We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location... but noisy!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Lodge at River Run Village

Save Saved
You added Buffalo Lodge at River Run Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buffalo Lodge at River Run Village
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   150 Dercum Square, P.O. Box 8456, Keystone, CO 80435   |  
Hotel amenities
Littleton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location... but noisy!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Yes, this is in a great location in the river run village of Keystone. Walk to everything, Gondola is about 200 yeards away through the village. Very easy to get to. However, its not very well built- meaning- the walls are thin. It was so noisy all day and night long. Hard to sleep- unless you have earplugs. Great access to pool, hot tubs, sauna, lots of great amenities. Hopefully you are so worn out from skiing all day you pass out into a hard deep sleep! Great for families!

Room Tip: NOT facing the courtyard. Facing the north parking lot is nice- very few rooms face slopes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
5
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

My family of four stayed in this condo for a week in June. This unit is on the 5th floor facing the River Run courtyard, good view of mountain and ski lift, but a little bit blocked by the opposing building's roof. The 2-bedroom/2b-baths was nicely furnished, clean, well-maintained. Water pressure is low, but is probably is an Earth-friendly measure. According to the management desk, every condo is supposed to have a fan (or two) because there is no A/C, but ours did not. We left our windows and door to the balcony open all day/night. At night, we couldn't sleep because it was warm in the bedrooms; no air circulated and no breeze from the outside. Because our windows were always open, we could hear everything going on the the courtyard - kids riding bikes, parents calling out to their kids, people leaving the restaurants/bars, and workers cleaning up or setting up tents for next day's activities. Of the Buffalo Lodge units, ours is one of the farthest from the rest of River Run that leads to the gondola and restaurants/bars/common areas, and we still had noise. There are no washer/dryer in the condo so we used the common one that was down the hall from us. The laundry room was clean, the machines were clean. The lodge has two small hot tubs and allows pool privilege at the Dakota Lodge. The pool there was nice, the hot tubs were bigger. There are only two elevators, and only one of which goes to the parking levels. This is probably a problem during peak season. The beds were hard, some pillows were hard. The balcony is narrow.

There is a nice mini putt putt and playground in the common area surrounded by the Buffalo Lodge, Dakota, and Expedition Station. Good play area for the kids.

Overall, we liked this condo and would stay here again. Next time, we'd be sure that there are fans in the room.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

The location is unbeatable and the condo is comfortable and cozy. We came for a friend's wedding and will definitely be coming back for another stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauldin, South Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

We stay at the Buffalo Lodge for five days and found our one bedroom unit to be perfect for the two of us, not sure it would work that well for more people. Clean confortable and everything in working order. Great central location and only a short distance to the ski lifts. Although the unit had a ski locker, we found it more convenient to store skis at the storage facility across from main gondola only $5 per night... beats carrying skis and poles. This was our first time to Keystone and we loved everything about it... we will be back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KC
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

So when you pay roughly $120 a night for a 1bdrm ski in/out condo during peak ski season your expectations aren’t very high, however we were pleasantly surprised with this lodge and our unit #8340. Everything was clean and for the most part working. The ski locker on the first floor and underground parking were great! Our condo was also equipped with 2 large flat screen TV’s with cable and a gas fireplace. What more could you ask for? The walk to the gondola was one of the easiest we’ve had. The only negatives are what some have already mentioned. The sink in the bathroom was very inconvenient; hit me at about my waist with a shelf hanging over it. It can get pretty noisy since it’s right near the common area. The bed was really hard. Also, we had possibly one of the first 7-segment LED alarm clocks ever manufactured in our bedroom. The alarm was set and none of the buttons worked, so we unplugged it. All in all I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

This seems to be a resort where one management company owns the whole thing and so once you have arrived there isn't any reason to compete for your business and minimal incentive to provide a good experience.

I stayed here because I was attending a conference, but would never recommend it for a personal vacation.

As a conference goer, I have no need for a condo or a kitchen, but the resort doesn't provide hotel rooms in walking distance to the main lift. So, I booked a studio at River Run. I thought that just meant the bedroom would be in a single room with the living room and a small size kitchen. But the kitchen was large, the living area had a table for six, and the bed was a Murphy style bed that dropped from the wall directly blocking the access to and from the room. I am surprised it isn't a fire code violation because you have to climb over the bed to get to either the main part of the room or the hallway/bathroom entrance. And the bed was rock hard and uncomfortable.

After arriving late at night, I was too exhausted to change rooms until the next morning. All the other available studios also had Murphy beds and as these are condos and the mattresses aren't standardized there was no saying what might have a more or less comfortable bed. I ended up spending an addditional $70 per night to get a 1 bedroom so that I could sleep at night. In the end, my dissatisfaction was their gain.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

I thought the hotel and the room were excellent. Everything was spacious and very clean. The only problem was the bedbugs . . . they were excellent too! Stay away!! Now I know why my parents used to say, "Don't let the bedbugs bite."

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buffalo Lodge at River Run Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Lodge at River Run Village

Address: 150 Dercum Square, P.O. Box 8456, Keystone, CO 80435
Location: United States > Colorado > Keystone
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 35 Specialty lodging in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Buffalo Lodge at River Run Village 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere and Expedia so you can book your Buffalo Lodge at River Run Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Lodge At River Run Village Hotel Keystone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffalo Lodge at River Run Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.