We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden River Lodge

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
AMOMA.com Otel.com
Hidden River Lodge
70 River Run Road, Mountain House, Keystone, CO 80435   |  
Hotel amenities
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Great Location and Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed here for 5 days in March. We wanted to be close to the slopes, but not necessarily pay a ton of money to stay right at the base of the mountain. Facility itself is nice--garage parking, a common meeting area, limited fitness equipment, patios overlooking the mountain, and two hot tubs. There are ski lockers in the garage and wagons to carry everything over to mountain house. It is only about a 5 minute walk to the base of the slope. We rented a basket for $8 every day and left our skis and boots at Mountain House and walked back to the room for lunch. The room it self was comfortable and well-equipped--TV's in every room, wi-fi, most appliances needed to cook. The room came with plenty of soaps, towels, dishwashing detergent, etc. My only complaints are the room was a little dated, the cooking pans, etc., need replaced, the beds weren't very comfortable, and the old TV in the family room was sitting too high to see the screen very well. I would also add flat panel TV's and make the wi-fi faster...it was very slow. Lastly, we had a back up in the sink and guest services was very quick to fix the issue. All in all, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Perfect location. We walked over to the slopes and the wagon really was nice. Shuttle service will take you anywhere that you want to go also. It was a great trip and we really enjoyed it. We stayed in a 2 bedroom/ 2 bathroom unit and it worked great for 2 couples.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I would never stay here again. Our condo (5960) smelled and was very dirty. The bathroom was disguisting, the kitchen pots/pans were old and scratched, the fireplace did not work and when was "fixed" it caused us to have headaches (leaking carbon monoxide), the sheets/towels had orange stains and dog hair on them, and the furniture was old and falling apart. Don't waste your money here. We paid about the same price for an amazing resort room at other places in Utah and Colorado. Oh, and by the way the 2 hot tubs are a joke--they were green and had a film on them. I told Keystone Property management but nothing was really done for us to make our stay better. They said they could not move us because they were completely booked! I didn't believe it one bit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights after Christmas. It exceeded our expectations! We had to wait to get into our room but it was easy after that. The 3 Bedroom had plenty of room for 5 adults and 4 kids under 9. Clean and nicely laid out. Loved the steam shower! Beautiful views of the mountain house base area and just a short walk over a pretty bridge to the lodge and lesson area. Under ground parking garage was easy and convenient. Storage lockers in garage for skis made it easy to deal with rental equipment. My brother already booked his next stay and we plan to make this a tradition!

Room Tip: Top floor has best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We stayed for a week in Feb 2012 - had a 2BR condo on the 3rd floor overlooking Keystone Ski Resort. It was very clean, modern, and had plenty of space. We enjoyed having a full kitchen to cook meals during the week. They have ski lockers in the underground parking garage, so no need to haul your skis upstairs. REALLY enjoyed the hot tub outside on a few evenings - we were the only ones in there each time! To ski at Keystone you simply walk across a footbridge (right outside the parking garage), through the Keystone parking lot and you're right at one of the ski lifts. It took maybe 5 minutes total to walk it - super convenient. They have lockers at the lodge there too, in case you don't want to do the walk in your ski boots :-).

Definitely head to Dillon (10 min drive) to get groceries/liquor, supplies, etc. They have much larger supermarkets than Keystone. It's a 40 minute drive to Breckenridge where they have lots of great shopping and restaurants - all within walking distance up and down main street. Frisco, which is about 15 min from condo has a small Wal-Mart and more shopping if needed.

Overall, we loved our stay at the Hidden River Lodge! Would definitely rent again - it is a little bit out of the way (10 min off I-70), but the awesome views and feeling like you're truly getting away are totally worth it.

Room Tip: Ask ahead to make sure your view faces the ski resort, or you will be facing the road!
See more room tips
Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boulder colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

We rented Condo 5975 - view of the slopes, walking distance to the lifts, heated free parking. Had a nice fireplace, kitchen, two big bedrooms and baths. Super nice outdoor hot tub with friendly neighbors. 5 minutes from a large movie theater, short drive to Brek for cheap tacos at Rita's. Highly recommended! Keystone is a great mountain - lots of locals, the back mountains are quiet and magnificent. Like being in the wilderness but with fast ski lifts!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

We were switched to Hidden River Lodge by the Key to the Rockies management company after our condominium at Tenderfoot Lodge was shrink wrapped for painting with us in it (see our review of Tenderfoot Lodge). Although the condominium in Hidden River Lodge is larger, there are a number of problems. First, the advertised dvd player does not work. This is a problem for us as we like to relax with a movie after a day of exploring. Second, the condo is so overstuffed with furniture it is hard to move around and the light in the second bedroom is completely blocked by a bunk bed pushed up within inches of the window. The sink area of the bathroom is not separated from the main bedroom so if one of us needs to get up during the night to take some medicine, the other is disturbed by the lights from the sink area. Overall, we have been very disappointed with our stay in Keystone which was orchestrated by a management company we consider to be incompetent. We love Colorado and have tried not to let the problems with the two condos get in the way but it has been a continuous struggle at these properties. All travelers should beware of the Key to the Rockies management company.

  • Liked — Views of Keystone ski runs and Snake river
  • Disliked — Overcrowed with furniture, poor condo design, poor management
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hidden River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden River Lodge

Also Known As:
Hidden River Hotel
Hidden River Hotel Keystone
Address: 70 River Run Road, Mountain House, Keystone, CO 80435
Location: United States > Colorado > Keystone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 35 Specialty lodging in Keystone
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hidden River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hidden River Lodge to your Saves list