We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time with our family.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Keystone Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Keystone Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Keystone Lodge & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22101 US Highway 6, PO Box 38, Keystone, CO 80435   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great time with our family.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We returned to Keysone after a 25-year hiatus. We found the Lodge to be as nice as 25 years ago. Shay, Dusty, Matt and Thomas were excellent and was most of the staff we encountered. Our "kids" enjoyed it again and were full of pleasant memories. The grandkids had a ball and we started a new generation of Keystoners, er, maybe Keystoneans is a better word.

The loft rooms were clean and quites. The welcoming little goodies for the kids were a big hit. You cannot go wrong by staying here.

Room Tip: They front desk was very accommodating in upgrading my daughter and son-in-law's birthday room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    115
    43
    29
    10
See reviews for
99
87
7
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, CO
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

A nice 3-day weekend in the mountains was just the perfect recipe for rest! Keystone lodge is a very quiet location with easy access to multiple restaurants, spa, lakeside activities, and hikes. My family with a teenager all enjoyed the hotel and the layout.

We had a King bedroom layout with a loft and enjoyed the extra space. All the amenities were top-notch. The only small complaint about the room was that the sofa-bed was lumpy. But the King bed was heavenly.

Check-in and out was easy and pleasant. We did learn later that they forgot to mention the free activities that came with our package. This was unfortunate as we would have liked to go on the horse-drawn carriage ride. But we did like the check-in cookies!

Room Tip: Loft rooms help divide space between parents and children. But the stairs are very steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We just had our son's rehearsal dinner at the Black Bear Grill and it was one of the most disappointing "meals" I've ever had. $3,000 to feed 45 people, works out to around $66/each. For that kind of money I would expect a sit down dinner with servers and a LOT of personal attention. NONE of that took place. The options given to us months ago were beyond convoluted and confusing, and I know my son did the best he could choosing what he thought would work well for all included. But "Martini mashed potatoes" as what seemed the main course, BBQ beef brisket (it was ok, but not very tender) and mixed vegetables served buffet style on cocktail plates was an embarassment to me as the hostess.
32 people ate their choice of served dinners and drinks at Kickapoo the night before, and it came in under $1,000!!! WTF!?!? I had no idea who was coordinating the catering, or we'd have had a serious conversation before I gave them a dime. In no way was it worth the money we were charged and I was VERY disappointed.
Tonight, after spending the past five hours on the road to pick up my husband, we got in at 1:20am and our room keys wouldn't work!!! And guess what?!?!? NO ONE on hand at the property to answer a phone to help us! Ended up banging on the door to wake up a very sound sleeper inside to let us in. Now I understand others have had the same problem, and were told not to put their room key in their wallet. I haven't put mine in my wallet once, and if those magnetic strips are so sensitive, how about putting them in a protective sleeve and warning visitors?! What would I have done if there was no one else staying in our suite?!? Ridiculous!
So... I'm hoping dinner tomorrow night is better, and if it's a disappointment, I hope the bride's parents will speak up. I intend to write a letter to the management staff when I get home.
I work in the service industry and I don't think I'm being unreasonable! I just would've liked a really great meal for $66/person, not what ended up seeming like appetizers masquerading as an entree served buffet style. Is that asking too much?!?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We came for a weekend getaway and really enjoyed this hotel. It's very clean and well kept up. We got a great deal through groupon. We also ended up visiting the spa for a couple's massage which was excellent. There are a few restaurants in the hotel and around the area, but we ended up driving over to the River Run village for more diverse dining options.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We came here as it was the only spa resort in the area and we were not disappointed. The rooms were nice and woodsy, the views of the mountains and river were awesome, and we enjoyed the amenities of the resort such as the spa, fitness center, lake, and bar. It was so nice to sit outside by the lake and eat the awesome breakfast buffet. It was not very crowded as it was Summer so it felt a little strange. A staffer told us that the new River Run has taken many of their patrons as it's newer and closer to the Keystone lifts. It was strange not having an A/C thermostat to adjust but they don't have warm Summers. I was most impressed by the valets who always remembered us and asked if they should keep our car close by in case we were going out. What service! I would have given the resort 5 stars but I was unhappy with all the construction that was going on. It took away from the ambiance but I understand that progress is necessary so I look forward to going back to see the improvements!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 6th floor to get the best views of the lake and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This is one of the oldest places to stay around Keystone, but it has been impeccably maintained. The room was very comfy, with nice crispy white duvets and many pillows. Big flat-screen TV, huge bathroom with lots of fluffy towels. We took our little grandsons there in August and had a blast swimming in the beautiful pool and enjoying all the children's activities at nearby River Run. They especially loved the bungee-trampoline. They also loved the paddleboats and kayaks on the lake right next to the hotel, and feeding the very tame ducks and fish.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

When we checked into the Keystone Lodge and Spa we learned we were in a condo in the River Run area. Thank goodness the Beer Festival was ending (it has been a mess in past years - drunk patrons, sticky sidewalks and the smell of beer everywhere).

The condo was in the Black Bear lodge. Each condo is decorated by the owner and ours was tasteful and comfortable. The condo had 1 bedroom with a full kitchen and no balcony. My daugher said the memory foam on the pull out couch was heavenly (she forgot she was sleeping on the sofa bed). We all had a good night's sleep.

We cooked most of our meals in our room. The small grocery, next to the lodge, was a good place to pick up items we had forgotten to bring (salsa, ice cream, etc).

We really miss the Activities Pass. This is a book Keystone used to give everyone who checked in. The book gave a list of ideas for activities (yoga class, wine tasting), and a reduced price on activities (horseback riding, wagon ride, paddle boats, bike rentals, golf). We used to plan our week around the Activities Book. This time the front desk told us they stopped the book and handed us an incomplete list of acitivities. as well as, the phone number to the Activities Desk (their phone was always busy so we never could use their services). Years ago the resort used to provide free/reduced child care for parents who ate in one of their finer dinng restaurants. Oh we could have used the Activities Book this year - we scrambled trying to find activities and ended up feeling a little bored...... The weather was beautiful in the Colorado mountains. We enjoyed the gondola ride, walk down the mountain and paddleboats.

Overall a nice stay.

Room Tip: No AC but the fan in the closet works wonders to cool off the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Keystone Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keystone Lodge & Spa

Address: 22101 US Highway 6, PO Box 38, Keystone, CO 80435
Location: United States > Colorado > Keystone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Keystone Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Keystone Lodge & Spa is surrounded by the majestic Rocky Mountains and thousands of acres of national forest close to Denver, making it the ideal choice for winter sports enthusiasts. Keystone Lodge is on the shuttle route, so guests can zip over to the ski lifts at a moment's notice. The Lodge also boasts easy access to a host of winter and summer activities, including skiing, ice skating, cross country, mountain biking, golf, tennis, rock climbing, whitewater rafting and more. Feel free to take a break from your adventures and luxuriate in our state-of-the-art spa with a full range of relaxing and rejuvenating spa treatments. The Lodge also includes a steam room, indoor and outdoor hot tubs, an outdoor heated swimming pool, and even an equestrian center. Treat yourself to an exceptional dining experience at the Bighorn Bistro while taking in the splendid views of the Continental Divide and Keystone Lake. Or grab a quick bite at the convenient Lakeside Deli before heading off on your day's activities. The Lodge offers 152 guest rooms, including 14 loft suites. Each room affords a spectacular view of Keystone Mountain and the Snake River. The hotel room with one king bed is a traditional hotel room with a king-size bed and a private bathroom. The hotel room with two queen beds is a traditional hotel room with two queen-size beds and a private bathroom. The hotel suite with one king bed and living room is a two-level hotel suite with one king bedroom upstairs in the loft with television. All suites also include a downstairs sitting area with television and sofa pull-out couch and one private bathroom downstairs. All rooms include complimentary in-room wireless internet, complimentary fitness center access, plush robes, a i-home alarm clock and many other extras. Other amenities include a business center, exercise facilities, massage therapy services, yoga studio, ski storage and golf course. Extend Your Stay - 7pm Check Out Instead of sitting on I-70, head back to your hotel for a soak in the hot-tub, a shower or to catch the rest of the game while the traffic clears. *Extended check out until 7pm for just $35. *Based on availability. Ask for extended check-out at the Front Desk. Getting to the mountain is easy with the Lodge's Gondola Express shuttle service. Our private van will whisk you from the front of the Lodge to the base of the gondola. Plus, as a Lodge guest you receive free ski check at the base of the gondola and a complimentary Fast Pass which allows you to use the ski school line prior to 10am. How convenient is that? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Keystone Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keystone Lodge And Spa
Keystone Hotel Keystone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keystone Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.