We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the slopes” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Slopeside Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Keystone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Slopeside Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1211 Keystone Road, Keystone, CO 80435   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Keystone
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Close to the slopes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I stayed here for a week while attending a Keystone symposia. The decor and furnishings are dated but the room was clean and everything worked. Two things I found annoying was that it felt like the headboard was about to fall off the bed and was therefore a bit noisy and there didn't seem to be any sound protection from the floor above. My understanding is that they have a block of rooms for the Symposia bookings, 2737 certainly didn't look as if it was privately owned. Great location for skiing though, a short walk (completely possible in ski boots) to the lift. Fifteen minute icy walk to the conference centre or you could call for a shuttle. Stayed here ten years ago and would stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the carpark get more sunshine and have a spectacular view of the mountains opposite the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
5
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Location of condo near base of mountain and lifts is great but still a hassle to carry skis and having to walk down some flights of steps from condo to lifts and back especially with young kids at the end of a tiring day. In fact, Keystone has very good free bus shuttle service that will pick you up from the many Keystone managed accomodation and drop you off at the ski lifts - which is shorter distance than having to walk from Slopeside condo. So if you can find alternate accommodation that is newer and better value than Slopeside then go for it (as long as the shuttle services the accommodation). If you drive, parking is even closer to lifts but you have to pay for parking.

Also, our condo is small and not very clean. Sofa bed was filthy so management provided free rollaway bed which unfortunately was also not very clean.

Hill grooming and snow blowing noises were minimal. If you have to stay here, ask for a third floor corner unit to avoid noises from neighboring units.

Given the premium price we paid for choosing Slopeside being at the base of the mountain, we will not stay here again but will look for a newer lodge style unit within Keystone with free shuttle.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We skied in Keystone during Christmas Break 2013. We stayed in Slopeside Condo unit 2738. I knew in advance that this was budget lodging. The unit was a one room studio with a Murphy bed and a pull out couch. There was updated furniture and the unit was clean but otherwise dated. The pull out couch was terrible as expected. The Murphy bed was tolerable. The efficiency kitchen had a mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, crock pot, and 2 burner range. There was no oven. There were two hot tubs with a mountain view but one lacked Jacuzzi function.
The prime reason to stay here is the less crowded Mountain House area and close walk to slopes. It is close enough to return for lunch. Although the unit was average, the location is superb. Free ski lockers within steps of the unit were appreciated. Free bus transportation between areas was reliable and friendly.
If you take it for what it's worth, the units are good lodging for budget travelers.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn Hills, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We just returned from our stay at Mountain House-Slopeside Condos in Keystone, CO. We stayed in Condo #2800, which had two bedrooms and one bathroom. I thought the condo was decently decorated and we didn't experience any of the noise of hill grooming or snow blowing that others had written about. The bedrooms do get quite warm, so turn down the thermostat quite a bit before going to bed.
I thought the kitchen was a decent size and suited our needs - which was having all breakfasts and most lunches at the condo (and we have two teenagers, lol).
I only have two complaints and neither has to do with this nice condo unit.
One: This is not a true ski in ski out condo, as advertised. You will have to walk down stairs, down a ramp way, across a small bridge then across a small resort road and through or around the Mountain House to get to the lifts. Early in the season (we went for Thanksgiving weekend), there was only one lift of the two open at Slopeside. ALL ski school classes, except for very small children and first timers are all located at River Run. Any activities such as Tubing and the Snow Cat tours are also, guess where, yes - back at River Run. So, next time we will just stay at River Run and save ourselves the constant shuttling back and forth from Mountain House Slopeside to River Run.
Two: Beware of requesting late check out. I requested late check out (and we were prepared to pay for this) when I booked the reservation a month prior to our trip. I called the day we were leaving for the trip to make sure that Late Check was noted on the system (they said it was). I called the night before our departure back home to find out what time our Late Check out was and was told they could not tell me my options until the morning of. I called first thing in the morning to then be told I couldn't have a late check out! Ugh! I could've packed up the night before had this information been told to me 10 hours prior when I called.
All of that being said - we will return but will stay in River Run area instead. The staff at the lifts, driving the busses, working at the ski school, etc. were all wonderful! The slopes were great and snow cat tour was amazing! Tubing was okay (we've had better in other places) but the staff was still fun and nice. Happy Skiing!

Room Tip: Condo #2800 had no noise problems (in November) and was decently decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I understand that each condo/townhouse is individually owned and decorated. That said, I'm not aware that renters going through a travel agency like Southwest Airlines Vacations can choose.

Our condo was decent. The murphy bed was more comfortable that I expected. The kids made do in the pull out but I doubt an adult would have slept well.

The kitchen was OK for simple breakfasts but anything more than the basics and you will run out of room and amenities. Quite a mixed assortment of dishes, bowls, cups and mugs. I'm not sure there was a matching pair in the cabinets.

The pullout did not come equipped with sheets and blankets and a call to the condo front desk did not promise a resolution for almost two hours (short staffed) but the guy was there 30 minutes later.

There were a few stray hairs in the bathroom that kind of grossed me out.

We would book here again given the proximity to the slopes and price although we will probably look for a one bedroom as opposed to the efficiency.

No complaints as to noise but we were one the back side of the unit. I'm not sure it would have mattered as we usually fell asleep at 9:00 from sheer exhaustion.

The jacuzzi's really need some maintenance or to be replaced. Both were leaky and it was impossible to decipher how to turn on the jets.

Room Tip: If you can call the travel agent to get some information on the unit- last refurb, location (away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, MN
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Keystone was a beautiful place to be!

We booked through keystone lodge and spa, thought we were staying there. Didn't understand this was a separate building with better location to mountain. Kind of a draw back that they are all private owned/rented condos because they vary room to room but ended up ok. Bed/sheets were clean. Walls were dusty in corners. Bathrooms outdated but fully functional. Kitchen convenient.

Overall we'll return. Friends stayed in river run and paid double us and we were only a 2 minute free shuttle ride from them (and we had underground parking included).

Location is right on slopes with ski lockers. Dillon, frisco and Breck short drives.

Only negative, hot tubs close at 10 pm with locks. Bummer when dinners are later with night skiing.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I loved our studio apartment. The balcony was perfect for loading up the kids to go skiing. We had a king bed and a pull out couch. The only downfall was no oven. For some reason they put in a mini fridge even though there was already a full size fridge.

Room Tip: If you don't like your room, go back and ask for a room change. They are all vastly different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Slopeside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slopeside Lodge

Also Known As:
Slopeside Hotel Keystone
Slopeside Hotel
Address: 1211 Keystone Road, Keystone, CO 80435
Location: United States > Colorado > Keystone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Slopeside Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can't get closer to the slopes than Slopeside Condominiums in Keystone! Located steps away from the Mountain House ski area base at Keystone, Slopeside Condominiums is a can't miss for the budget minded traveler! Not only located close to the ski area, Slopeside is also walking distance to many restaurants and bars in the Mountain House area located adjacent to Highway 6. Don't want to walk? The complimentary Keystone shuttle will take you anywhere you want to go within the resort! Two common area outdoor hot tubs are located onsite offering amazing ski area views to rest your weary muscles after a hard day on the slopes! Complimentary wifi, underground parking, ski storage and coin operated laundry facilities are also located within the building for your convenience. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slopeside Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Slopeside Lodge to your Saves list