We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid food. Great people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alpenglow Stube

Alpenglow Stube
Hwy 6, Keystone, CO 80435
(970) 468-4386
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Alpenglow Stube is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 31 restaurants in Keystone
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Aisleseatguy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Solid food. Great people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Just had 3 hr lunch. Food was solid, particularly for on mountain restaurant. Pluses, seafood chowder, onion dinner roll, pan seared scallops, and apple cobbler. We had slow service at outset but manager michael made it right with complementary desserts. Server Andi was personable, pleasant, and professional. She's a keeper.

If u have the time, don't sleep on this one. A great lunch experience


We'll be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    66
    12
    6
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our family's favorite in the area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We went to Alpenglow Stube for lunch on a Thursday. The gondola trip up and back made the adventure a favorite of our trip to Colorado. The meal serving sizes were adequate but not overly large. Our party of five enjoyed each appetizer and entree. I am sure this would be a lovely trip at night, but we are glad we went during the day so that we could see the spectacular view.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dinner at the Top of the Mountain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My family are all foodies. We collect fine restaurant like some people collect dolls. This is one of our top 5 in the world. If you are in Colorado, not just Keystone, this is a must. Ask if they have the Pheasant consume available, you will fall in love with it.If you come here for Dinner in the winter dress warmly. The two gondola rides to get there will be a bit chilling especially on the trip back, they will give you blankets but it is cold none the less.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Awesome Mountain Location and Views; Food Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently went to the Alpenglow Stube with his parents for his 30th birthday. We had been told the Alpenglow could give many of NY's finest restaurants a run for their money but I can say from our experience this is the case only as relates to the location and the fantastic mountain views. Certainly you cannot beat the experience of taking the gondola up to the top of Keystone and enjoying the breathtaking Rocky Mountains but once inside, things were a mixed bag. The good: the ambiance and service were excellent - very friendly and attentive waitstaff without being "stuffy" and delicious bread basket. The bad: food, generally -- we found most of what we ordered (two of us did the tasting menu and two ordered ala carte) to be just OK. Highlights were the cherry elk consomme and blue crab ragout (both appetizers). The lamb chops were prefectly cooked but could have been trimmed a bit better and the polenta served with the lamb was overwhelmingly salty. Overall, excellent service and location but there are numerous spots for better food around the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing View and Dining Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We went here to celebrate a special birthday. What an amazing night. In order to get there you had two different gondola rides and beautiful mountain views to take in on the way up. We were greeted warmly. Our menus had a special greeting for our birthday celebration. The food was fabulous and the view was spectacular. definitely not your average dinner out. it was
pricey but oh so worth it!!! Then what an I credible ride back down the mountain on the gondola by moonlight. They gave us fleece blankets for the trip down. Highly recommend it! Beth was our server and she was fabulous....knowledgable, helpful and so friendly. Don't miss the chance to have a special dining event!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alpenglow Stube also viewed

 

Been to Alpenglow Stube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpenglow Stube, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.