We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not exactly what i expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Snake River Saloon

Snake River Saloon
23074 Us Highway 6, Keystone, CO 80435-7725
970-468-2788
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 31 restaurants in Keystone
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not exactly what i expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

This place was half bar and the other half appeared to be "high class". Appearances can be very deceiving, the food was mediocre at best and the price was way too much! My daughter ordered lasagna from the kids menu and i ordered the same, hers was $5 and my mine was $25.....the same exact serving size, and it tasted far from being homemade as described. The food just wasn't that good!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

59% Recommend
    24
    27
    15
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Hearty & Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

The Snake River Saloon is conveniently located on Route 6 in the heart of Keystone. It is family owned and the staff was all very friendly and attentive. The food was delicious: I had salmon over rice that was moist and flavorful; my son at a filet mignon that was juicy and tasty. Both desserts (chocolate surprise and mousse) were large and flavorful. Nice ambiance. Small critique was milk instead of cream for the coffee.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Great place to eat and enjoy the entertainment. A little over priced, but over all a good environment and pleasant experinence

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“A Bit Over Priced, Lacking Variety”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

There was one soup available, cream cheese leek. I passed on it. No hamburgers or lighter fare so we all ordered meat dishes.

The Food:

I had the baby backed ribs which were good and a generous portion. I had to send back the potatoes au gratin as it wasn't my thing and I'm not sure what it was. My wife's T-bone steak was ok, nothing great but the prime rib was good. The children's portions were generous but the quality was on the lower side. The child's lasagna was swimming in sauce and the hamburger patty was rated 3 out of 10 by my daughter. The child's prime rib was a nice cut and tasty.

The Service:

The service was good. The waitress was accommodating and friendly.

The Ambience:

Out-dated, and rustic.

The Value:

Disappointed everything was al la carte for this type of restaurant. Did not meet our expectations of a steak house and salads should have been included.

Overall:

I would recommend sprucing up the décor and expanding the menu including light fare dishes. This is not a high end steak house to limit the menu like one is restricting. In ski country I think many would crave a variety of soups. Offering cream cheese leak as the only choice is a bit daring and I had no desire to take a chance.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Never Ever Again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Our group arrived for dinner at 530. Waited more than 5 minutes for someone to appear. Our waiters breath almost made me faint, terrible gingivitis. Apparently personal hygiene is not a requirement for the wait staff. The homemade bread and honey butter was good. Pork chop was dry and raw around the bone, how is this possible ?The ribs were very fatty and the prime rib was terrible, no veggie option, baked potato was the only good thing we had. The food quality is very poor and $30 an entree + salad or soup is an extra charge. This was my third and last time to ever return. Each time I hoped for some improvement only to be disappointed. Shame on you Jim Shields, your poorly run low quality over priced food leaves visitors and potential owners questioning whether to ever return to Keystone. Your not only hurting yourself but the community as a whole.

Tried and True: Pizza 101, Luigi's pasta, Wolf Rock Steakhouse, Bighorn Steakhouse, Haywood Cafe.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snake River Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Snake River Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snake River Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.