We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best skiing in Colorado IMO” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Keystone Ski Area

Keystone Ski Area
P.O. Box 38, Keystone, CO 80435
800-222-0188
Update attraction details
Book Now

Ranked #2 of 12 attractions in Keystone
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas
Activities: Skiing, Snowboarding, Cross-country skiing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Extensive terrain covering three mountains offers a wide variety of trails for skiers plus other activities including snowshoeing, tubing, ice skating and snowboarding.
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Best skiing in Colorado IMO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

So I used to go here every year with family although I have not been in a couple years so I may not be the most up to date. I have skied/snowboarded other placed like Vail and Breckenridge and for me Keystone stand far and above the others. There are three mountains that just go back farther away from the entrance. The further back the less people and the more fun you have. There are tons of great long blue trails throughout the three mountains which is probably my favorite aspect of the park. Blacks on the third mountain are typically empty and a fun challenge. Schoolmarm is a super long green on the 1st mountain that is still fun and great for beginners. I broke my leg here once and the rescue service was great, hopefully you won't need that... They have great fast large lifts and gondolas as well! The terrain park is really nice and fun as well.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    101
    22
    7
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuart, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not good for beginners”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Great Ski resort was thought by my advanced skiing friend. As for me and my family- we are all beginners and this resort was not great. There seemed to be only one small learning area and it was at the middle of the mountain and very very small (like for small children). The next slope for beginners is a green but is very long. So for me as a newby...I could handle getting all the way down the mountain. I will definitely be visiting again once I am a little more advanced of a rider.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Maryland
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Excellent Ski Mountain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I was here early in the season and much of the mountain was not open yet. What was open was enjoyable. The gondola is convenient along with multiple high speed quads. I plan on coming back with our ski club. The on mountain restaurant had good variety.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Local's Review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Before reading my review, I just want to tell you that I do not work for Keystone or any of the Vail resorts. Okay, now this is what I think of Keystone as a true local.

Out of all the mountains in Colorado, Keystone is my favorite. No one resort can give you these two things at once, gondola to the summit and free parking.

I love the fact that I can take the gondola all the way to the summit, have a cup of hot apple cider at the information booth, and then snowboard all the way down to the bottom of the mountain. And then take off my board, rest my feet and legs during the gondola ride, and do it all over again going down the mountain from a different trail.

Safety is the key to snow sports. Take a look at how many staff members are on duty at any given time. Yes, they are all over the mountain and they are super friendly too.

Parking. Well I am not a fan of Vail's parking, it's expensive. In Breckenridge, you have to pay and take a long gondola ride to the ski area. So if you forget something in your car, then you are out of luck. On the other hand, in Keystone, you can park at the bottom of the mountain for FREE, take a short walk to the gondola, and start to enjoy the snow without the extra steps you have to take just to get to the ski area.

Try once, during a weekday, when you are the only person going down the mountain in Keystone during sunset, and having the beautiful red snow mountain all to yourself... I love Keystone!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Nice to be able to night ski!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We really liked the night skiing. The temperature was not too cold so we could ski in the morning, go to the condo have lunch and rest and ski again until it was night. Only got to test part of the area since everything was not open yet but it was very nice!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keystone Ski Area also viewed

 

Been to Keystone Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keystone Ski Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.