We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So nice we've stayed here twice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Keystone Lodge & Spa

Save Saved
You added Keystone Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Keystone Lodge & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22101 US Highway 6, PO Box 38, Keystone, CO 80435   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Keystone
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“So nice we've stayed here twice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2007

We have stayed at the Keystone Lodge back in December 2006 for 7 nights and liked it so much we booked it for another week for Christmas this year in 2007. I am a mom of 2 kids that takes her kids skiing every year because dad doesn't want to go skiing so I need a hotel that will take care of us.

Keystone Lodge isn't the newest hotel in town. It's older and renovated, but has a charm about it that makes it cozy and nice. I feel comfortable here and my kids really like it. Every Christmas they have a chocolate display in their lobby that they go crazy over. It's a whole ski village done in chocolate including a working train, waterfall, moving tree and presents that attracts visitors from all over. My kids just can't get enough of this so they had to come back this year and see this again.

We just loved our loft suite here. I think they only have 14 of them. They have these spiral staircases that go up in the middle of them giving us some privacy between the kids and me.

One disappointment this year is they removed the really large spa hot tub in the back to make way for the spa renovations. Now that great hot tub is gone that the kids loved and we had to go use the outdoor hot tub. So for a few days we used the outdoor hot tub because the indoor one was too hot for kids so we had to walk over slippery ice to get to it. But then, after a few days they closed it due to some problems and it was closed over Christmas...their busiest time. A big drag.

My kids were also playing in the indoor/outdoor pool area and one of the spa attendents had to ask them to not be so noisy because they were doing spa treatments in the back. I understand but this is holiday break and there are tons of kids playing and it was a bad design to put these new spa treatment areas so close to the pool.

Restaurant service was good, but a bit slow during this busy period. Try to ask for Vernon the waiter during the winter season during breakfast and at the Bighorn Steakhouse. What a nice guy and a great personality. He learned my kids names and this is the second season we've seen him here....he lives in Ohio. Great guy. Always enthusiastic and took good care of us.

Housekeeping is a bit late each day coming late after noon although this could be due to the busy season. Love the nighttime turndown service and the treats by the bed.

I have a recommendation for management: Please have housekeeping leave fresh water bottles everyday...even if you charge us! Such an inconvenience to go buy water everyday...so just provide it and I'll pay for it later if I drink it. You do it for the first two bottles.

If you ever need to wash your clothes, there is a secret labrynth that you will have to follow to find the washer/dryer and you will have to be escorted. It is very hard and it's not worth it. It's down near the underground parking and it's really for the condo guests. I learned last year just to pack more than enough clothes and bring woolite to wash in the sink!

Oh yes, I have my luggage FEDEXed here every year and this hotel is fabulous about storing it and last year it was even waiting in the room for me at check in.

Shuttle service is great. It's really worth it to save the money on a ski in/ski out hotel and this hotel really is down the street from the slopes.

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    76
    37
    24
    6
See reviews for
72
72
6
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upstate NY
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2007

Stayed at the Keystone Lodge this past October (2007). The biggest issue we had was dealing with altitude (being from the East Coast). Staff members encountered were friendly and helpful - though a bit youthful. Late Fall is "off-season", so we did not expect the best of the best. However, all-in-all we got excellent service, from the cleaning staff, to desk clerks to the local pubs and pizza joint. Again, since it was off season, the restaurants didn't always stay open as long as we would have liked. But the tradeoff was worth it, if you prefer not dealing with the ski crowds. We even used the Health Services for a bad case of sinus coupled with altitude (treated very well there also, and we are both healthcare employees ourselves - so we can tell good from bad). The hotel staff made sure we knew how to get to the Health Center , very close by and easy to find. The kicker was that they let us use the Volvo C70, which can also be reserved for outings, for FREE! Continental Divide was about 30 mins. or so down the road - easy to get to and awesome. Unless the staff changes radically during high season, I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2007

First of all, the staff couldn't even give me proper direction to a hard-to-find condo. After an hour, I finally found the place, without the help of the unfriendly employees.
I left a very expensive suit here (and a coat). And knew exactly where I left it in the closet. However, they just couldn't seem to find anything, and proceeded to really give me a real run-around. They knew no one else had stayed in the condo after me, and therefore the only people in there would have been their own employees. Aside from reporting it to the police there is nothing else I can do. Don't support a business that has dishonest employees.
For the price, I would expect service to be better...take your business elsewhere...

  • Disliked — Crappy service from a dishonest business
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeystoneLodgeGM, General Manager at Keystone Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, December 11, 2007
In response to the review titled "Dishonest Thieves. Do NOT stay here!!!!!!!! ---I would like to note that the reviewer very clearly stated in her review that "...the staff couldn't even give me proper direction to a hard-to-find condo. After an hour, I finally found the place, without the help of the unfriendly employees."

The Keystone Lodge & Spa does not have any condos as part of the hotel. It is apparent that the reviewer has confused the Keystone Lodge & Spa with one of the 1,400 possible condominiums within Keystone Resort that she may have stayed at. The fact that it took "...an hour" to find her condo reinforces this fact.

The Keystone Lodge & Spa is a 152 room AAA 4-diamond hotel and we have just finished a multi-million dollar renovation of our new Rock Resorts Spa which re-opened this past November. All of our employees are trained to not only be courteous and helpful to all guests, but to exceed their expectations at every opportunity.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you to the Keystone Lodge & Spa soon.

Stephan Nicolas - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Keystone Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keystone Lodge & Spa

Address: 22101 US Highway 6, PO Box 38, Keystone, CO 80435
Location: United States > Colorado > Keystone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Keystone Lodge & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Award-winning Keystone Lodge & Spa is surrounded by the majestic Rocky Mountains and thousands of acres of national forest close to Denver, making it the ideal choice for winter sports enthusiasts. Keystone Lodge is on the shuttle route, so guests can zip over to the ski lifts at a moment’s notice. The Lodge also boasts easy access to a host of winter and summer activities, including mountain biking, championship golf, ice skating, rock climbing, whitewater rafting and more. Feel free to take a break from your adventures and luxuriate in our state-of-the-art spa with a full range of relaxing and rejuvenating spa treatments. The lodge also includes a steam room, indoor and outdoor hot tubs, an outdoor swimming pool, and even an equestrian center. Treat yourself to an exceptional dining experience at the Bighorn Steakhouse while taking in the splendid views of the Continental Divide and Keystone Lake. Or grab a quick bite at the convenient Lakeside Deli before heading off on your day’s activities. The lodge offers 152 guest rooms, including 14 loft suites. Each room affords a spectacular view of Keystone Mountain and the Snake River. The hotel room with one kingbed is a traditional hotel room with a king-size bed and a private bathroom. The hotel room with two queen beds is a traditional hotel room with two queen-size beds and a private bathroom. The hotel suite with one king bed and living room is a two-level hotel suite with one king bedroom upstairs in the loft with television. All suites also include a downstairs sitting area with television and sofa pull-out couch and one private bathroom downstairs. All rooms include complimentary in-room wireless Internet, complimentary fitness center access, plush robes, a CD alarm clock and many other extras. Other amenities include a business center, exercise facilities, massage therapy services, ski storage and golf course. Extend Your Stay - 7pm Check Out Instead of sitting on I-70, head back to your hotel for a soak in the hot-tub, a shower or to catch the rest of the game while the traffic clears. *Extended check out until 7pm for just $35. *Based on availability. Ask for extended check-out at the Front Desk. Getting to the mountain is easy with the Lodge's Gondola Express shuttle service. Our private van will whisk you from the front of the Lodge to the base of the gondola. Plus, as a Lodge guest you receive free ski check at the base of the gondola and a complimentary Fast Pass which allows you to use the ski school line prior to 10am. How convenient is that? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Keystone Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keystone Lodge And Spa
Keystone Hotel Keystone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keystone Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.