We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend this Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Expedition Station at River Run

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keystone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Expedition Station at River Run
Save
You added Expedition Station at River Run to your Saves list
River Run Rd, Keystone, CO 80435   |  
Hotel amenities
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend this Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Found a condo through VRBO, (listing for the unit here: http://www.vrbo.com/239557) And really enjoyed our stay. Location is great; within walking distance to the River Run Lift, and also river Run village (shops, etc.). Very short drive to everything else we wanted. This building has indoor parking for guests, so no fighting for spots or scraping ice or snow off your car. It has a pool and hot tub that we didn't take advantage of, but we did use the conveniently located ski lockers. This place is central, and clean and modern. Our unit was just right for two people with a great little kitchen. Will definitely stay here again when we next go to Keystone.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    14
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
2
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent the weekend at Expedition station and really enjoyed it. The complex is part of River Run and right next the skating rink were they pass out free cookies and have Ripperroo come everyday at 4pm. Condos are nicely furnished/tasteful and thankfully the bedding was decent quality as well (see my review of Gateway for the exact opposite). Also the high ceiling parking garage made it easy for our SUV with Yakima rack to park. One of my top places stayed at Keystone so far (out of ~10). Will be back.

Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We actually booked the condo through VRBO, but it's still managed by the Keystone resort group. The condo was nice, clean, and warm. Housekeeping did a good job of checking in with us so that we had everything we needed, and the front desk staff was also very friendly. We had a 2 bedroom unit on the second floor we shared with another couple, and we were all satisfied with the condo.

The condo is also in River Run village, meaning numerous restaurants, shops, and the gondola are within walking distance.

Overall, great condo, we'd stay here again, and would not hesitate on recommending this place to others.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The property was well positioned, convenient to slopes, shopping and dinner. The condo had adequate equipment to prepare a full Christmas dinner for my family. The management company, Summit Cove PM, were helpful and accommodating. The only problem we had was with Colorado Mountain Express, late on pickup and not really helpful. Hopefully, I will not have to use them again in the future. Another plus of the condo was underground parking which was great.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Michigan
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed at Expedition Station 8561. When we first arrived, I was bummed out. The video of the condo didn't show the garbage cans under the window or the electricity station right outside the window. It also didn't mention the underground garage doors being right under the condo and the fact that every time they opened, the floor shook and it made a loud noise. Then they sent us a survey to fill out on the second morning. I told them about the thermostat not working well and the pan in the kitchen being gross. They sent someone up to fix it right away. They even fixed the shower head that was weak. So my mind changed…..even though it was still loud with the garage door being opened and closed all the time. And we were facing the mountain too! ADVICE….if you are not used to the mountain altitude use a humidifier in the room. It really helped us a lot!!!

Room Tip: Get one that faces the mountain. It is great to see it every morning! Ask about how far it is to w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Had a very nice weekend stay in Keystone. Expedition Station has nice amenities, including a hot tub, heated pool, and pool table. The room was clean, kitchen well stocked, and had a fireplace to make it cozy. On top of everything, it is right in the River Run Village with restaurants, shops, and rentals as well as the main gondola within walking distance. We lucked out with a groupon and so the price was great.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We rented unit #8558 which was on the first floor, next to the ski lockers, which was very handy. The condo is a 1 bedroom, 1 bathroom condo. We were very ahppy with the location (walking distance to the gondola and ski schools) and in the downtown keystone / river run area. Lots of restaurants walking distance also. Parking was underground in a very dark, small garage. The condo is much smaller than it appears online in pictures. My big complaint was there was no place to unpack. There were two tiny nightstands and that was it. The closet was stuffed with odds and ends and there were 3 hangers. When I vacation for a week, it is much easier to be able to unpack for our family of four. The other issue was the murphy bed. You had to move the kitchen table and chairs in front of the fireplace in order to open this. The kitchen is a nice size and up to date. The lodge itself was clean. There is a pool table and a tv in a common area. Would be nice to have multiple washer / dryer units per floor. Both times we did laundry we had to use another floors. Would recommend expedition station and would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Expedition Station at River Run? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Expedition Station at River Run

Address: River Run Rd, Keystone, CO 80435
Location: United States > Colorado > Keystone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Keystone
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Expedition Station At River Run Hotel Keystone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Expedition Station at River Run, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.