We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really ski-in / ski-out, More like haul-in/haul-out” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dakota Lodge at River Run Village

Save Saved
You added Dakota Lodge at River Run Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dakota Lodge at River Run Village
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   70 River Run Road, Keystone, CO 80435   |  
Hotel amenities
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not really ski-in / ski-out, More like haul-in/haul-out”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

When I booked with the Vacation person on the phone, I told them that we would have three kids and preferred to have something mountainside. They assured me that we were close to the mountain. The truth is that there is really no easy way to get to the base of the mountain without walking through the River Run village area. It is probably the furthest hotel in River Run (from the base of the mountain).

The layout of the hotel was also not very well thought out. The ski lockers are located directly across from the elevator. So, in the morning, there is a traffic jam trying to get off the elevator and get your skis along with 20 other people.

The condo itself was extremely tight as well. The living room felt cramped and the pull-out sofa was very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
3
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Arrived Wed., Dec. 28, for a 3-day ski trip in unit #8540 (2-bedroom, 2 bath, top floor, facing River Run slope). Everything was clean, decorated nicely and had a beautiful expanse of windows facing the slope. Our friends took the 2nd bedroom and found a window treatment broken. It took maybe 15 minutes for someone to show up to take a look at it, which really impressed us. The next night, we noticed that the baseboard heaters were cold (which may have been the case when we arrived but we didn't realize it due to running the fireplace a lot). Danny returned our call within minutes and sent someone to fix it within the hour. Wow!

Turns out the window treatment never got fixed but, all in all, we had a lovely time and thoroughly enjoyed the 5-minute walk to the gondola.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Council Bluffs, Iowa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Very nice facility but its unfortunate that management will never call you back. We drove in late on St. Pats day. when we went to pull into the garage went slow to make sure my Thule Ski hauler would clear the hieght bar which it did. Imagine my surprise when the pipes hanging in the parking garage Scrape the Hell out of my car topper!
I called while staying.No Call! Called when I got home. NO CALL BACK AGAIN!
Filled out survey from the condo and no email back! Its a shame because it is a really nice facility but the Clearance height bar is wrong and my $1500.00 car topper looks like it slid down the highway on its top at 65mph!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

We loved our time at the Dakota Lodge in River Run. We loved all of the shops and Big rocking chairs, the firepit, the restaurants, the hiking, swimming and relaxing!! We went in the summer, so no skiing for us this time.
Location is GREAT !!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

River Run was nice. Check in was kind of hard, because we got in late due to flights, and weather. But once I found where the check-in office was... it was no problem. We had a nice condo. With a fireplace (nice touch). The ski lift was not far, within walking distance. The food options were ok, but very overpriced. .. One place had draft beer $5 a glass! And Iced Tea for $3.50 ! So, pack an ice chest. Or there is a small grocery store. Very good time though.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2009

We stayed at Dakota Lodge (8477) in December 2009 for a long weekend with my relatives. It was very comfortable, really spacious and was very conveniently located to the lifts. Heated garage was nice. No complaints.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soledad
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

I booked my stay through Expedia and got a great deal. The location was wonderful and for all the amenities it was priced extremely well. Very clean.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dakota Lodge at River Run Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakota Lodge at River Run Village

Address: 70 River Run Road, Keystone, CO 80435
Location: United States > Colorado > Keystone
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dakota Lodge at River Run Village 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dakota Lodge is located in the heart of River Run Village at Keystone. Steps away from the gondola, restaurants, shops and River Run Village entertainment, The Dakota is the perfect Keystone location. An outdoor heated pool and hot tub is available, open year round with ski area and mountain views. The Dakota also offers pool table access at the neighboring Buffalo Lodge and a fitness center for your enjoyment. The Dakota Lodge at River Run is the perfect Keystone vacation location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Dakota Lodge at River Run Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakota Lodge At River Run Village Hotel Keystone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dakota Lodge at River Run Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.