We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I like to call it Mountain Grunge” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Spoon Cafe

Spoon Cafe
195 River Run Rd, Keystone, CO 80435-7794
970-468-9394
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 31 Restaurants in Keystone
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
stoxabc
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“I like to call it Mountain Grunge”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

More of a place for locals or those who look like locals to hang out. Small restaurant decent food. The waiters and cooks were acting kind of wild like they were drinking with the rest of us...kind of weird vibe. Right off the slopes but, lower end.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    12
    6
    4
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Braunfels, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“If you want to drink, you're set”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Arrived around 7 and, while there were a number of people at the bar, there were only two or three tables occupied. We stood around for 5 minutes and no one working there would acknowledge us, as they were busy slinging drinks. So we picked up some menus that were sitting at the end of the bar and started looking through them and still no one was interested in helping us. We thought maybe we had gone to the wrong end, like maybe there was a host station on the other end of the bar. Went down there and still a whole lotta nothing, so we gave up and left. I guess if you want to sit and drink, you will be covered. If you want to eat, good luck.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Only thing good here is the view.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

On our 2nd trip to Keystone we wanted to try a place we had not eaten at. We had noticed the Spoon before, easy it is right at the base and stopped in for lunch. Even though it was not very busy the staff took a long time to acknowledge us. Longer still to bring drinks. We both ordered soup that was promoted as homemade. I am pretty sure it came out of a can. Adding a bunch of extra salt and garlic dopes not make it homemade. It was awful, they made up for it by overcharging us. It was pretty pricey to begin with.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good stop for a quick lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

A small restaurant in the village. This is a good spot for a cold beverage and quick bite to eat. The staff was great.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Better than its ratings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This place deserves much more credit than it's rating (which I have hopefully bumped up). The spoon is not glamorous, it's not good for large groups, the menu isn't the largest but what the spoon does do it does well. So, what does it do well? The service for one, you're in a "bar" this is not a steakhouse. The "gnarly" dudes that work here are super friendly and were on there game with taking care of us. What else do they do well? Food. No, it's not the best thing i've ever had in my life but it did a darn good job of satisfying me after a day of skiing. I had the smoked Salmon..it was delicious, perfect, surprisingly perfect I must say. Hubby had the pulled pork burrito, he loved it. Pricing is average for the area so I can't complain about that. This is definately a "younger crowd" kind of place. Music, beer and comfort food. If you want fancy there is no shortage of steakhouses in Keystone that would love to take your money.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spoon Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Spoon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spoon Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.