We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love everything about the lodge and River Run area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dakota Lodge at River Run Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Dakota Lodge at River Run Village to your Saves list
Dakota Lodge at River Run Village
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   70 River Run Road, Keystone, CO 80435   |  
Hotel amenities
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Love everything about the lodge and River Run area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

We loved our time at the Dakota Lodge in River Run. We loved all of the shops and Big rocking chairs, the firepit, the restaurants, the hiking, swimming and relaxing!! We went in the summer, so no skiing for us this time.
Location is GREAT !!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
3
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

River Run was nice. Check in was kind of hard, because we got in late due to flights, and weather. But once I found where the check-in office was... it was no problem. We had a nice condo. With a fireplace (nice touch). The ski lift was not far, within walking distance. The food options were ok, but very overpriced. .. One place had draft beer $5 a glass! And Iced Tea for $3.50 ! So, pack an ice chest. Or there is a small grocery store. Very good time though.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2009

We stayed at Dakota Lodge (8477) in December 2009 for a long weekend with my relatives. It was very comfortable, really spacious and was very conveniently located to the lifts. Heated garage was nice. No complaints.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soledad
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

I booked my stay through Expedia and got a great deal. The location was wonderful and for all the amenities it was priced extremely well. Very clean.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2008

Our top floor unit #8540 was perfect for our family. It had vaulted ceilings, full kitchen, large dining room table, sleeper sofa, and a balcony with spectacular views of day and night skiing. You could also see the mountains from the two bedrooms. The lodge had a heated pool, two hot tubs, and a sauna. We stored our skis in the locker downstairs, and the building had a heated underground parking. We really enjoyed eating at the Wolf Rock Brewery, which is downstairs, and it was only a short walk to the Gondola. Highly recommend Dakota Lodge. We booked through vrbo.com and got a very reasonable rate.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2007

We selected the Dakota Lodge from the Keystone Resort website for our spring ski trip. We loved the condo with fireplace, the balcony overlooking the pool and hot-tubs, kitchen, living room and bedroom. Very well furnished and in great condition.

There were plenty of restaurants within walking distance, the gondola was only a few hundred yards away and the indoor parking was a nice convenience.

This is the closest lodge to the outdoor pool and hottubs, with great views of the slopes.

The trip from Denver International was only about 90 minutes, the check-in process was easy and the pre-purchase lift tickets made getting started a breeze.

We had lift tickets which were good for four days for five mountains. We used them at Keystone, Vail and Breckenridge.
Breck is only about 20 minutes away and Vail is about 35-40 minutes although we encountered a snow storm (good on a ski trip) so it was a little longer.

We liked Keystone best for our level of intermediate skiing and for best value for the price, especially because you have easy access to the other mountains. We didn't go but the pass included Copper, Beavercreek and the A- Basin.

Our favoriate restaurant was Kick-a-Poo although it was often crowded and service was slow, the food was good.

We would definitely go back again!

  • Liked — Location, hot tub, view
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2007

We visited Keystone over President's Day weekend this year for our 1st Colorado ski trip, and we all had a great time! All of our skiing has been in the midwest with Marquette Mountain in Marquette, MI being the biggest hill we've skiied prior to this trip. It was my husband and I along with our 2 kids, ages 14 and 12. Both are avid skiiers, but the 14 year old tried snowboarding for the first time through Keystone's ski/snowboard school. The next day, he was going down blue and black runs...I couldn't believe how well he did. By the way, I would definitely recommend booking any lessons on line. We waited about 5 minutes where the people who didn't have reservations probably had AT LEAST a 30 minute wait if not longer.

Anyway, the condo was AWESOME! It was very nicely decorated, had 2 bedrooms/2 bathrooms, and we had a view of the ski slopes. We booked it through VRBO, and had a very positive experience. My only complaint is that there wasn't the appropriate cookware in order to prepare a meal for 4. There were 2 small sized frying pans (About the size of 1 grilled cheese sandwich. ) a medium sauce pan. There was a casserole dish, but it had no lid. There was just no way to make a family dinner. Therefore, we brought takeout back to our condo. There were plenty of glasses, plates and silverware though. The outside hot tubs were nice after a hard day of skiing.

As far as Keystone goes, the runs can be challenging. The School Marm isn't hard at all...just long! My husband and I thought we were pretty good skiiers until we got to Colorado. We never encountered moguls until Keystone, and if i never saw one again, it would be too soon :) (The kids thought the moguls were fun) My son and I never got to go night skiing. We wanted to our first night, but they had to close down the lifts by 2pm because the winds were gusting over 80 mph. That stunk, but hey...you can't control the weather. Anyway, we had nice fresh powder the next morning, and since I-70 was closed most of the day before, it wasn't as crowded as we expected. My husband and my daughter went on our last night, and they had a good time. I was just too sore and tired.

One more tip. We rented our skis through Mountain View Sports, and we saved over $100 instead of renting at Keystone. It was just 2 minutes down the road from River Run, and it's right next to a liquor store. Since you gotta go to a Liquor store, you might as well get your skis at the same time :)

All in all, we had a great time. We would definitely go back to Keystone, and we would definitely stay at the Dakota lodge (in River Run village)

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dakota Lodge at River Run Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakota Lodge at River Run Village

Address: 70 River Run Road, Keystone, CO 80435
Location: United States > Colorado > Keystone
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dakota Lodge at River Run Village 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dakota Lodge is located in the heart of River Run Village at Keystone. Steps away from the gondola, restaurants, shops and River Run Village entertainment, The Dakota is the perfect Keystone location. An outdoor heated pool and hot tub is available, open year round with ski area and mountain views. The Dakota also offers pool table access at the neighboring Buffalo Lodge and a fitness center for your enjoyment. The Dakota Lodge at River Run is the perfect Keystone vacation location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Dakota Lodge at River Run Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakota Lodge At River Run Village Hotel Keystone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dakota Lodge at River Run Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.