We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large and Clean Room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Gateway Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Gateway Mountain Lodge
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   21966 US Highway 6, East Keystone, Keystone, CO 80435   |  
Hotel amenities
Georgetown, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Large and Clean Room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

The rooms and bathrooms are spacious. The furniture and fixtures are old and dingy. Everything looked clean and the were plenty of towels and blankets. Water pressure in the shower was great. Our room had a murphy bed which was super uncomfortable. The mattress was thin and springy. I ended up sleeping on the couch which was cozier. The building is crazy warm when you walk in. The pool also has a strong chlorine small that takes over the lobby. The garage door was problematic. We called the rental company after we couldn't get into to the garage, and their response was "Yeah, sometimes it doesn't work- you can try again later". Really?
Overall, it worked for our last minute trip but I wouldn't stay here if we had more time to plan.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    18
    7
    6
    7
See reviews for
18
12
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here and it was so bad, we left a day early. The units are individually owned...we were in 5016. First, we were led to believe that there would be a kitchen. The "kitchen" consisted of a dorm fridge that smelled funny, a compact microwave, coffee maker, and wet bar - sized sink. No way anyone could cook on that.

The room itself was desperately in need of a remodel - threadbare carpet, uncomfortable pillows, a tv that didn't work, and slow internet. Management was unsympathetic. I'd compare the room quality to an America's Best Value somewhere in the sticks.

Do yourself a favor....spend a few extra bucks on a 1 BR condo elsewhere, or get a budget motel for about the same price.

Do yourself

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeystoneResortPM, Manager at Gateway Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 17, 2015
We apologize that this condo did not meet your expectations. You are correct that Efficiencies in the Gateway Mountain Lodge do not have full kitchens. We will contact you directly to address your concerns with the accommodations.

Sincerely,
Keystone Resort Property Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

Stayed in unit 5004 for a recent ski weekend and won't be going back. We had a studio which had a Murphy bed and a pull out coach. Neither was comfortable and both of them had mattresses most likely from a World War 1 surplus store. Bedding was gross including a burned comforter. Wifi connection was poor. Overall the unit was just shabby - the only upside was everyone in my family wanted to avoid the room so we spent as much time outside as possible. There are just much better places to stay in Keystone.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

The room was very spacious, clean, and well kept. The staff was very friendly and eager to assist. Transportation is provided around the resort free of charge. Studio rental had a fridge, microwave, and real dishes.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

We booked this hotel for a snow mobile trip this season. The room was your standard hotel room with a minifridge/microwave and toaster. We had booked the Efficiency or studio, which would do fine for two people. (With your standard hotel price)
Internet connection was TERRIBLE if you could access it at all.
The Lobby and hallways were so HOT that it was unbearable, and multiple guests were complaining about the temperature and also the Hot tub was so HOT most could not be in it for more than a minute.
Also Buyer beware; we were charge 15 dollars a night for a resort fee even after I asked the registration if there were any other charges.
There is no housekeeping services offered at all unless you want to pay additional, which was $25 extra for our room which we were not notified of until check out.
The additional charges per the manager should have been addressed upon check in and we should have been explained the process of housekeeping.
Although the Manager was apologetic and I received a refund for all additional charges that I did not approve, I still would not choose to stay in this establishment again.
I will also think twice about staying in a facility with no front desk on site.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015 via mobile

With 18 people plus 3 toddlers, my family and I struggled to locate a rental that could accommodate our size on such short notice (didn't book until Nov). Although much of the property appears very dated, the location and view was very difficult to beat. We were walking distance to Keystone Village and from there we could get a shuttle to anywhere we wanted in Summit County. Another bonus was we could watch the fireworks at Keystone Village from the comfort of the living room, patio, and even 2 of the bedrooms. All in all, my family had a BLAST and for the price during the holidays, it would be very difficult to beat.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

We arranged to stay in this unit (#5093) in October for a Family Ski vacation over the Christmas holiday. First this is a very nice unit situated on the top level of the building. It has three nice sized bedrooms and a loft area with bunk beds for the little guys. We found the unit very comfortable with contemporary furnishings, flat panel TVs, WiFi, and access to Netfliks.

We had a total of eleven family members from all over the globe, who were very impressed with their lodging. The views of the slopes and it's location on the shuttle route made skiing a snap. The only draw backs to this building is that it is managed by the HOA as most of the units are individually owned. The Christmas week we were there the water in the Hot tub was colder then the pool water. We had looked forward to relaxing there after long days of skiing. The common areas of the building was pretty sparse and appeared to need updating given the cost and caliber of the units they led to.

Room Tip: Whatever you do, always request a unit facing the ski slopes of Keystone it will be worth every penn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Gateway Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Mountain Lodge

Address: 21966 US Highway 6, East Keystone, Keystone, CO 80435
Location: United States > Colorado > Keystone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gateway Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gateway Mountain Lodge is centrally located in between both River Run and Mountain House ski area bases at Keystone. Walk to the slopes or take the complimentary shuttle that stops right outside the main lobby of the complex. A restaurant/bar, spa, ski shop and liquor store are all located on the ground level of the complex. Enjoy the fitness facility, indoor pool and hot tub or just relax on the common area patio or lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Gateway Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Mountain Hotel Keystone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gateway Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.