We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colorado's little secret” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arapahoe Basin

Arapahoe Basin
U.S. Highway 6, Keystone, CO 80435
970-468-0718
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 Attractions in Keystone
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Outdoors
Activities: Skiing, Snowboarding
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Popular ski area boasts a long ski season, from November to June, and offers the highest skiable terrain on the North American continent.
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Colorado's little secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

A-Basin has a lot of steep and technically challenging terrain. It doesn't have a whole lot to offer beginners, but if you are more into skiing than being a tourist, check it out. The lifts are set up to provide easy access to some steep terrain. If you're feeling ambitious, you can also do some hiking to find some fresh powder. Tip: visit A-Basin in February or March to get the best Colorado snow. A lot of the best skiing is only available once it has snowed.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    30
    6
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Ski A-Basin in November 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

My first time at A Basin.
Two lifts were open and with new snow more runs opening daily.
The mid-way chalet has easy access to the BR which is important at my age (60) and great food service too - have the bison stew.
All the personal were great at their jobs and friendly.
Ben - great lesson - thanks again.
I would really like to come back when the whole mountain is open - we will see - it is a long drive from Regina Sask.
Lastly what a friendly bunch of tourists and locals riding the lift! I enjoyed the conversations and exchanges of pleasantries almost as much as the skiing.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very nice setting with open space skiing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Nice open slopes, unspoiled nature with high mountain around and tree line, beautiful views from the cold top, satisfactory mountain house and muddy parking at the base. The ski area and slopes remind us a European ski areas. No accomodation at the basin -you have to stay at Keystone( 10 min away).

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Basin!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The BEST views I have ever seen from any peak in Colorado. Every winter I always went Snowboarding there. Funny thing to pay attention is the race that Abasin and Loveland to see who opens first. And is so close to Denver.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keystone, Colorado
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Arapahoe. ...the Legend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Best all around mountain in Colorado, just like 1960s...The best is when Montezuma back bowl is open for advanced skiers. Great food and drink at reasonable prices.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arapahoe Basin also viewed

 

Been to Arapahoe Basin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arapahoe Basin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.