?!? Ridiculous!
So... I'm hoping dinner tomorrow night is better, and if it's a disappointment, I hope the bride's parents will speak up. I intend to write a letter to the management staff when I get home.
I work in the service industry and I don't think I'm being unreasonable! I just would've liked a really great meal for $66/person, not what ended up seeming like appetizers masquerading as an entree served buffet style. Is that asking too much?!?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Keystone Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keystone Lodge & Spa

Address: 22101 US Highway 6, PO Box 38, Keystone, CO 80435
Location: United States > Colorado > Keystone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Keystone Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Keystone Lodge & Spa is surrounded by the majestic Rocky Mountains and thousands of acres of national forest close to Denver, making it the ideal choice for winter sports enthusiasts. Keystone Lodge is on the shuttle route, so guests can zip over to the ski lifts at a moment's notice. The Lodge also boasts easy access to a host of winter and summer activities, including skiing, ice skating, cross country, mountain biking, golf, tennis, rock climbing, whitewater rafting and more. Feel free to take a break from your adventures and luxuriate in our state-of-the-art spa with a full range of relaxing and rejuvenating spa treatments. The Lodge also includes a steam room, indoor and outdoor hot tubs, an outdoor heated swimming pool, and even an equestrian center. Treat yourself to an exceptional dining experience at the Bighorn Bistro while taking in the splendid views of the Continental Divide and Keystone Lake. Or grab a quick bite at the convenient Lakeside Deli before heading off on your day's activities. The Lodge offers 152 guest rooms, including 14 loft suites. Each room affords a spectacular view of Keystone Mountain and the Snake River. The hotel room with one king bed is a traditional hotel room with a king-size bed and a private bathroom. The hotel room with two queen beds is a traditional hotel room with two queen-size beds and a private bathroom. The hotel suite with one king bed and living room is a two-level hotel suite with one king bedroom upstairs in the loft with television. All suites also include a downstairs sitting area with television and sofa pull-out couch and one private bathroom downstairs. All rooms include complimentary in-room wireless internet, complimentary fitness center access, plush robes, a i-home alarm clock and many other extras. Other amenities include a business center, exercise facilities, massage therapy services, yoga studio, ski storage and golf course. Extend Your Stay - 7pm Check Out Instead of sitting on I-70, head back to your hotel for a soak in the hot-tub, a shower or to catch the rest of the game while the traffic clears. *Extended check out until 7pm for just $35. *Based on availability. Ask for extended check-out at the Front Desk. Getting to the mountain is easy with the Lodge's Gondola Express shuttle service. Our private van will whisk you from the front of the Lodge to the base of the gondola. Plus, as a Lodge guest you receive free ski check at the base of the gondola and a complimentary Fast Pass which allows you to use the ski school line prior to 10am. How convenient is that? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Keystone Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keystone Lodge And Spa
Keystone Hotel Keystone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keystone Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.