We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Lodge at River Run Village

Save Saved
You added Buffalo Lodge at River Run Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buffalo Lodge at River Run Village
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   150 Dercum Square, P.O. Box 8456, Keystone, CO 80435   |  
Hotel amenities
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We rented a 1bedroom condo. The kitchen was well stocked for cooking breakfast and dinner. The hot tubs were well maintained and hot! There were towels a plenty. My teenage boys enjoyed playing pool in the lounge off the lobby entrance. Another plus was that our honda pilot with a rocket box on top fit in the underground heated garage! The ski lockers could have been a little wider to accommodate snowboards and skis but they were conveniently located off the lobby. Watching the fireworks from our balcony was a plus too. Would definitely look at this location to lodge again.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
5
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Our family stayed here in March. Very clean condo. 5th floor, #8416. Beds were comfortable. Advertised it sleeps eight. That includes one king, one queen, pull out couch and a full size blow up mattress. Not a fan of the blow up mattress because the cold air in the mattress is felt while sleeping. Furniture and equipment is comfortable and nice. Has a kitchen. Overall a very nice condo. For the fair price I would recommend. I would stay here again. Its close to the ski lifts and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, Louisiana
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here Feb 2013 and was pleasantly surprised after reading many reviews. Super friendly staff - complimentary cookies, water and hot chocolate available at the registration desk. Room was clean and had well kept furnishings and appliances. We stayed in a 1 BR and my teenagers said the sleeper sofa was terribly uncomfortable. Room and hallways were uncomfortably warm and we had to open windows to cool off (in winter). First few days the room was cleaned and clean towels were brought - for some reason the last 2 days the room was not cleaned and we had to chase down clean towels. Ski lockers and rec room with pool tables downstairs and 2 outdoor hot tubs. Walkable to gondola - wagons available free of charge of you can nab one to haul skis/boards. Convenient located to center of village of river run.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

For the price in the off season, I was expecting WAY more.
The room furnishings looked like 1980. I have not seen a TV with a concave screen IN decades!

The real killer for me was the note from mgmt stating that we were to clean the room prior to leaving...do the dishes and take out the trash.
Oh Helllllllllll no. I paid a cleaning fee....what a joke...
I definitely would not recommend this place as a "good place to stay".

If this were a normal hotel in the midwest...I would say it should go for about $59/night

Room Tip: avoid this place all together
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We totally got the shaft when the management company by the name of Key of the Rockies moved us from one lodge to an "upgrade" to the Buffalo Lodge #8368. When we entered the condo it smelled very stale, the carpet was filthy, and the room felt like a sauna. We called about the climate control we were supposed to have and we were met by complete indifference. The room faced the west, so the room heated up to an unbearable temperature. We opened all of the windows, but the room did not cool until well after midnight. At all costs, avoid this lodge and any room offered by "Key of the Rockies!", Keystone, Colorado!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Visited Keystone resort 1st week of April 2012. Used www.VRBO.com to book the 1 bedroom/1 bath unit. Unit sits in the River Run Village, a cluster of shoppes, stores, eateries and condos that flank the Gondola. The unit is about 175 yards from the lift (I paced it) and the village area contains pull carts that scatter throughout to carry your equipment. The carts are supplied by Keystone and the workers make sure there are plenty for your use throughout the day. Very convenient. The unit is quaint, very small 1 bedroom but loaded with comforts and amenities. The unit is spotless, clean, and equipped with kitchen, plates, dishwasher for use in a small working kitchen and adjacent dining table. This unit is perfect or a couple, or three max as four people would be crowded due to the small size. Master bedroom is beautifully decorated queen bed/small flat screen and the living room has a pullout couch, flat screen TV, gas fireplace and a small deck that does not have a ski mountain view but view of the mountains and parking lot for the River Run ski area entrance. The management company is available in the building and acts as the hotel manager of sorts. There is underground parking and this place is ultra convenient. We requested extra humidifiers and two were supplied in the units. You need it. Complaints of noisy hallways and outside noise due to buses and the like are somewhat true as the walls are fairly thin. We heard conversations and running in the hallways frequently and there are machines or equipment that make noise during the night and early mornings, I never got up to see what they were but it is not too loud or disruptive. With the humidifiers running, it lessens the distraction. There is a set of jacuzzi tubs on the ground floor (one was not working the entire stay) and a common room with a few pool tables, couches and a big screen TV. You can share the adjacent condo pool which is a few steps from the unit at the Dakota Lodge next door.

This place is absolutely perfect for a ski vacation in Keystone although, due to the lack of snow, we ventured to Arapahoe Basin (6 miles) and Copper Mountain (15 miles) during our stay. Plenty of food options in the River Run Village but bring your wallet, Vail owns this area and prices are just unrealistic so don't get too surprised, you know what you are getting. All in all, the rates were reasonable compared to other similar units in River Run and is extremely comfortable, clean and convenient, what more can you ask for? All in all, I highly recommend this unit in particular, the Buffalo 8351 for rental.

Room Tip: 8351 is just fine.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Yes, this is in a great location in the river run village of Keystone. Walk to everything, Gondola is about 200 yeards away through the village. Very easy to get to. However, its not very well built- meaning- the walls are thin. It was so noisy all day and night long. Hard to sleep- unless you have earplugs. Great access to pool, hot tubs, sauna, lots of great amenities. Hopefully you are so worn out from skiing all day you pass out into a hard deep sleep! Great for families!

Room Tip: NOT facing the courtyard. Facing the north parking lot is nice- very few rooms face slopes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buffalo Lodge at River Run Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Lodge at River Run Village

Address: 150 Dercum Square, P.O. Box 8456, Keystone, CO 80435
Location: United States > Colorado > Keystone
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 35 Specialty lodging in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Buffalo Lodge at River Run Village 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Venere so you can book your Buffalo Lodge at River Run Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Lodge At River Run Village Hotel Keystone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffalo Lodge at River Run Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.