We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steak.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bighorn Bistro & Bar

Bighorn Bistro & Bar
@ Keystone Lodge, Keystone, CO 80435-7902
(970) 496-4386
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bighorn Bistro & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 31 restaurants in Keystone
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Tulsa,Ok
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great steak.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Goat cheese dolled up well. The filet was such a good cut, no fat gristle getting in the way of the great taste. I don't even eat asparagus, but even it was tasty. The chocolate mouse cake was small, rich, and delicious. The server was sweet and friendly. But as we are discovering in this part of Colorado, service is slow. I have to say the food was worth the wait though.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    17
    19
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“View was Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We had a great table right by the window. The gorgeous view did not make up for my very poor dinner. They did the right thing and took my dinner and wine off the bill. I ordered the house salad and Striped Sea Bass which was recommended by a server. My husband had Lamb meddalions. House salad was good but had a big strange piece of very sweet peanut brittle type thing on it. I thought is was hard cheese and was disappointed. It ruined the salad. My Entree should never have been served...it was sad. There was about 3-4 bites of fish..thin and with a fried coating. They offered to make something else but that would have been too long to wait and you lose your desire. My husband's dinner was good. I would say give it a try but the server did say something about the apprentices who were working! Others around us seemed happy with thir meals. Just bad luck for me!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landing, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nancy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had my son's small rehearsal dinner here with a table for 13. The dinners were delicious and the view of the lake and mountains was simply amazing. The presentation of the entrees was lovely, as was the service. It was a perfect choice for this important night.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Amazing on around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was once of best steakhouses I've been to. Everything was perfect all around. I would reccommend this everyone looking for nice dining option while in Keystone.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Fl
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ambience is great, that's about it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The location is beautiful, right next to the skating rink. If you are lucky, your table will overlook it. Gorgeous view. We ate here last year, and came back just for the pretty waiting area outside the restaurant, and for the view at night.
However we had forgotten how lackluster the food/service was. My husband had a steak both times and it was just alright. I got some scallop dinner and it was way too salty and didn't eat it. My son's child's hamburger was just a hamburger, he didn't finish it. I ate it because I was hungry. The bread some of the other posters mention was the highlight.

One thing we always remember though, is the aloof service. We had received the same aloof uncaring attitude from the male server last year that we got from the female one this year. Like they could care less you are here or what you think of them, nothing but the basics. I would expect more considering the cost of the food.

I suppose there aren't too many nice restaurants in Keystone, or at least we haven't found any yet...so if there is no where else, I would suggest this place for the ambience alone. We are done coming here though. Twice in two years was enough.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bighorn Bistro & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Bighorn Bistro & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bighorn Bistro & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.