We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I shouldn't post this review!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ski Tip Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ski Tip Lodge to your Saves list
Ski Tip Lodge
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   764 Montezuma Rd., Keystone, CO 80435   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Keystone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“I shouldn't post this review!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I don't know why I am writing this review - I really would prefer The Ski Tip Lodge to remain one of the best kept secrets of the Rockies.

Quite simply - it is fabulous. The bedrooms and bathrooms may be a bit small and quirky but this is a bed and breakfast and not a hotel. However the beds are terrific and the hospitality from every member of staff is beyond reproach.

The food in the dining room is some of the very best we have had in the United States. Wonderfully creative and yet not over complicated. This is complemented by a great wine list with lots of good value curiosities from around the world. This praise extends to the breakfasts which are excellent - need to lose a few pounds now that we are home.

Add to this mix the very cosiest lounges with roaring fires and good company then it is hard to think of anywhere else in Colorado that matches this experience. It is reminiscent of the best Swiss or Austrian mountain chalets but there is no mistaking that this is Colorado - "Alpine Americana"

We'll be back! I just hope it doesn't become so popular that we can't get booked next time!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    9
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
14
25
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Was a quaint place close to river run keystone. No TV. But great cozy room More like a bed and breakfast place. Food and service was excellent . Would love to go back in summertime. Beautiful surroundings. Price was very reasonable. You do have to take shuttle to ski area but very close. Would highly recommend to friends. A large group would have fun here hanging out in evenings in living room downstairs by fireplace.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DENVER
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Such a charming spot! In the past few years I had eaten dinner here a couple of times and always really enjoyed it, so when a couple of my college friends decided to come out for a mini reunion, it seemed like a perfect chance to actually spend the night at The Ski Tip. We had the little two bedroom suite with a private bath, and it was lovely. The beds were exceptionally comfy and the complimentary breakfast was terrific. You really do feel transported back in time - no phones or TVs (the wifi was great, so if you really need to you can watch TV on your PC). My only complaint would be the noise as all the guests made their way to their rooms. This is an old building and the floors creaked as folks walked on them. The good news is, the inn is small so the noise came early and was short-lived. I absolutely plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

If Rick Steves recommended hotels in Colorado, he would surely recommend the Ski Tip Lodge. This little gem has many of the elements that Steves loves in the European hotels he recommends. Quaint charm. Friendly service. The chance to chat with fellow travelers while drinking a beer next to a roaring fire. A historical connection to Keystone. Indeed, you feel like you're in a guest haus in Murren or Saas Fee. As an added plus, the best restaurant in Keystone is part of this hotel. The breakfast that is included with your room price is fantastic (the duck Omelette was really yummy). If you want a $1,000 room at the Beaver Creek Ritz, with fake smiles, marble bathrooms, and exorbitant spa options, this might not be your place. But if you want something authentic, something comfortable and cozy, and something very convenient to the River Run gondola and lift, then look no further. And it's a great deal to boot.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitou Springs, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Beautiful, quaint, lovely little hideaway. Have stayed here many times over the years, always like going back. Sits in a pine forest, totallly peaceful, mountain views, very European/Alps feel. Best breakfast you could ever want. Service is fantastic, totally relaxing, wonderful experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

good food, OUTSTANDING service, in a charming building with wonderful views. our sole complaint: noise level. because the dining room has a very low ceiling, it doesn't take much for noise to become a problem -- especially for the hard-of-hearing. the next table was occupied by 4 women who seemed to compete with each other as to who could bray the loudest. it would have been a disaster for us had the service staff not been so accommodating by allowing us to move to a quieter (but not quiet) part of the room. i suspect noise level is a wild card ... there will be times when it's not a problem ... it'll depend on the other diners is in the room. having dessert and coffee in a comfortable lounge with wonderful views adds a lot to the experience ... this room is also a good place for a pre-dinner cocktail. your tab will be hefty, but ski tip is recommended for a special evening.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencer, Iowa, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were in the area looking for a fine dining restaurant and heard about Ski Tip Lodge. The reviews were good, but it was hard to tell what it was. We drove out and actually had a hard time finding it. (They need better signage)
We walked in and received a warm welcome and a great evening commenced. Service was the best in the area, we got great advice on the wine selections and the food was a WOW. We thought it was over when we had dessert in the fireplace room. How special. I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ski Tip Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ski Tip Lodge

Address: 764 Montezuma Rd., Keystone, CO 80435
Location: United States > Colorado > Keystone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ski Tip Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com and Travelocity so you can book your Ski Tip Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ski Tip Hotel Keystone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ski Tip Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.