We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a large group” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Gateway Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gateway Mountain Lodge
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   23110 Hwy. 6, East Keystone, Keystone, CO 80435   |  
Hotel amenities
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Perfect for a large group”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Recently had the opportunity to spend a week at the Gateway Mountain Lodge with a group of friends. The lodge was centrally located, making it very easy to visit various ski resorts and different towns. The Lodge itself had ample underground parking where all of the spots were relatively close to the central elevator. There was even plenty of room to keep bicycles secure. Our unit had four bedrooms and three bathrooms - plenty of space for a large group of adults. Kitchen was well-equipped and well-ventilated with a grand open design. The unit had massive, two-story view of the mountains which was just the right inspiration to get us ready for the the first chair. I was surprised by the overall quietness of the Lodge: even though the resort appeared to by booked to capacity, we never heard any noise from our neighbors.
Staff was extremely helpful on check-in and polite throughout our stay.
On the negative side, the ski lockers provided on the first floor were totally impractical as the individual lockers were much too small to hold more than two pairs of skis and they could not even accommodate snowboards. The jacuzzi pool was only modestly warm.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    17
    6
    3
    6
See reviews for
15
10
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mpls
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I stayed here in February with a group of friends. Our condo was very clean and updated. The views of the Keystone runs and mountains were gorgeous. The four bedrooms were all very comfortable and each had its own bathroom. The location was very central for all of the ski resorts in Summit county which was really nice for trying out different resorts every day. I can't think of one thing to improve the accommodations. I will definitely return!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Units are individually owned condo's - so no hotel amenities/services. Nice sized bedrooms - each with own bathroom. Very quiet - comfortable beds. Plenty of common space for meals and socializing. Easy shuttle to slopes.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This was the trip of a lifetime. After skiing it was great to come back to a gorgeous, quiet place and unwind! I would go back in a heartbeat. Our condo was first class and had with everything we needed. With a great view of the mountains, I really felt like I had gotten away from the hustle and bustle of my working life.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

THE GOOD
Airport Transportation:
We did not rent a car, and used Summit Express shuttle service to and from the Airport. They were right on time. Good company.

Lodging:
We stayed at the Gateway Lodge with 4 people sharing a Studio Condo which sleeps 6.
2 Queens and 1 pull out sofa, gas fireplace, flat screen TV, kitchenette.
The unit was clean and the beds were very comfortable.
The unit had good temperature control using the Thermostat Heat and Gas Fireplace.
Had plenty of Hot Water for showers and cleaning dishes.
Had a Kitchen table, not all studios have these.
Contained 2 Humidifiers which we used every night.

Shuttle Service:
Keystone offers free Shuttles around the Keystone village resorts. Gateway lodge to River Run is the first stop and a 5 minute ride. Gateway is the last stop on the way back, the ride was about 15 minutes.
Free public transportation company called Summit Stage provides Bus service to Arapahoe Basin from Keystone River run was a nice amenity.
They also provide free transportation to surrounding towns and Breckenridge ski resort.


Amenities:
A very BIG PLUS was that the Gateway Lodge has a grocery store located on the first floor off the main lobby. This store contains Liquor, beer, Medical supplies, Fresh and Frozen Food. It really has everything you will need for a an extended stay.

Service Desk:
Summit Cove office was FIVE STAR and was very accommodating to our needs. First morning I found out we had a broken Coffee maker. I informed the front desk about this and during the day they delivered a brand new coffee maker. They provided extra towels when we needed them. Our stay did not include maid service because we stayed 5 nights. If you stay 6 nights or more, that includes one mid stay maid service.

Restaurant:
The restaurant/pub called the Haywood Café outside the Gateway lodge that had really nice breakfasts, lunch and dinners. Their specialty is a bacon bloody marys.

Keystone Resort:
Spent 3 days here.
Really liked River Run Village with all the restaurants and shops. This is a great Family destination. Mountain has tons of terrain variety for all abilities. The mountain has night skiing so that you can get a few more runs in at the end of the day and not worry about lifts closing at 4PM. We generally Skied from 10-5pm. Keystone Grooms a couple of trails for night skiing and it was nice to catch these at the end of the day.

Arapahoe Basin:
Spent 1 day here.
If you haven’t been here you MUST visit this mountain. If you like big open spaces and bowl areas, this mountain is for you. A-basin has so much to offer. You can ski/ride mellow or get really extreme on this mountain.


THE BAD
Kitchenette had no Stove. Just a Microwave, fridge, coffee maker, sink.

Kitchenette had no light under cabinet which made things very difficult because that part of the room has no light.I can’t believe that the owners cannot afford a $15 under the cabinet light that you plug into the outlet. I had to borrow a flashlight from the Summit Cove Desk to see what I was doing. The room did not have overhead lighting. Just 5 low light lamps spread around the room. Very Dark room!

Swimming Pool Room is looking a little tired. Paint is peeling off the walls.

Shuttle Service around Keystone is NEVER on time. Always late and sometimes did not show up until the next scheduled time. Shuttles run 3 times per hour.
An improvement would be if they ran shuttles direct to each property. Steamboat does this very well.

Food at Keystone mountain was the MOST expensive I have ever paid. I have been to a lot of places and Keystone tops the cake. $5.45 for a tea. (Hot water and tea bag)
Ordinary Hamburger with Fries is $15 plus tax. What we ended up doing was skiing down and eating in the village where food is better quality and less expensive. Ate at the New Moon Café and had Panini Sandwiches and Burritos. Prices are around $8.95. Lots of good happy hours around the village. Coors light for $1 after 3:30pm,
$1.50 after 4pm, etc. Pizza on the run in the front of river run village has excellent hand tossed pizza.

Summary:
The Gateway lodge is nothing fancy, but very adequate accommodations, value priced and close to the mountain. Would I stay here again, YES, absolutely. But given all the choices around keystone, I would try to find something a little closer to the mountain so I would not have to wait for the shuttles. This is my 3rd time to Keystone and Arapahoe and each time was enjoyable.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor at the end of the hallway and did not hear a sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed with two other families in two condos at Gateway Lodge. The rooms were good...clean, well appointed. The location, although not slopeside, it is on the shuttle route and close enough to walk if you stow your gear at the resort. The pool and hot tub were nice, but smallish for the number of condos in the building.

The major problem we had was no elevator service. Someone working in the retail shops in the base of the building advised that it had been been down for more than 6 weeks. This is unacceptable . We were on the third floor and at high altitude, it is a major chore to lug gear and luggage up and down the steps. If I owned one of these units, my attorney would be contacting the management company or homeowners association as they are definitely not getting it done.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

We booked this condo at the last minute so we were happy we could get ANYTHING through Wildernest for the same week. However, I don't know if we would opt for Gateway again, if given the opportunity.

We stayed here for 5 nights this January in a studio unit.

First, I don't know if this is all units but ours is extremely dark! As in, strain your eyes to read even when as close to a floor lamp as humanly possible. This has caused some literal headaches. Speaking of our unit, it's in need of some sprucing up- the furniture is worn, the tv is so grainy and with fading sound, it's not even good as white noise. Also, the linens need some replacing as well. they are clean but mismatched and again, worn. However, the bathroom is updated, albeit a little dusty. As in, coat of dust on the towel rack and toilet paper holder.

The building and facilities are nice. You cannot beat the location at the base of Keystone Mountain. You are walking distance from restaurants, bars and all the amenities you could need while staying here plus, great views of the mountain! There is even a shuttle exclusively for owners/guests to and from the mountain that runs very quite regularly. However, we didn't use the shuttle so I can't speak to that.
The underground, semi-heated parking is wonderful and the lobby/common area is nicely appointed with leather couches and a welcoming, relaxing fireplace area. Unfortunately, The pool and spa area could use a lot of work. Most is general housekeeping (gobs of wet hair around the drains and on the floor, a couple of grubby band aids stuck to the stones), but the pool could really use a drain and scrub down. You can see where people frequently enter/exit based on the discoloration of the stone. However, that didn't stop us from using the hot tub for about 15 min after a long day of skiing!

Overall, the facilities are okay. Would I stay here again? Yes, for the right price. Would I consider buying a unit? No.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gateway Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Mountain Lodge

Address: 23110 Hwy. 6, East Keystone, Keystone, CO 80435
Location: United States > Colorado > Keystone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 35 Specialty lodging in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gateway Mountain Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gateway Mountain Lodge is centrally located in between both River Run and Mountain House ski area bases at Keystone. Walk to the slopes or take the complimentary shuttle that stops right outside the main lobby of the complex. A restaurant/bar, spa, ski shop and liquor store are all located on the ground level of the complex. Enjoy the fitness facility, indoor pool and hot tub or just relax on the common area patio or lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Gateway Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Mountain Hotel Keystone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gateway Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.