We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keystone, CO was wonderful, my unit was not” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dakota Lodge at River Run Village

Save Saved
You added Dakota Lodge at River Run Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dakota Lodge at River Run Village
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   70 River Run Road, Keystone, CO 80435   |  
Hotel amenities
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Keystone, CO was wonderful, my unit was not”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Keystone is beautiful and the River Run Village was great. Dakota Lodge location was ok, a short walk to slopes. We were not happy with our unit 8514. The walls needed a paint job, the beds were horrible(mattress pad crinkled when moving), bathroom floor had black hair in corners(we are blonde), and the heat would not turn off even when we put it on the lowest setting. Our friends stayed in unit 8498 and it was big and very nice....stay in that unit if you want to be in the Dakota Lodge.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
3
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Just came back from a 3 night stay in a 1BR/2BA condo at Dakota Lodge. The view overlooked the heated pool/jacuzzi and the slopes. Across the street was the ice skating rink and it takes only 10 minutes to walk to the River Run gondola. The only con was the one elevator in a small hallway which gets crowded as it is near the ski lockers. Overall would recommend for families who want access to all the restaurants/shops in the River Run area and do not want to drive after checking in to their condo.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I had a wonderful time staying at the Dakota Lodge Dec. 7-14, 2013. My 2 bedroom/3 bath condo was very beautiful. It had two king size beds and a trundel bed with full size mattress. I probably was fortunate to get this condo because I ran a trip that had 31 individual staying in the village. We were in the Dakota Lodge, Buffalo Lodge and Expedition. Not all condos are the same. Some are much more spacious than others. Unfortunately we were there during some brutal low temperatures and the units' heating could not keep up with the cold weather. The management either gave each unit space heaters or tried to accommodate us with switching units when another became available. Each condo was given a bottle of wine upon arrival and if there was a problem it was fixed in a timely manner with a phone call to follow up on our request. There were not many Lodges that were very close to the mountain but it was a short walk and they even supplied wagons to help haul your equipment to and from your Lodge. We had a very good time and the whole mountain was open considering how early in the season it was for skiing. One thing that was different from any other place I've been is they don't supply housekeeping at all, just towel changes at midweek.

Room Tip: Top floor units seem to be more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

great loacation, short walk to lifts, near may restaurants to choose from. The 1bd 1bath is perfect size for couples. I would recc. atleast staying on the 3rd floor with a view of the mountain. One last tip it is worth the money to store your skis near the lift at the base of the mountain.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

When I booked with the Vacation person on the phone, I told them that we would have three kids and preferred to have something mountainside. They assured me that we were close to the mountain. The truth is that there is really no easy way to get to the base of the mountain without walking through the River Run village area. It is probably the furthest hotel in River Run (from the base of the mountain).

The layout of the hotel was also not very well thought out. The ski lockers are located directly across from the elevator. So, in the morning, there is a traffic jam trying to get off the elevator and get your skis along with 20 other people.

The condo itself was extremely tight as well. The living room felt cramped and the pull-out sofa was very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Arrived Wed., Dec. 28, for a 3-day ski trip in unit #8540 (2-bedroom, 2 bath, top floor, facing River Run slope). Everything was clean, decorated nicely and had a beautiful expanse of windows facing the slope. Our friends took the 2nd bedroom and found a window treatment broken. It took maybe 15 minutes for someone to show up to take a look at it, which really impressed us. The next night, we noticed that the baseboard heaters were cold (which may have been the case when we arrived but we didn't realize it due to running the fireplace a lot). Danny returned our call within minutes and sent someone to fix it within the hour. Wow!

Turns out the window treatment never got fixed but, all in all, we had a lovely time and thoroughly enjoyed the 5-minute walk to the gondola.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Council Bluffs, Iowa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Very nice facility but its unfortunate that management will never call you back. We drove in late on St. Pats day. when we went to pull into the garage went slow to make sure my Thule Ski hauler would clear the hieght bar which it did. Imagine my surprise when the pipes hanging in the parking garage Scrape the Hell out of my car topper!
I called while staying.No Call! Called when I got home. NO CALL BACK AGAIN!
Filled out survey from the condo and no email back! Its a shame because it is a really nice facility but the Clearance height bar is wrong and my $1500.00 car topper looks like it slid down the highway on its top at 65mph!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dakota Lodge at River Run Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakota Lodge at River Run Village

Address: 70 River Run Road, Keystone, CO 80435
Location: United States > Colorado > Keystone
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 35 Specialty lodging in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dakota Lodge at River Run Village 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dakota Lodge is located in the heart of River Run Village at Keystone. Steps away from the gondola, restaurants, shops and River Run Village entertainment, The Dakota is the perfect Keystone location. An outdoor heated pool and hot tub is available, open year round with ski area and mountain views. The Dakota also offers pool table access at the neighboring Buffalo Lodge and a fitness center for your enjoyment. The Dakota Lodge at River Run is the perfect Keystone vacation location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Dakota Lodge at River Run Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakota Lodge At River Run Village Hotel Keystone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dakota Lodge at River Run Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.