We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Big Let Down” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Lodge at River Run Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Buffalo Lodge at River Run Village to your Saves list
Buffalo Lodge at River Run Village
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   150 Dercum Square, P.O. Box 8456, Keystone, CO 80435   |  
Hotel amenities
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
1 review
“A Big Let Down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

For the price in the off season, I was expecting WAY more.
The room furnishings looked like 1980. I have not seen a TV with a concave screen IN decades!

The real killer for me was the note from mgmt stating that we were to clean the room prior to leaving...do the dishes and take out the trash.
Oh Helllllllllll no. I paid a cleaning fee....what a joke...
I definitely would not recommend this place as a "good place to stay".

If this were a normal hotel in the midwest...I would say it should go for about $59/night

Room Tip: avoid this place all together
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
14
4
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We totally got the shaft when the management company by the name of Key of the Rockies moved us from one lodge to an "upgrade" to the Buffalo Lodge #8368. When we entered the condo it smelled very stale, the carpet was filthy, and the room felt like a sauna. We called about the climate control we were supposed to have and we were met by complete indifference. The room faced the west, so the room heated up to an unbearable temperature. We opened all of the windows, but the room did not cool until well after midnight. At all costs, avoid this lodge and any room offered by "Key of the Rockies!", Keystone, Colorado!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Visited Keystone resort 1st week of April 2012. Used www.VRBO.com to book the 1 bedroom/1 bath unit. Unit sits in the River Run Village, a cluster of shoppes, stores, eateries and condos that flank the Gondola. The unit is about 175 yards from the lift (I paced it) and the village area contains pull carts that scatter throughout to carry your equipment. The carts are supplied by Keystone and the workers make sure there are plenty for your use throughout the day. Very convenient. The unit is quaint, very small 1 bedroom but loaded with comforts and amenities. The unit is spotless, clean, and equipped with kitchen, plates, dishwasher for use in a small working kitchen and adjacent dining table. This unit is perfect or a couple, or three max as four people would be crowded due to the small size. Master bedroom is beautifully decorated queen bed/small flat screen and the living room has a pullout couch, flat screen TV, gas fireplace and a small deck that does not have a ski mountain view but view of the mountains and parking lot for the River Run ski area entrance. The management company is available in the building and acts as the hotel manager of sorts. There is underground parking and this place is ultra convenient. We requested extra humidifiers and two were supplied in the units. You need it. Complaints of noisy hallways and outside noise due to buses and the like are somewhat true as the walls are fairly thin. We heard conversations and running in the hallways frequently and there are machines or equipment that make noise during the night and early mornings, I never got up to see what they were but it is not too loud or disruptive. With the humidifiers running, it lessens the distraction. There is a set of jacuzzi tubs on the ground floor (one was not working the entire stay) and a common room with a few pool tables, couches and a big screen TV. You can share the adjacent condo pool which is a few steps from the unit at the Dakota Lodge next door.

This place is absolutely perfect for a ski vacation in Keystone although, due to the lack of snow, we ventured to Arapahoe Basin (6 miles) and Copper Mountain (15 miles) during our stay. Plenty of food options in the River Run Village but bring your wallet, Vail owns this area and prices are just unrealistic so don't get too surprised, you know what you are getting. All in all, the rates were reasonable compared to other similar units in River Run and is extremely comfortable, clean and convenient, what more can you ask for? All in all, I highly recommend this unit in particular, the Buffalo 8351 for rental.

Room Tip: 8351 is just fine.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Yes, this is in a great location in the river run village of Keystone. Walk to everything, Gondola is about 200 yeards away through the village. Very easy to get to. However, its not very well built- meaning- the walls are thin. It was so noisy all day and night long. Hard to sleep- unless you have earplugs. Great access to pool, hot tubs, sauna, lots of great amenities. Hopefully you are so worn out from skiing all day you pass out into a hard deep sleep! Great for families!

Room Tip: NOT facing the courtyard. Facing the north parking lot is nice- very few rooms face slopes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

My family of four stayed in this condo for a week in June. This unit is on the 5th floor facing the River Run courtyard, good view of mountain and ski lift, but a little bit blocked by the opposing building's roof. The 2-bedroom/2b-baths was nicely furnished, clean, well-maintained. Water pressure is low, but is probably is an Earth-friendly measure. According to the management desk, every condo is supposed to have a fan (or two) because there is no A/C, but ours did not. We left our windows and door to the balcony open all day/night. At night, we couldn't sleep because it was warm in the bedrooms; no air circulated and no breeze from the outside. Because our windows were always open, we could hear everything going on the the courtyard - kids riding bikes, parents calling out to their kids, people leaving the restaurants/bars, and workers cleaning up or setting up tents for next day's activities. Of the Buffalo Lodge units, ours is one of the farthest from the rest of River Run that leads to the gondola and restaurants/bars/common areas, and we still had noise. There are no washer/dryer in the condo so we used the common one that was down the hall from us. The laundry room was clean, the machines were clean. The lodge has two small hot tubs and allows pool privilege at the Dakota Lodge. The pool there was nice, the hot tubs were bigger. There are only two elevators, and only one of which goes to the parking levels. This is probably a problem during peak season. The beds were hard, some pillows were hard. The balcony is narrow.

There is a nice mini putt putt and playground in the common area surrounded by the Buffalo Lodge, Dakota, and Expedition Station. Good play area for the kids.

Overall, we liked this condo and would stay here again. Next time, we'd be sure that there are fans in the room.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

The location is unbeatable and the condo is comfortable and cozy. We came for a friend's wedding and will definitely be coming back for another stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauldin, South Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

We stay at the Buffalo Lodge for five days and found our one bedroom unit to be perfect for the two of us, not sure it would work that well for more people. Clean confortable and everything in working order. Great central location and only a short distance to the ski lifts. Although the unit had a ski locker, we found it more convenient to store skis at the storage facility across from main gondola only $5 per night... beats carrying skis and poles. This was our first time to Keystone and we loved everything about it... we will be back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buffalo Lodge at River Run Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Lodge at River Run Village

Address: 150 Dercum Square, P.O. Box 8456, Keystone, CO 80435
Location: United States > Colorado > Keystone
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Buffalo Lodge at River Run Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Buffalo Lodge at River Run Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Lodge At River Run Village Hotel Keystone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffalo Lodge at River Run Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.