We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kickapoo Tavern

Kickapoo Tavern
129 River Run Rd, Keystone, CO 80435-7791
970-468-0922
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 31 Restaurants in Keystone
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Convenient location in River RUn Village. Good service. Great happy hour prices. Varied menu with all food being tasty.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    61
    29
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Decent food but a fun/local atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

No trip to Keystone is complete without a stop at the Kickapoo after a day on the slopes. Really, the food is "bar food" and is quite average. However, the trout is outstanding. It is just a fun place to hang out and have a beer (decent microbrews).

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Decent food and great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Had an early dinner here the last night of our trip. Brisket and ribs was better than I expected. Otherwise everything else was pretty typical, but acceptable bar-like food. Of course it was overpriced since it was at a ski resort. Service was fine.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Memorable (but not in a good way)!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The location is terrific, being adjacent to the gondola. We were drawn to Kickapoo Tavern after seeing the reviews, and noting that they were #10 overall in Keystone. Let's just say, I wish we knew then what we know now ...

We sat outside, enjoying a cool, but pleasant spring day. The server approached, and had an obvious chip on his shoulder. Someone should remind him that "we are always on stage". He proceeded to complain about not making any money this season. When we left, there was no doubt in my mind why he did not make money this season. But, that setting was superb!

The fact that we arrived on the Wednesday before the mountain closed on Sunday should have no bearing on the offerings, otherwise, close sooner. The menu might as well not even been offered, as most everything we ordered was not available. Come up with a late season menu so that you do not off-put your clientele (those paying the tips of the good servers tending to their customers).

We left disappointed ...

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoxabc
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“First restaurant off the slopes...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Kickapoo is the first restaurant you come to when you get off the slopes at Keystone. So, if you want immediate food and drinks its a fun place to go. Bar is always busy especially later in the afternoon as you would expect. Good, basic food. Nice deck to watch the skiiers. It was nice to sit outside even in the snow and hang out.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kickapoo Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Kickapoo Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kickapoo Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.