We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great access to village, good access to lifts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Lodge at River Run Village

Save Saved
You added Buffalo Lodge at River Run Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buffalo Lodge at River Run Village
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   150 Dercum Square, P.O. Box 8456, Keystone, CO 80435   |  
Hotel amenities
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great access to village, good access to lifts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Got placed here upon arrival due to overbooking for Slopeside condos. Arrived around 3am and was very disappointed in service from check-in guy at Keystone lodge but no issues with service for the rest of the stay. Good location - great access to shops, restaurants and close to highway but a bit of a hike to the lift (especially in ski boots). Room was clean, especially the bathroom which is a high priority for me. Murphy bed, full kitchen, small but adequate. Had some issues with our key cards but luckily the lodge is right across from the condo "office" so it was easily and quickly resolved. We stayed here and visited Breckenridge and Vail. The drive wasn't bad but the passage was closed one day due to snowfall. If you plan to stay at one resort and visit others during your CO ski trip - make sure to keep your schedule flexible as weather can sometimes make leaving the resort impossible.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
5
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oakton, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Do you love to ski or snowboard? Do you want the mountain close to you so you don't have to drive? What about sit in the hot tub and play pool with friends and/or family? THEN CHOOSE BUFFALO LODGE.

Buffalo lodge in Keystone Colorado is a great place because the lodge is very close to the mountain Keystone. It also has a ice skating rink with rental ice skates. There is a big family room that has a big TV two pool tables and entrance to two hot tubs ( they're all for free!!! ) there is also a safe and TV in every cabin. And there is a garage so you don't have to get your car all snowed up. When I got into my cabin there were six rooms so your maybe going to have the same! But the only negative side is that the TV in your cabin is old and a bit fuzzy and it is not HD. Also if your going to Denver airport by bus and it is lightly dark or dark look at horses eyes on the left side.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

My preteen daughter and I stayed at Buffalo Lodge in River Run Village at the Keystone Resort in Colorado. We loved being right in the center of River Run Village, a very modern, earthy village with restaurants, small grocery store, coffee shops, and ski rental places. Everything was walkable which was great as we did not have a car. Best of all it was walking distance to gondola which took us right up the mountain to a bunch of great runs. We stuck to mainly greens which were lots of fun, big and wide.

Lodge had nice common area with a few pool tables and TV. My son and husband would have loved all that. The hotel next door had the outdoor pool and 2 outdoor hot tubs with gorgeous mountain views. There was a bathroom/changing room right by the pool. Right outside our hotel was a small ice rink.

If I returned I would stay here again or anywhere in River Run. I would for sure go back to Keystone. Mountain is great for whole range of skiers and never felt overcrowded.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Myself and my Husband stayed here for 5 nights in Jan 2014, The location is perfect, just a short walk to the main gandola at Keystone resort, there is also a shuttle that till pick you up right at the front door, for the other resorts around the area. The Village is also fantastic, there is a number of restaurants, coffee shops and stores all located right outside.

The one bed Condo itself was warm, cozy, well equip and clean. It was the perfect size for two adults. Being so close to the mountain meant we could have breakfast and lunch in the condo.

We would recommend this trip for Couples, Families and Friends. Great accommodation, super location & a great easy going vibe at the village and resort.

Advise: Do not eat on the mountain, its crazy expensive ($4 for a tall Drip Coffee)! Go back to your condo or eat in the village.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We rented a 1bedroom condo. The kitchen was well stocked for cooking breakfast and dinner. The hot tubs were well maintained and hot! There were towels a plenty. My teenage boys enjoyed playing pool in the lounge off the lobby entrance. Another plus was that our honda pilot with a rocket box on top fit in the underground heated garage! The ski lockers could have been a little wider to accommodate snowboards and skis but they were conveniently located off the lobby. Watching the fireworks from our balcony was a plus too. Would definitely look at this location to lodge again.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Our family stayed here in March. Very clean condo. 5th floor, #8416. Beds were comfortable. Advertised it sleeps eight. That includes one king, one queen, pull out couch and a full size blow up mattress. Not a fan of the blow up mattress because the cold air in the mattress is felt while sleeping. Furniture and equipment is comfortable and nice. Has a kitchen. Overall a very nice condo. For the fair price I would recommend. I would stay here again. Its close to the ski lifts and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, Louisiana
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here Feb 2013 and was pleasantly surprised after reading many reviews. Super friendly staff - complimentary cookies, water and hot chocolate available at the registration desk. Room was clean and had well kept furnishings and appliances. We stayed in a 1 BR and my teenagers said the sleeper sofa was terribly uncomfortable. Room and hallways were uncomfortably warm and we had to open windows to cool off (in winter). First few days the room was cleaned and clean towels were brought - for some reason the last 2 days the room was not cleaned and we had to chase down clean towels. Ski lockers and rec room with pool tables downstairs and 2 outdoor hot tubs. Walkable to gondola - wagons available free of charge of you can nab one to haul skis/boards. Convenient located to center of village of river run.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buffalo Lodge at River Run Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Lodge at River Run Village

Address: 150 Dercum Square, P.O. Box 8456, Keystone, CO 80435
Location: United States > Colorado > Keystone
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 35 Specialty lodging in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Buffalo Lodge at River Run Village 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Venere so you can book your Buffalo Lodge at River Run Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Lodge At River Run Village Hotel Keystone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffalo Lodge at River Run Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.