We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent gluten free choices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kickapoo Tavern

Kickapoo Tavern
129 River Run Rd, Keystone, CO 80435-7791
970-468-0922
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 32 Restaurants in Keystone
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent gluten free choices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Menu had gluten free choices labeled. I'm a celiac and must be gluten free. I liked that I had many choices. The salad I had was excellent and so was my appetizer. I didn't feel ill after eating here and that's a huge plus for me. :) Service was great. The gal bartending was very friendly. We came here to wind down after a long day of bike riding and had a great time. I love it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    62
    31
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, KS
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place after a bike ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We stop here after a bike ride for a beer and sometimes lunch. I see a number of bad reviews and I think some people must just be impossible to please. We had the beer special which was only $3 for a Mexican beer and split the French dip sandwich and sweet potato fries, it was very good. We stopped yesterday as well on Labor Day so it was a bit busy but service was fine. If you're there during prime ski season you're going to ave to be a bit more understanding.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genesee, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Used to be great but has gone down hill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This used to be out go to spot at Keystone but over the past couple of years it has really gone south. Visiting this summer the staff s great but food quality is poor and prices have gone ski high. Plus the beer selection has gone from supporting the local brews to corporate biggies. Much like the Kickapoo I guess now that it is corporate managed it feels very much like typical chain experience. Sad so few real bars in Keystone anymore.

The deck is nice and they remain dog friendly, for that I gave it 2 stars

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Good place to people watch, very pretty, decent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We always go to Kick a Po when we stay in Keystone. It is just a walk outside the door and you are there. I have to admit to attending the Keystone Blues and Beer Festival, so driving anywhere was not an option. Not that we were intoxicated, but we do not drink and drive. There are several options in the River Run area, but Kickapo was perfect.

We had Lettuce wraps ( a new offering, they were huge) fish tacos and our son had a hamburger. The fish tacos were not as good as they had been on a prior visit, so I would order something else the next time. Our order was taken very quickly outside, the waiter rushed us a little - but we not to put off by his manner.

It started raining, so we moved inside and the manager was very nice. We shared with him that the waiter seemed a little new - he admitted that the waiter was brand new and also from a large city. So that pretty much explained the situation. We were there to relax and chill - he wanted to serve and turn tables. But no worries, we had an enjoyable dinner, walked home full and happy.

Do not be afraid to visit Kickapo - just keep in mind that it is a ski spot, with normally happy people and decent food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelbyville, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

There were 10 people in our party. We had excellent service. The wait staff interacted with our group well. The food was excellent and huge portions. We would definitely go again. Our Scottish friends were impressed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kickapoo Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Kickapoo Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kickapoo Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.