We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Way to Celebrate a Birthday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpenglow Stube

Alpenglow Stube
Hwy 6, Keystone, CO 80435
(970) 468-4386
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Alpenglow Stube is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 31 Restaurants in Keystone
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Best Way to Celebrate a Birthday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I have wanted to have dinner here for years, but never felt I had that special occasion. This year was the year I turned 60. Eight (8) of us ventured to the top of Keystone one evening to experience one of the best dining experiences we have ever had. You take two separate gondolas to the top and are greeted at the Outpost lodge by the hostess that takes your coat and offers you a pair of slippers. We were immediately seated at our table which was a work of art the way it was set.
Our waiter Bob, was very attentive, we could not have asked for better service. My rack of lamb was delicious and cooked exactly as I ordered it. Everything we ordered was wonderful, wine list is extensive and dessert was yummy. Although I will probably not be returning in the near future, I would if there was the right occasion. If you have not experienced this restaurant and are contemplating eating here, you should.
The ride down was even better than the ride up. By this time it was dark and cold. We were given blankets in the gondola and the view of all the snow cats around the mountain grooming was picturesque.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    12
    6
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Impeccable Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

It is amazing the level of service they can provide considering how difficult it is to bring people and provisions this far. We were a group of 11 including kids and everyone loved it. From the children's pasta to the foie gras it was great.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Definitely recommended. I booked it for my parents anniversary. I was able to order for them and prepay over the phone as my parents do not speak good English. Also I requested and they were seated at the best seat, by the fireplace. The staff was so accommodating. Not sure of food quality but my parents were very pleased. Combining the whole package with the location and excellent service this place is worth the price.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great food at high altitude”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

The food was excellent, and very beautifully presented. careful with the cocktails, the thinner air makes the alcohol hit you harder. My wife, who is afraid of heights, wanted to go to this place so much she was willing to take the gondola ride (sitting on the floor so she did not see the scenery or how high up it was) there and back. And she said it was definitely worth it. If you are in the area, do not miss this.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Unique Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

great dining experience. the gondola ride up in the dark is worth the trip. get a couple of blankets for the way up. food was very good, scallops were excellent as well as the soups. Good portions.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alpenglow Stube also viewed

 

Been to Alpenglow Stube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpenglow Stube, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.