We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique and beautiful property with delightful service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ski Tip Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ski Tip Lodge to your Saves list
Ski Tip Lodge
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   764 Montezuma Rd., Keystone, CO 80435   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Keystone B&B and Inns
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A unique and beautiful property with delightful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

As another reviewer noted, this B&B is unique. It was built as a carriage stop in the late 1800s and then a private residence for the family that founded Arapahoe Basin and Keystone. Now it is available as a gorgeous bed and breakfast and first rate (and I mean absolutely exquisite) dinner restaurant. I have never stayed anywhere quite like it, especially here in Colorado. The rooms are beautiful and typical of the best bed and breakfasts we have stayed in. There is only one room without a bathroom in the room, all of the others are well furnished. No, they do not have televisions or even telephones in the rooms and that helps compete the charm of the place. Some are small, and yes if you are staying downstairs you can sometimes hear people walking around above you, and if you are staying upstairs you can hear some noise from downstairs. Please, let me emphasize that I am sensitive to noise and I travel with earplugs because I wake easily. This small, unavoidable drawback will not keep me away. There are just way too many positives!
I will be back to enjoy Ski Tip Lodge again. We will again enjoy the magnificent dinner here (DO NOT miss dinner here, I really can't recommend it highly enough), relax and read by the fire after dinner while enjoying drinks from the bar. Did I mention that breakfast is excellent? Did I mention that the service was fantastic? Take my recommendation and have dinner here (at least one night) and stay in one of the quaint, charming rooms in this beautiful old log house. I was taken to another place and time that was so welcoming, I can't wait to come back!!

Room Tip: 907, 909, Suite 911/912. The innkeeper will be glad to offer suggestions!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    9
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
14
25
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Let me start by saying that I love the Ski Tip. My husband does not. This is a very unique, rustic property. That's exactly what I love about it. No TVs, you sit around a community lounge in the evenings, tiny rooms with drafty windows and antiques, a shortage of electrical outlets, creaky floors, funky hallways ... a real throwback to the wild skiing west.

My husband just gets frustrated by the small-ness of everything, the low ceilings, the creaking and groaning of the wood in the building. The old bathrooms irritate him. Sure, they are antique with tarnished brass fixtures and worn porcelain, but that is the charm.

The staff here are exceptional, as is the on-site restaurant. The lounge area is perfect ... comfy seating, giant fireplace. You should spend most of your time here, not in the small bedrooms. The wifi is spotty, except in the common areas. Even then, usually it's not strong enough to stream movies or videos ... there is no TV. At all. You read and play board games. I love that.

So, if you are able to enjoy simple things, and love history, you will probably share my love of this place. If you need things to be more modern, on a larger scale, feel more connected with technology or want more privacy, then this is probably not the place for you.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms are a bit more quiet, but you will hear water moving, creaky floors, rain, noisy n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

We had a fabulous dinner last night, in this quaint B&B, our third time here and always perfect. Food is delectable and just the perfect size portions, ambiance is like nothing else close by, and the service is top notch! We'll be coming back for many years!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Ski Tip Lodge this weekend as part of my fiance, John's birthday celebrations. Had a delicious, delicious dinner (though pricey, but hey, it was a special occasion) on Friday night, enjoyed dessert by the snuggly fireplace, where the room of fellow travelers who were doing the same sang happy birthday along with our server, as she presented him his dessert with a candle :) That's what this place does, though-- it makes strangers sing with you! Ski Tip really feels more like someone's cozy home in Austria that we've all been invited to. Following that great sweet top off to the meal, we sleepily climbed upstairs to our room. Can't beat that! Plus, the snow was falling like crazy (see my pic). What a little dream of a spot. We'll be back for sure!

Room Tip: I didn't love our location on the "road side" of the house because the street light is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I don't know why I am writing this review - I really would prefer The Ski Tip Lodge to remain one of the best kept secrets of the Rockies.

Quite simply - it is fabulous. The bedrooms and bathrooms may be a bit small and quirky but this is a bed and breakfast and not a hotel. However the beds are terrific and the hospitality from every member of staff is beyond reproach.

The food in the dining room is some of the very best we have had in the United States. Wonderfully creative and yet not over complicated. This is complemented by a great wine list with lots of good value curiosities from around the world. This praise extends to the breakfasts which are excellent - need to lose a few pounds now that we are home.

Add to this mix the very cosiest lounges with roaring fires and good company then it is hard to think of anywhere else in Colorado that matches this experience. It is reminiscent of the best Swiss or Austrian mountain chalets but there is no mistaking that this is Colorado - "Alpine Americana"

We'll be back! I just hope it doesn't become so popular that we can't get booked next time!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Was a quaint place close to river run keystone. No TV. But great cozy room More like a bed and breakfast place. Food and service was excellent . Would love to go back in summertime. Beautiful surroundings. Price was very reasonable. You do have to take shuttle to ski area but very close. Would highly recommend to friends. A large group would have fun here hanging out in evenings in living room downstairs by fireplace.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DENVER
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Such a charming spot! In the past few years I had eaten dinner here a couple of times and always really enjoyed it, so when a couple of my college friends decided to come out for a mini reunion, it seemed like a perfect chance to actually spend the night at The Ski Tip. We had the little two bedroom suite with a private bath, and it was lovely. The beds were exceptionally comfy and the complimentary breakfast was terrific. You really do feel transported back in time - no phones or TVs (the wifi was great, so if you really need to you can watch TV on your PC). My only complaint would be the noise as all the guests made their way to their rooms. This is an old building and the floors creaked as folks walked on them. The good news is, the inn is small so the noise came early and was short-lived. I absolutely plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ski Tip Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ski Tip Lodge

Address: 764 Montezuma Rd., Keystone, CO 80435
Location: United States > Colorado > Keystone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ski Tip Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and BookIt.com so you can book your Ski Tip Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ski Tip Hotel Keystone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ski Tip Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.