We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Average Property” 3 of 5 stars
Review of River Run Village

Save Saved
You added River Run Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
River Run Village
3.5 of 5 Villa   |   150 Dercum Square, Keystone, CO   |  
Hotel amenities
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Average Property”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Just returned from a 5 night stay at the River Run. We were in the Silver Mill section. This is not a luxury resort so if you see it listed as such set your expecations for average ammenities.

Property - 2 Bdr. - The Bad
Very small and tight. If you have 4 people you will trip over each other.
Appliances out dated and very low end when purchased. Coffee didn't even come out warm.
Very poor sanity - we had pots/pans and dishes that wer coated with grease and other unidentified crud.
Maid service - given the poor situation you would think they would offer something - charge of $100usd if you would like maid service. That was a shock.
Fireplace kept breaking down, the solution was to keep our sliding door open.
The village has limited dining options.

The good:
Easy walk to the slopes
The lobby in our section was very nice with a pool table and sitting area witht he only flat screen probably in the entire area.
Staff was responsive, polite, and organized
Parking was right in the basement of our property and accessible - be careful if drive in the morning (prior to 9 am) you may get caught in the queue of people trying to go the the mountain

Dining in area:
River Run Pizza - slow but pretty good pizza. We had to go there twice so I had the meat lasagna - I reccomend as this exceeded my expectations.

Getting around:
there are free buses to get to different areas. About 45 minutes to Breckenridge. If you wanted to go into Dillon to shop, count on about 45 minutes each way with a lot of stops. There is no way to get to Vail, so if you want to go there you will need to make alternative arrangements. Hertz in Frisco is a one hour bus ride - we have been told that they will pick you up but you need to ask. Only a 15 minute drive.

the mountain:
Family mountain with beginner to intermediate terrain. If you are an expert skier, you may not be challenged.

Room Tip: Rooms over the parking lot can be noisy when snowing. The plows run the entire time and and make a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeystoneSecret, Manager at River Run Village, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
We promise to act like real people in all our interactions with guests. This includes responding to online reviews. It has become common place for normal people to act completely contray to their normal character when anonymously writing reviews. We forgive all of those who choose to bash and exaggerate. However, we will not agree that all guest reviews are true or fair. When we disagree, we will point out the areas that we disagree. We hope you do not interpret anything we say as a callous attitude. We are simply attempting to give a full perspective!

Here are a few things to consider.

1. Why do some guests consider X to be the absolute ruin of their vacation, but yet they did not find X problem significant enough to call us on the 24 hour phone number on the key card?

2. We are not a hotel. We do not claim to be a hotel. Our guests rent a condo (in most cases) that is owned by a regular person, with their personal stuff in it. The guest sees detailed pictures and write-ups of the specific condo before they make a decision to rent.

3. We do not control the building, the resort, the transportation or the weather. We are an independent company that manages condos for condo owners. That is what we do! We think it is unfair for anyone to redirect their anger or frustration about other things to us.

4. Most complaints mentioned on online forums were never brought to our attention and thus we were never given the opportunity to address the concern. Many things that are not our "Job" to fix, we will gladly assist our guests with. We want happy guests. Presumably guests come on vacation to have a happy time. Thus, we do not understand why some guests insist on being upset during their entire vacation because something is not perfect, when all they needed to do was call us so we could help get them back to having fun.

5. Unlike many place that have a "forced friendly" attitude, if our guests call us and are reasonable people, then we will walk through fire for them. BUT if a guest calls us and starts out with profanity and personal attacks, then we are not going to take the abuse and we will only do EXACTLY what we are REQUIRED to do. If a guest wants to yell and scream at the people who are trying to help them, then they need to pay a lot more to a place like the Ritz.

SPECIFIC RESPONSE:

It is possible that a mistake was made when the condo you stayed in was cleaned. We are human, but if something is brought to our attention we will address it immediately. As for charging for extra cleaning... Yes, we do charge a fee (not $100) if a guest wants a full clean during their stay. We charge and you pay for a "CHECKOUT CLEAN." That is what you agreed to and that is what we charge. About 1 in 300 guests want more than this and we offer it as an option for an extra fee. We think this is better than forcing all guests to pay more for their stay, even when they do not want extra cleaning. Also, most guests do not want strangers trouncing through all their belongings while the family "lives" in a condo for a week.

Silvermill is an upscale building and each condo is individually owned. Most of the condos are much larger than a hotel room and feature full kitchens. Many condos are highly upgraded. A few condos have the same stuff in them from when they were built in the late 90's. Every condo is individually marketed with photo's and write-ups. If you chose a condo that was not highly upgraded, that was your decision and you no doubt received a better nightly rate than a condo that was upgraded to the max.

Property size: The smallest two bedroom is 850 square feet. Large 2 bedroom are up to 1800 square feet. Larger condos rent for more. All bedrooms will fit king sized beds, but some owners have queens (bed sizes are stated in all ads). All living rooms have a breakfast table, couch, and at least another piece of furniture. Small is a relative concept. A two bedroom ideally sleeps 4 people, but you can get more people in there if you don't mind using the sleeper sofa or air mattresses. Unlike most other competitors, we do not charge for extra occupants. We rent the property. You decide how you would like to use it.

The fireplace pilot light in this unit blows out easily due to the high winds in the mountains and a defect in the chimney. We know this is annoying, but short of major renovations, the best solution is to equalize the pressure in the condo by cracking the balcony door.

Your right the village should have more than 5 restaurants. Unfortunately it does not, but there are many restaurants all around Keystone, many are walking distance. There are at least 12 restaurants within walking distance.

Thanks for noticing the lobby. The home owners association renovated this area last year and spent several hundred thousand dollars on it. They spent their money well on new flooring, new furniture, a new pool table, new electronics and professional interior design.

Your evaluation of the transportation system is pretty accurate. If a guest is taking a shuttle in then there is an excellent busing system (people actually use), which will get you anywhere in the county. If you look at the bus schedule, it only takes about 10 minutes to get to Dillion and no more than 30 minutes to get to Breck. If you prefer not to use public transportation, then the resort shuttle will get you anywhere in Keystone in 5 minutes. 99% of folks who would rent a car would not do so at Hertz in Frisco. They would rent a car from one of the outfits at the Denver International Airport (DIA).

Your assessment of the Keystone ski areas is pretty accurate in terms of beginners, but Keystone has 3 mountains. The back two mountains are all Intermediate and Advanced terrain. Perhaps you did not venture over to these areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    25
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
32
13
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We rented a 2 bedroom condo and I was expecting more. The second bedroom had an tv unit without a tv. The TVs are not flat screens. Appliances in the kitchen are outdated. Overall it is clean and the location to the mountain is really great. Just expected more for the "premier lodging" at keystone

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeystoneSecret, Manager at River Run Village, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
We apologize for the TV mixup. The TV was in the process of being replaced with a flat screen. We understand your frustration and are sorry for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We just stayed at River Run Village and had a great time! The facilities were great and very close to the mountain. The only complaint I had was that my credit card was charged a deposit of $50 as well as the whole price of the hotel 3-4 weeks in advance of our trip. I prefer to pay the day we leave, similar to hotel. But other than that, it was very clean and very spacious! Great place!

Room Tip: Look for Expedition Station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We booked a condo in red hawk lodge through seymour lodging. Seymour is an excellent condo manager and I expect any unit you rent through them will be managed in the same way. They were responsive to all our needs, we had to rent a crib and they arranged it for us with one phone call. Our key became un usable and they delivered another one. The check in was super easy. Drive to their office, go in a key box and grab your key and all your instructions and go. The condos around River Run are not really showing their age as far as I can tell. I have stayed in three different buildings over the past five years and they remain clean, comfortable and well maintained. River Run is without peer for a family. Red Hawk lodge in particular has enjoyed an upgrade in the form of its proximity to the gondola. The gondola base was moved directly across the parking lot from the Springs and Red Hawk lodge. It takes less than five minutes to walk slowly to the gondola. The community wagons for hauling skis and children are a great addition. Its kind of hard to find one when it is busy over Christmas, but they have many of them and they keep moving them to where they need to be with pick up trucks. Keystone overall is probably the best family ski resort in the country, possibly the world. There are activities for small children and night skiing for teenagers. Great ski vacation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

We are a family of four and stayed in a one bedroom condo in River Run. Our section was the Buffalo section. Plenty of room even with the kids on the pull out couch. Condo was clean, quite and had a great view. A perfect location. We never had to drive anywhere. All restaurants were steps away, out front doors was the anytime ice skating was super fun and the ski lifts/ gondola were so close. We walked steps to every thing!! It's nice not having to lug all our rented equipment all over the place! If you have kids, this is the perfect location for going back and forth to the room whenever needed. Several times I had to go back for something somebody forgot and it was an easy fix.

We had to call the staff for a few things and they were so friendly and helpful. We loved how the condo was decorated. So cute!

Next visit we pass on the rental car and just use their airport shuttle service.

We have asked several friends to join us next year and we are defiantly staying at River Run! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Bumbled into the Keystone Wine and Jazz Festival on Sunday, May 15th and decided at 5pm to stay the night. Called the reservation desk and got a 1 bedroom condo for the night without any problems. A computer glitch said the room was ready, but it wasn't - so after a short wait in the lobby of Red Hawk we were escorted to our new room, # 2216, which was clean and ready. Red Hawk is a fairly quiet condo building with a pool, fitness room, and 2 hot tubs.
The next morning, I forgot to grab my pillow (I always take my own pillow because of neck pain). Realized our oversight that evening, called Keystone which said they would notify the housekeeping staff. The next morning, housekeeping called, they had found my pillow and shipped it fed ex back to me. Now that's customer service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Yes, River Run Village is right there at the base, in the heart of it. Everything that Keystone Resort offers is at your fingertips, like mediocre overpriced restaurants, overpriced shops, loud and crowded bars, and skiing.

And yes, River Run's units are new and comfortable. Well, they LOOK comfortable anyway. The beds are fitted with coarse sheets made of material that you might find wrapped around potatoes. The pillows match. As do the towels.

The check-in process is that of your typical corporate-run resort lodging. It's not a hotel after all. It's a quasi time-share thing, where the forced-friendly desk clerks arrange for your keys, but they're not somehow responsible for your satisfaction, because it's individually owned by some dude in Sarasota or Taipei.

The walls ARE paper thin, and if you're put in a room close to the mighty loud bar, 9280' - you will not find sleep until they close.

All that said, if you come to Keystone to ski and hang out with skiers (and snowboarders), by all means stay here. It's super convenient. Just bring ear plugs, and absolutely positively tell them IN ADVANCE that you want to be as far from 9280 as possible. The desk clerk will get it. They don't seem to like them much either.

If you're NOT there to immerse yourself in the full-time alpine fun, don't submit yourself to the subpar comfort. My hunch is you're better off up the road at the lovely Keystone Lodge and Spa.

Room Tip: Stay as far away from the bar (9280') as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeystoneSecret, Owner in Resort at River Run Village, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
I am an owner of a property in Keystone, specifically the River Run area. I also own a property management company that specializes in renting condos in Keystone. My company does not manage the condo that is reviewed, but I feel I still have some valuable insight to offer potential guests.

1. The eating establishments in River Run are not bad, but they are not great either. For the most part they are exactly what you would expect and what they claim to be. If you want some really great food, there are several places within two minutes, especially The Snake!

2. Not all condos are created equal. Every condo is owner by a normal person, not the resort, not a hotel chain, not a timeshare setup...just normal people who own second homes.

3. If you rent a condo you will undoubtably rent from one of the following parties: a) the resort management company. This is the closest thing you will get to a hotel. You will pay the most from this outfit and get services on par with a mid-grade hotel. This company manages about 40% of the condos in Keystone b) Independent management company (like mine)! You will pick the specific condo you want with the stuff that matters to you. You can pay less and get less or pay more and get more. c) Individual owners, you may get the rock bottom lowest price from the owner (maybe not), but if something goes wrong there may not be very good or any procedures in place to help resolve your issue.

4. The checkin process that is refereed to in this review is accurate as far as booking directly through the resort. But even my friendly competitors from this company will do quite a bit to help out guests. If this particular guest felt like he was given excuses, all I can say is that this is not typical. People have bad days and sometimes people are hired who have no business being in customer service. Even though all businesses try to find the right kind of people for each job type, sometimes it just does not match up and it takes time for even the best managers to figure this out.

5. The bar 9280 is no more. I quieter establishment now occupies this space. The walls are not paper-thin. In fact, the are made of concrete.

6. Keystone is a large resort with many types of accommodations. If you want a hotel type experience, the Lodge and Spa is probably your best bet. If you want a home, those are offered too and if you want something in between, then a condo is the way to go.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to River Run Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Run Village

Also Known As:
River Run Village Hotel Keystone
River Run Village Hotel
Address: 150 Dercum Square, Keystone, CO
Location: United States > Colorado > Keystone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Specialty lodging in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — River Run Village 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Run Village is located at the base of the gondola at the Keystone Ski Area. River Run is the most sought after lodging destination in the Keystone area not only for its location but also because of all the shops, restaurants and nightlife located just steps from the condominium front door! Enjoy the ease to get to and from the ski area during the winter months and all of the Keystone events that occur all summer long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your River Run Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Run Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.