We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two super golf courses at Keystone Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Keystone Ranch Resort

Keystone Ranch Resort
10 miles past Dillon, CO, Keystone, CO
303-468-4250
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 13 Attractions in Keystone
Type: Resort Communities, Golf Courses, Ski/ Snowboard Areas
Activities: Golfing
Attraction Details
garland, tx
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Two super golf courses at Keystone Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Keystone offers the perfect summer getaway for golfers, bikers, hikers, fishermen or anyone that simply wants to escape heat and humidity and enjoy the beauty of the Rocky Mts. in the summer.
Keystone offers two entirely different golf courses. The older course, Keystone Ranch, is a Scottish links style course winding through a valley and an old working ranch. Par 72 with traditional designs by Robert Trent Jones, Jr. A great test of golf.
The newer course, The River Course at Keystone Resort, is shorter and more scenic with huge elevation changes. It's a par 71 with some very tough par 3's and at downhill 500 yard par 4 16th hole that is a special challenge.
I enjoy both courses equally. Our visitors seem to prefect the River Course due to the elevation changes and the scenery. But both are great courses.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    7
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Great trial ride, with easy horses”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Nice one hour ride, they offer 2, 3, and 4 hour rides as well. The horses are well taken care of, the trail is filled with wild flowers. It has rained often in Summit County this summer, so the wild flowers are abundant. This was our third time visiting the Kestone Stables, so obviously we enjoy their stable.

I rode Hunter/Jumpers until I was 20 years old, so I would have enjoyed "a little more horse" but hey these are quiet trail horses that grandma or a 5 year old can ride. They are actually priceless, very hard to find nice quiet horses that are not in the least bit barn sour. We had a great time!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great hiking and mountain biking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Hiked and biked all around the Keystone Ranch trails north of Keystone Resort. Sad to see the pine beetle damage but still incredible views and scenery. Locals very cool and helpful - some resort areas can carry some arrogance. Definitely would return.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The River Course at Keystone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We just played the River Course at Keystone and found it to be fun and challenging. The scenery is absolutely beautiful and course was in incredible shape. The golf pro and his staff were very accommodating and the grill was a great place to grab a bite afterwards. If you're in the area, it's a great golfing experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument, Colorado
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Keystone Ranch Golf - very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We always play at the Keystone Ranch course every summer as we have the Colorado VIP golf book (2 for 1). Greens fees for when we visited were $125 so that is a nice savings. The course is in a very pretty valley, no sweeping vistas but nice views. They had a tournament the day were were there so things were a bit slow and with the afternoon rains we only got in 17 holes. The course is in good shape with many natural areas - forget about looking for an errant ball. Green conditions can change during the day, slow at first then way too fast, a tap sends the ball flying. Also many greens have multiple breaks, the course info cards in the cart help but greens are a challenge. The restaurant is nice and you can order a sandwich at the turn.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keystone Ranch Resort also viewed

 

Been to Keystone Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keystone Ranch Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.