We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place but...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ski Tip Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ski Tip Lodge to your Saves list
Ski Tip Lodge
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   764 Montezuma Rd., Keystone, CO 80435   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Keystone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place but...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The front desk lady named Linda needs to STAY at the front desk...And stay out of the rooms. And make sure the maid who cleans the room gets the tip personally. That's what we did....Keep an eye out...

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    10
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
15
27
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brookfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

We are spending 2nights here so we can go summer skiing at A-Basin. It is a delightful little place with a huge amount of ski history here. The hostesses have exceptionally helpful (we had issues with our cell phone that could've made this trip go sour but they saved the day for us!) and the breakfast was scrumptious. They have homemade bacon and jam! The lounging areas are so cozy and comfy, a delightful place to relax and enjoy special times together. Love it,love it love it!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

The service in the dining room and at the B&B was impeccable. We stayed in the Sunshine Room #7 on the second floor and enjoyed beautiful views from 2 windows and easy access. The bathroom is updated with a large bath tub. However, there is no TV or phone and if you are planning to stay here during ski season I would suggest a larger room. But for us on this visit it was perfect.
Our first taste of their "cuisine" were freshly baked cookies that were placed in a cookie jar close to our room, Delicious!!!! The breakfast was wonderful with a chicken and pork sausage to kill for and the pastries were incredible. For the evening I enjoyed a beef tenderloin which was cooked to perfection....But what impressed me most about our stay was the attentiveness of the staff. Thanks for a wonderful weekend SKI TIP!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

As another reviewer noted, this B&B is unique. It was built as a carriage stop in the late 1800s and then a private residence for the family that founded Arapahoe Basin and Keystone. Now it is available as a gorgeous bed and breakfast and first rate (and I mean absolutely exquisite) dinner restaurant. I have never stayed anywhere quite like it, especially here in Colorado. The rooms are beautiful and typical of the best bed and breakfasts we have stayed in. There is only one room without a bathroom in the room, all of the others are well furnished. No, they do not have televisions or even telephones in the rooms and that helps compete the charm of the place. Some are small, and yes if you are staying downstairs you can sometimes hear people walking around above you, and if you are staying upstairs you can hear some noise from downstairs. Please, let me emphasize that I am sensitive to noise and I travel with earplugs because I wake easily. This small, unavoidable drawback will not keep me away. There are just way too many positives!
I will be back to enjoy Ski Tip Lodge again. We will again enjoy the magnificent dinner here (DO NOT miss dinner here, I really can't recommend it highly enough), relax and read by the fire after dinner while enjoying drinks from the bar. Did I mention that breakfast is excellent? Did I mention that the service was fantastic? Take my recommendation and have dinner here (at least one night) and stay in one of the quaint, charming rooms in this beautiful old log house. I was taken to another place and time that was so welcoming, I can't wait to come back!!

Room Tip: 907, 909, Suite 911/912. The innkeeper will be glad to offer suggestions!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Let me start by saying that I love the Ski Tip. My husband does not. This is a very unique, rustic property. That's exactly what I love about it. No TVs, you sit around a community lounge in the evenings, tiny rooms with drafty windows and antiques, a shortage of electrical outlets, creaky floors, funky hallways ... a real throwback to the wild skiing west.

My husband just gets frustrated by the small-ness of everything, the low ceilings, the creaking and groaning of the wood in the building. The old bathrooms irritate him. Sure, they are antique with tarnished brass fixtures and worn porcelain, but that is the charm.

The staff here are exceptional, as is the on-site restaurant. The lounge area is perfect ... comfy seating, giant fireplace. You should spend most of your time here, not in the small bedrooms. The wifi is spotty, except in the common areas. Even then, usually it's not strong enough to stream movies or videos ... there is no TV. At all. You read and play board games. I love that.

So, if you are able to enjoy simple things, and love history, you will probably share my love of this place. If you need things to be more modern, on a larger scale, feel more connected with technology or want more privacy, then this is probably not the place for you.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms are a bit more quiet, but you will hear water moving, creaky floors, rain, noisy n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

We had a fabulous dinner last night, in this quaint B&B, our third time here and always perfect. Food is delectable and just the perfect size portions, ambiance is like nothing else close by, and the service is top notch! We'll be coming back for many years!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Ski Tip Lodge this weekend as part of my fiance, John's birthday celebrations. Had a delicious, delicious dinner (though pricey, but hey, it was a special occasion) on Friday night, enjoyed dessert by the snuggly fireplace, where the room of fellow travelers who were doing the same sang happy birthday along with our server, as she presented him his dessert with a candle :) That's what this place does, though-- it makes strangers sing with you! Ski Tip really feels more like someone's cozy home in Austria that we've all been invited to. Following that great sweet top off to the meal, we sleepily climbed upstairs to our room. Can't beat that! Plus, the snow was falling like crazy (see my pic). What a little dream of a spot. We'll be back for sure!

Room Tip: I didn't love our location on the "road side" of the house because the street light is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
2.1 mi away
Keystone Lodge & Spa
Keystone Lodge & Spa
#1 of 6 in Keystone
4.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alpine Slopes Lodge
Alpine Slopes Lodge
#2 of 6 in Keystone
4.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
6.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ptarmigan Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#4 of 21 in Breckenridge
4.5 of 5 stars 520 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn at Keystone
Inn at Keystone
#3 of 6 in Keystone
4.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
0.7 mi away
River Run Village
River Run Village
#1 of 35 in Keystone
4.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ski Tip Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ski Tip Lodge

Address: 764 Montezuma Rd., Keystone, CO 80435
Location: United States > Colorado > Keystone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ski Tip Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Ski Tip Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ski Tip Hotel Keystone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ski Tip Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.