We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“$31 Dog Treat : (” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Snake River Saloon

Snake River Saloon
23074 Us Highway 6, Keystone, CO 80435-7725
970-468-2788
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 37 Restaurants in Keystone
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Broomfield, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“$31 Dog Treat : (”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Just got back from dinner at Snake River Saloon with a group of folks. The setting is okay---little wooden chairs and linen table cloths. I ordered a filet medium rare. It was the worst cooked steak I've ever had. I tried one bite and could not chew the overcooked little ball of meat. I've never sent a meal back, before tonight---but this was awful. Instead of the bernaise sauce promised on the menu--- a thick gooey brown sauce in a cup that tasted like beef bouillon thickened with corn starch accompanied the overcooked filet. The "twice baked potato casserole" was something out of a box and very salty.

To add insult to injury the waiter charged full price and the manager couldn't pick up and run my credit card fast enough. Some dog in Keystone has a nice chewy piece of meat courtesy of me! There are much better places to eat for a more reasonable price in Dillon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    41
    21
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Storrs, Connecticut, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cozy Drinks and Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My husband and I were staying in Keystone when two locals recommended that we try the Saloon for dinner. We were fortunate to arrive during happy hour at the bar and decided to settle down there after we saw the foosball table. We decided to try their fettucine alfredo and spaghetti/meatballs. The service was excellent and timely, and the food was savory and fulfilling. They changed the channel to the Rockies game upon request. We did think the prices were a little extravagant at $9 a plate (9% tip here too yikes!) but in the end we did enjoy our time. Foosball costs three quarters for eight balls so make sure to bring your change!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We had rainbow trout and prime rib, it was very good. The service was prompt. Our bill came up to $82 for prime rib with vergatables, trout with a baked potato, 1 glass of wine, 2 beers, 1 decaf coffee, one piece of very rich chocolate cake. Soup/salad was extra, so we skipped it. We were stuffed! Overall mountain restaurant atmosphere, clean, but noisy, making talking/hearing difficult at times.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great great great !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were staying nearby and went here for dinner. They have a nice 1/2 bottle of wine. Food was wonderful...I had the trout with mandarin rice and my husband had a lovely steak with cheesy potatoes. I can't believe we ate the whole thing.....substantial portions! Prices average for the keystone area. Linen table cloths and napkins on restaurant side.
Typical bar scene on other side.....complete with bands.
Well go back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Western Ambiance, Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Snake River Saloon offers both a traditional bar "saloon" setting on one side, and an elegant white tablecloth dining room on the other. The food was great, as was the service. The pricing was quite reasonable for a resort area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snake River Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Snake River Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snake River Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.