We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique property, but definitely not for everyone.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ski Tip Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ski Tip Lodge to your Saves list
Ski Tip Lodge
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   764 Montezuma Rd., Keystone, CO 80435   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Keystone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Unique property, but definitely not for everyone.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Let me start by saying that I love the Ski Tip. My husband does not. This is a very unique, rustic property. That's exactly what I love about it. No TVs, you sit around a community lounge in the evenings, tiny rooms with drafty windows and antiques, a shortage of electrical outlets, creaky floors, funky hallways ... a real throwback to the wild skiing west.

My husband just gets frustrated by the small-ness of everything, the low ceilings, the creaking and groaning of the wood in the building. The old bathrooms irritate him. Sure, they are antique with tarnished brass fixtures and worn porcelain, but that is the charm.

The staff here are exceptional, as is the on-site restaurant. The lounge area is perfect ... comfy seating, giant fireplace. You should spend most of your time here, not in the small bedrooms. The wifi is spotty, except in the common areas. Even then, usually it's not strong enough to stream movies or videos ... there is no TV. At all. You read and play board games. I love that.

So, if you are able to enjoy simple things, and love history, you will probably share my love of this place. If you need things to be more modern, on a larger scale, feel more connected with technology or want more privacy, then this is probably not the place for you.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms are a bit more quiet, but you will hear water moving, creaky floors, rain, noisy n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kristainco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

We had a fabulous dinner last night, in this quaint B&B, our third time here and always perfect. Food is delectable and just the perfect size portions, ambiance is like nothing else close by, and the service is top notch! We'll be coming back for many years!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Ski Tip Lodge this weekend as part of my fiance, John's birthday celebrations. Had a delicious, delicious dinner (though pricey, but hey, it was a special occasion) on Friday night, enjoyed dessert by the snuggly fireplace, where the room of fellow travelers who were doing the same sang happy birthday along with our server, as she presented him his dessert with a candle :) That's what this place does, though-- it makes strangers sing with you! Ski Tip really feels more like someone's cozy home in Austria that we've all been invited to. Following that great sweet top off to the meal, we sleepily climbed upstairs to our room. Can't beat that! Plus, the snow was falling like crazy (see my pic). What a little dream of a spot. We'll be back for sure!

Room Tip: I didn't love our location on the "road side" of the house because the street light is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindsB118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I don't know why I am writing this review - I really would prefer The Ski Tip Lodge to remain one of the best kept secrets of the Rockies.

Quite simply - it is fabulous. The bedrooms and bathrooms may be a bit small and quirky but this is a bed and breakfast and not a hotel. However the beds are terrific and the hospitality from every member of staff is beyond reproach.

The food in the dining room is some of the very best we have had in the United States. Wonderfully creative and yet not over complicated. This is complemented by a great wine list with lots of good value curiosities from around the world. This praise extends to the breakfasts which are excellent - need to lose a few pounds now that we are home.

Add to this mix the very cosiest lounges with roaring fires and good company then it is hard to think of anywhere else in Colorado that matches this experience. It is reminiscent of the best Swiss or Austrian mountain chalets but there is no mistaking that this is Colorado - "Alpine Americana"

We'll be back! I just hope it doesn't become so popular that we can't get booked next time!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlassAxis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Was a quaint place close to river run keystone. No TV. But great cozy room More like a bed and breakfast place. Food and service was excellent . Would love to go back in summertime. Beautiful surroundings. Price was very reasonable. You do have to take shuttle to ski area but very close. Would highly recommend to friends. A large group would have fun here hanging out in evenings in living room downstairs by fireplace.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lindamurray1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DENVER
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Such a charming spot! In the past few years I had eaten dinner here a couple of times and always really enjoyed it, so when a couple of my college friends decided to come out for a mini reunion, it seemed like a perfect chance to actually spend the night at The Ski Tip. We had the little two bedroom suite with a private bath, and it was lovely. The beds were exceptionally comfy and the complimentary breakfast was terrific. You really do feel transported back in time - no phones or TVs (the wifi was great, so if you really need to you can watch TV on your PC). My only complaint would be the noise as all the guests made their way to their rooms. This is an old building and the floors creaked as folks walked on them. The good news is, the inn is small so the noise came early and was short-lived. I absolutely plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

If Rick Steves recommended hotels in Colorado, he would surely recommend the Ski Tip Lodge. This little gem has many of the elements that Steves loves in the European hotels he recommends. Quaint charm. Friendly service. The chance to chat with fellow travelers while drinking a beer next to a roaring fire. A historical connection to Keystone. Indeed, you feel like you're in a guest haus in Murren or Saas Fee. As an added plus, the best restaurant in Keystone is part of this hotel. The breakfast that is included with your room price is fantastic (the duck Omelette was really yummy). If you want a $1,000 room at the Beaver Creek Ritz, with fake smiles, marble bathrooms, and exorbitant spa options, this might not be your place. But if you want something authentic, something comfortable and cozy, and something very convenient to the River Run gondola and lift, then look no further. And it's a great deal to boot.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanMcCoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
2.1 mi away
Keystone Lodge & Spa
Keystone Lodge & Spa
#1 of 6 in Keystone
4.0 of 5 stars 397 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alpine Slopes Lodge
Alpine Slopes Lodge
#2 of 6 in Keystone
4.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
10.7 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#3 of 21 in Breckenridge
4.5 of 5 stars 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Inn at Keystone
Inn at Keystone
#3 of 6 in Keystone
4.0 of 5 stars 214 reviews
1.3 mi away
No photo provided
Mountain House
#3 of 34 in Keystone
5.0 of 5 stars 7 reviews
0.7 mi away
River Run Village
River Run Village
#1 of 34 in Keystone
4.0 of 5 stars 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ski Tip Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ski Tip Lodge

Address: 764 Montezuma Rd., Keystone, CO 80435
Location: United States > Colorado > Keystone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ski Tip Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Ski Tip Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ski Tip Hotel Keystone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing