We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Private Dinner Party!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ski Tip Lodge

Ski Tip Lodge
0764 Montezuma Road, Keystone, CO 80435-7902
+1 970-496-4950
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ski Tip Lodge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 37 Restaurants in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $75
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Come back to where it all began for Keystone. This former 1800s stagecoach stop has been transformed into a cozy bed and breakfast that boasts some of the best food this side of the Continental Divide. Step inside and you may never want to leave as the aroma of delicious cuisine fills the air. Experience the rotating four-course dinner menu and thoughtful service that continues to get rave reviews. Top off the night in a comfortable seat next to a rustic fireplace with a selection from Ski Tip’s famed desserts.
Wayzata, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
131 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Perfect Private Dinner Party!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Our group of 10 reserved the private room (called the Library). We were well served by Kurtis--who invited us to enjoy cocktails on the lovely patio outside and then sit down to dinner in this charming private room. The menu was spectacular, especially the pork belly appetizer. We had lovely wine to go with dinner, based on Kurtis' recommendations. It was a special evening enjoyed by all.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    12
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weston, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A truly exceptional experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

From the charming, cozy atmosphere, to the impeccable, friendly service, to the delightfully, delicious meal ... everything was exceptional!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
296 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Wow - Great meal, atmosphere and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were visiting friends who rent a condo in Keystone every summer. They selected and made reservations for us at the Ski Tip Lodge. Boy was it first class! Everything was great. They offer a "fixed price menu" which is a 4-course gourmet meal. We started with cocktails on their outdoor patio and enjoyed watching beavers swim across the ponds immediately behind the lodge. For a starter, 3 of us chose the creamy asparagus soup while my friend had the wild game stew. Next 3 of us had their special salad of the night which was a very interesting mixture of Romaine, grilled fennel, olives, blue cheese crumbles, capers and several other delicious ingredients. My wife opted for the lightly seared tuna salad. My wife and I had venison chops while my friend had lamb chops and his wife had duck breast. Everything was exquisite. We enjoyed a nice bottle of d'Arenberg GSM (Grenache, Syrah & Mourvedre) wine from Australia which was recommended by the excellent sommelier. Desserts and coffee were taken in their "lounge", a very cozy separate room. We enjoyed a lemon tart in a white chocolate impregnated crust with loads of fresh blueberries on top and a lemon panna cotta. All the staff are absolutely top quality and very welcoming. It was a special meal with special friends. It is not inexpensive but well worth the price for such a quality dining experience on a special occasion.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Special Occasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This was the fourth or fifth time we have eaten at the Ski Tip. It provides an intimate setting and special occasion. As it is so popular, it is a good idea to get an early seating if table preference is important. Whether one has dessert by the fireplace or on the patio to enjoy the gorgeous view (in summer), the rustic beauty of the Rockies shines through.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument, Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Just gets better and better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Food, atmosphere, service - that's what makes a great restaurant and The Ski Tip Ranch has it all. There were five of us there for diner last Saturday with reservations at 8:00. Right on the mark we were seated and it was obvious that they were very busy before we got there. The menu changes all the time so you never know what will be available on any given night. There is always a steak, fish, fowl, and probably pork, but they may not be the same of each from one visit to the next.

It is a fixed price menu with four courses. I had the pork tenderloin entre. I could cut it with my butter knife. Three of the others had beef tenderloin and one person had duck. No one ordered the fish, so the chef just sent one of those out for use to share. There is no discribing all the wonderful courses! Each one better than the last. For desert we all sat in front of the fire to enjoy a variety of goodies. Lemon tart (my favorite), chocolate, creme brule, apple crisp, an all freshly baked right there by their incredible chef Brian.

If you are in the keystone area and want to be spoiled with great food and service - the SKi Tip is the place. Absolutely one of the best restaurants in Colorado!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ski Tip Lodge also viewed

 

Been to Ski Tip Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ski Tip Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.