We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Lodge at River Run Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Buffalo Lodge at River Run Village to your Saves list
Buffalo Lodge at River Run Village
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   150 Dercum Square, P.O. Box 8456, Keystone, CO 80435   |  
Hotel amenities
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

My preteen daughter and I stayed at Buffalo Lodge in River Run Village at the Keystone Resort in Colorado. We loved being right in the center of River Run Village, a very modern, earthy village with restaurants, small grocery store, coffee shops, and ski rental places. Everything was walkable which was great as we did not have a car. Best of all it was walking distance to gondola which took us right up the mountain to a bunch of great runs. We stuck to mainly greens which were lots of fun, big and wide.

Lodge had nice common area with a few pool tables and TV. My son and husband would have loved all that. The hotel next door had the outdoor pool and 2 outdoor hot tubs with gorgeous mountain views. There was a bathroom/changing room right by the pool. Right outside our hotel was a small ice rink.

If I returned I would stay here again or anywhere in River Run. I would for sure go back to Keystone. Mountain is great for whole range of skiers and never felt overcrowded.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    14
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
17
5
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Myself and my Husband stayed here for 5 nights in Jan 2014, The location is perfect, just a short walk to the main gandola at Keystone resort, there is also a shuttle that till pick you up right at the front door, for the other resorts around the area. The Village is also fantastic, there is a number of restaurants, coffee shops and stores all located right outside.

The one bed Condo itself was warm, cozy, well equip and clean. It was the perfect size for two adults. Being so close to the mountain meant we could have breakfast and lunch in the condo.

We would recommend this trip for Couples, Families and Friends. Great accommodation, super location & a great easy going vibe at the village and resort.

Advise: Do not eat on the mountain, its crazy expensive ($4 for a tall Drip Coffee)! Go back to your condo or eat in the village.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We rented a 1bedroom condo. The kitchen was well stocked for cooking breakfast and dinner. The hot tubs were well maintained and hot! There were towels a plenty. My teenage boys enjoyed playing pool in the lounge off the lobby entrance. Another plus was that our honda pilot with a rocket box on top fit in the underground heated garage! The ski lockers could have been a little wider to accommodate snowboards and skis but they were conveniently located off the lobby. Watching the fireworks from our balcony was a plus too. Would definitely look at this location to lodge again.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Our family stayed here in March. Very clean condo. 5th floor, #8416. Beds were comfortable. Advertised it sleeps eight. That includes one king, one queen, pull out couch and a full size blow up mattress. Not a fan of the blow up mattress because the cold air in the mattress is felt while sleeping. Furniture and equipment is comfortable and nice. Has a kitchen. Overall a very nice condo. For the fair price I would recommend. I would stay here again. Its close to the ski lifts and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Louisiana
Level Contributor
248 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here Feb 2013 and was pleasantly surprised after reading many reviews. Super friendly staff - complimentary cookies, water and hot chocolate available at the registration desk. Room was clean and had well kept furnishings and appliances. We stayed in a 1 BR and my teenagers said the sleeper sofa was terribly uncomfortable. Room and hallways were uncomfortably warm and we had to open windows to cool off (in winter). First few days the room was cleaned and clean towels were brought - for some reason the last 2 days the room was not cleaned and we had to chase down clean towels. Ski lockers and rec room with pool tables downstairs and 2 outdoor hot tubs. Walkable to gondola - wagons available free of charge of you can nab one to haul skis/boards. Convenient located to center of village of river run.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

For the price in the off season, I was expecting WAY more.
The room furnishings looked like 1980. I have not seen a TV with a concave screen IN decades!

The real killer for me was the note from mgmt stating that we were to clean the room prior to leaving...do the dishes and take out the trash.
Oh Helllllllllll no. I paid a cleaning fee....what a joke...
I definitely would not recommend this place as a "good place to stay".

If this were a normal hotel in the midwest...I would say it should go for about $59/night

Room Tip: avoid this place all together
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
209 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We totally got the shaft when the management company by the name of Key of the Rockies moved us from one lodge to an "upgrade" to the Buffalo Lodge #8368. When we entered the condo it smelled very stale, the carpet was filthy, and the room felt like a sauna. We called about the climate control we were supposed to have and we were met by complete indifference. The room faced the west, so the room heated up to an unbearable temperature. We opened all of the windows, but the room did not cool until well after midnight. At all costs, avoid this lodge and any room offered by "Key of the Rockies!", Keystone, Colorado!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keystone hotels
1.4 mi away
Keystone Lodge & Spa
Keystone Lodge & Spa
#1 of 6 in Keystone
4.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alpine Slopes Lodge
Alpine Slopes Lodge
#2 of 6 in Keystone
4.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
0.0 mi away
River Run Village
River Run Village
#1 of 35 in Keystone
4.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Mountain House
#3 of 35 in Keystone
5.0 of 5 stars 6 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inn at Keystone
Inn at Keystone
#3 of 6 in Keystone
4.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aspen Ridge Condominiums
Aspen Ridge Condominiums
#19 of 35 in Keystone
4.0 of 5 stars 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Lodge at River Run Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Lodge at River Run Village

Address: 150 Dercum Square, P.O. Box 8456, Keystone, CO 80435
Location: United States > Colorado > Keystone
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Buffalo Lodge at River Run Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Buffalo Lodge at River Run Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Lodge At River Run Village Hotel Keystone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffalo Lodge at River Run Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.